A Casa de Aldán & Apartamentos Ardora

Overlooking the harbour, the A Casa de Aldán Hotel is situated in the fishing village of Aldán on the west coast of Galicia. Architect Alfonso Penela has created a building from the ruins of an old salting factory, which preserves the history of the place and at the same time radiates modernity. The reduction to a few materials—raw stone is combined with smooth cedar wood, glass and zinc—creates a calm, timeless ambience. The reference to the local history of the place can be discovered in many details and is particularly unmistakable in the restaurant. A glass floor allows a view of the old brine basins.

The hotel comprises two buildings connected by a glazed corridor. On one side of this corridor is a courtyard, on the other side a green garden. The façade of the main building was rebuilt. The traditional exterior hides a modern interior, where large wooden boxes form the hotel rooms. The adjacent building is also a composition of old and new. Large strip windows are integrated in walls built of old stones, which support galvanized monopitch roofs. The furnishing of the hotel rooms is plain, and the prevailing use of wood gives them a warm, homely atmosphere.

Those who prefer to stay in an apartment rather than in a hotel can book the Ardora Apartments. They are located at a distance of barely one kilometre from the hotel, close to a beach that can be reached via private stairs. With their zinc-covered upper levels and the lively roof landscape, the three houses stand out in the traditional neighbourhood. The interiors are completely clad in cedar wood and convey a zen-like atmosphere. Sliding doors and folding beds make the best possible use of the space. On the water side, the houses are fully glazed and afford magnificent views of the bay.

What to do

Sports activities (e.g. sailing, rowing), relaxation in nature, visits to the many beaches and coves in the area, excursions to the Cíes Islands; restaurants serving excellent fish and seafood; in the Rias Baixas region, art lovers will find hilltop settlements, Romanesque, Gothic and Baroque churches, mansions and museums.

Why we like this house

Two very different projects, both convincing with their simplicity and the pure beauty of the materials used.

This house is great for

The hotel is perfect for single travellers or couples. The apartments are also well suited for families.

Details

Region/Town ES – Spain , Galicia, Aldán
Name A Casa de Aldán
Scenery Overlooking the harbour, close to the beach
Number of guests Max. 2 in the hotel rooms, max. 4 in the Ardora apartments
Completed 2008
Design Alfonso Penela, Vigo
Awards A Casa de Aldán: Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Award, Q-Calidad-Award; Ardora-Apartments: With Zinc and De la Vega Awards;
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation Apartment, Hotel
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Beach, Family, Garden, Hiking, Restaurant, Sea, Wine
acasadealdan.com

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

A Casa de Aldán & Apartamentos Ardora

Mit Blick auf den Hafen liegt das Hotel A Casa de Aldán in dem Fischerdorf  Aldán an der Westküste von Galicien. Der Architekt Alfonso Penela hat aus den Ruinen einer alten Pökelfabrik ein Gebäude erschaffen, das die Geschichte des Ortes bewahrt und gleichzeitig Modernität ausstrahlt. Die Reduktion auf wenige Materialien – roher Stein trifft auf glattes Zedernholz, Glas und Zink – schafft ein ruhiges, zeitloses Ambiente. Der Bezug zur Historie des Ortes ist in vielen Details zu entdecken. Unübersehbar ist er im Restaurant. Ein gläserner Fußboden gibt den Blick frei auf die alten Salzbecken.

Das Hotel besteht aus zwei Gebäuden, die durch einen verglasten Gang miteinander verbunden sind. Zur einen Seite dieses Ganges liegt ein Innenhof, zur anderen Seite ein grüner Garten. Die Fassade des Hauptgebäudes wurde wiederaufgebaut. Hinter dem traditionellen Äußeren verbirgt sich ein modernes Innenleben mit großen Holzboxen, die die Zimmer bilden. Auch das Nebengebäude ist eine Komposition aus Alt und Neu. Auf Mauern aus alten Steinen sitzen großflächige Fensterbänder und verzinkte Pultdächer. Die Hotelzimmer sind schlicht eingerichtet und haben durch die dominierende Verwendung von Holz ein warmes, wohnliches Ambiente.

Wer lieber in einem Apartment als in einem Hotel wohnen möchte,  kann die Ardora Apartments buchen. Sie liegen einen knappen Kilometer entfernt vom Hotel in der Nähe eines Strandes, den man über private Treppen erreicht. Mit ihren zinkverkleideten Obergeschossen und der lebendigen Dachlandschaft fallen die drei Häuser auf in der traditionellen Nachbarschaft. Die Innenräume sind vollständig in Zedernholz gekleidet und haben ein zen-artiges Ambiente. Schiebetüren und Klappbetten nutzen den Platz bestmöglich aus. Zur Wasserseite sind die Häuser vollständig verglast und bieten grandiose Aussichten auf die Bucht.


Aktivitäten

Sportliche Aktivitäten (z.B. Segeln, Rudern), Erholung in der Natur, Besuch der vielen Strände und Buchten der Umgebung, Ausflug zu den Cies-Inseln, Restaurants mit exzellentem  Fisch und Meeresfrüchten, Kunstliebhaber finden in der Region Rias Baixas Höhensiedlungen, romanische, gotische und barocke Kirchen, Herrenhäuser und Museen.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Zwei ganz unterschiedliche Projekte, die beide mit Schlichtheit und der puren Schönheit der Materialien überzeugen.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Das Hotel ist perfekt für Alleinreisende oder Paare. Die Apartments eignen sich auch gut für Familien.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: ES - Spanien, Galicien, Aldán

Name: A Casa de Aldán

Lage: Direkt am Hafen und nah am Strand

Typ: Hotel, Apartment

Personenanzahl: Max. 2 in den Hotelzimmern, max. 4 in den Apartments Ardora

Architektur: alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 2008

Design: Alfonso Penela, Vigo

Auszeichnungen: A Casa de Aldán: Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Award, Q-Calidad-Award; Ardora-Apartments: With Zinc und De la Vega Auszeichnungen.


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.