Can Lis

Can’t imagine a holiday without a sea view? Since the summer of 2012, architects have been able to spend their holidays tracing the footsteps of Danish architect Jørn Utzon. Where? In the architect’s former residence on the southern coast of Majorca. Utzon built his spectacular house in 1972 on the edge of Portopetro, and lived there until the 1990s. It is a five-section, single-storey installation built in traditional Majorcan sandstone. There is a large terrace with an adjacent dining room and a small kitchen, two bedrooms sleeping a maximum of four people, a workroom and a sacral living room with its own patio. Tradition has it that the architect’s life followed a very ritualised pattern, and the house still exudes a distinct sense that this was the case. Seating, for instance, is built-in, in some of these almost hallowed rooms – here the architecture has determined both seating position and direction of gaze. This doesn’t matter at all, however, as the view is spectacular – the house stands right on the cliffs and enjoys a fantastic view of the sea.
In 2011, three years after Utzon’s death, the Danish Utzon Foundation purchased “Can Li” from one of the architect’s sons, and renovated it. Between October and June it is making “Lis’ House”, named after Lis Fänger, the Danish architect’s wife of 66 years, available first and foremost for use by fellows of the Danish Art Foundation. Yet – to our great fortune – when the house is empty, normally in July and August, the foundation also lets it out to architects from all over the world. Anyone who is interested in staying at the Utzon residence should make contact via Utzon-Stiftung.

This article appeared on 17.09.2012 on hochparterre.ch.
Text and images: Roderick Hönig

Please note that the house can only be let out to a few guests during the year and that application must be made in advance to the Utzon Foundation. The house is not suitable for families with small children as the terrace is not safe enough on the seaward side.

Jørn Utzon became famous as the designer of the Sydney Opera House. Among a wide variety of awards for his work, he won the Pritzker Prize in 2003.

Comments 0

There are no comments yet for this property. Be the first to share your experience...

Write a comment.

* These fields are required for a publication.
Name and comment field will get published.
The email address won't get published.

Currently found: 1 property

Number of guests

Accommodation

Criteria

Countries

Architecture

Sustainability

Would you like to recommend a holiday home or hotel for our website?

Please enter the website of the property:

Something you'd like to tell us? Send us your comments with this form.



 

Subscribe to our newsletter

Please enter your email address:

Can Lis

Sie wollten schon immer Ferien mit Meerblick geniessen? Seit dem Sommer 2012 können Architekten auf den Spuren des dänischen Architekten Jørn Utzon ihre Ferien verbringen. Wo? Im ehemaligen Wohnhaus des Architekten an der Südküste von Mallorca. Utzon hat sich das spektakuläre Haus 1972 am Rand von Portopetro gebaut und bis in die neunziger Jahre bewohnt. Es ist eine fünfteilige, eingeschossige Anlage, erbaut aus dem traditionellem Mallorquiner Sandstein. Es gibt eine grosse Terrasse, daran angrenzend ein Esszimmer und eine kleine Küche, zwei Schlafzimmer für maximal vier Personen, ein Arbeitszimmer und ein sakrales Wohnzimmer mit eigenem Patio. Der – nach der Überlieferung – sehr ritualisierte Tagesablauf des Architekten ist im Haus noch deutlich zu spüren. Sitzgelegenheiten etwa, in den Räumen sind eingemauert – hier bestimmt die Architektur Sitzposition und Blickrichtung. Doch das macht nichts, denn der Blick ist spektakulär – das Haus liegt ja direkt über den Klippen und geniesst einen fantastischen Meerblick.
2011, drei Jahre nach Utzons Tod, hat die dänische Utzon-Stifung «Can Lis» einem Sohn abgekauft und renoviert. Sie stellt seit 2012 das «Haus von Lis», benannt nach Lis Fänger, 66 Jahre lang die Ehefrau das dänische Architekten, zwischen Oktober und Juni in erster Linie Stipendiaten der dänischen Kunst Stiftung zur Verfügung. Doch – und nun kommt’s – wenn das Haus zwischendurch leer steht, normalerweise im Juli und August, vermietet es die Stiftung kurzfristig auch an Architekten aus der ganzen Welt. Wer sich für die Utzon-Residenz interessiert, soll mit der Utzon-Stiftung Kontakt aufnehmen.

Der Artikel ist am 17.09.2012 auf hochparterre.ch erschienen.
Text und Bilder: Roderick Hönig

Bitte beachten Sie, dass nur wenige Gäste im Jahr das Haus mieten können und sich vorher bei der Utzon Stiftung bewerben müssen. Das Haus wird an Familien mit kleinen Kindern nicht vermietet, da die Terrasse zum Meer nicht gesichert ist.

Jørn Utzon ist als Architekt bekannt geworden durch die Gestaltung des Opernhauses in Sydney. Neben verschiedensten anderen Auszeichnungen für seine Arbeit erhielt er 2003 den Pritzker-Preis.

Kommentare 0

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Einen Kommentar schreiben.

* Diese Angaben werden für eine Veröffentlichung
benötigt. Veröffentlicht werden der Name und der
Kommentartext.
Die Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Aktuell gefunden: 1 Objekt

Anzahl der Reisenden

Art der Unterkunft

Kriterien

Länder

Architektur

Nachhaltigkeit

Kennen Sie ein “urlaubswertes” Ferienhäuser oder Hotel, das noch nicht bei uns gelistet ist?

Bitte tragen Sie hier die Website des
Objektes ein:

Sie möchten uns etwas mitteilen? Nutzen Sie unser Formular.



 

Newsletter abonnieren

Bitte tragen Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein: