Croft 103

Peaceful surroundings and stunning natural scenery – you will find them both here in the Scottish Highlands on the north-western tip of the British Isles. The area around the village of Durness is one of the most sparsely populated regions in Europe. And this is where you’ll find the Croft 103 cottages: two holiday houses situated amidst a beautiful, rugged landscape.

The houses are set several hundred metres apart and thus provide absolute privacy. Their back walls are nestled into the slope side, and they open out with large window fronts to Loch Eriboll. With its concave exterior wall, the Hill Cottage references the contours of the surrounding landscape. You will also recognise a similar curvature in the arched roof of the Shore Cottage.

The interiors are arranged in a flowing continuum, merging into each other and offering spectacular views of the water and mountains from each space: from the extraordinary leather and steel bed, from the living area by the fireplace, from the dining table, and even from the bathtub. If you like, you can also take a bath in the open air, as there’s a second bathtub on a protected patio.

Sustainability played an essential role in the construction of these cottages. They were built using traditional techniques with local wood and stone collected from the local site itself. They are insulated with sheep’s wool and wood-fibre sheathing; wind and solar energy provide electricity and heating.


What to do

Relaxing, walking, visiting the Smoo Cave, beach visits, water sports (surfing and diving), golf, fishing, photography (a guide can be booked on request visit spots with the best scenery and vistas).

Why we like this house

Houses in glorious natural surroundings that combine comfort and sustainability as well as traditional craftsmanship and modern design.

This house is great for

A breathtaking hideaway for nature-loving couples.


Details of the property

Region/Town: UK – United Kingdom, Scotland, Durness

Name: Croft 103

Scenery: On the shores of Loch Eriboll in North West Sutherland

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: Max. 2 in each cottage

Architecture: Modern

Completed: 2010

Design: Matt Stevenson and Fiona Mackay (interior design)


0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Croft 103

Wer Ruhe und Naturerlebnisse sucht, findet beides in den schottischen Highlands an der nordwestlichen Spitze der britischen Inseln. Die Gegend um das Dorf Durness zählt zu den am dünnsten besiedelten Regionen Europas. Hier befinden sich die Croft 103 Cottages: zwei von spektakulärer Natur umgebene Ferienhäuser.
Die Häuser liegen mehrere 100 Meter voneinander entfernt und  bieten daher absolute Privatheit. Sie schmiegen sich mit der Rückwand in den Hang und öffnen sich mit großen Fensterfronten zum Loch Eriboll. Mit seiner konkaven Außenwand nimmt das Hill Cottage Bezug auf die Formen der Landschaft. Beim Shore Cottage findet sich diese Rundung in dem bogenförmigen Dach.
Die Innenräume sind als fließendes Kontinuum angeordnet, sie gehen ineinander über und bieten alle einen spektakulären Ausblick: vom außergewöhnlichen Bett aus Leder und Stahl, vom Wohnbereich am Kamin, vom Essplatz oder von der Badewanne sieht man auf das Wasser und die Berge. Wer möchte, kann in unter freiem Himmel baden: eine zweite Badewanne befindet sich auf einem geschützten Patio.
Nachhaltigkeit spielte beim Bau eine wesentliche Rolle: Die Häuser sind mit traditionellen Techniken gebaut aus lokalem Holz und Steinen, die auf dem Grundstück gesammelt wurden. Isoliert sind sie mit Schafwolle und Holzfaserdämmplatten; Wind- und Solarenergie sorgen für Strom und Heizung.


Aktivitäten

Entspannen, Spazierengehen, Besuch der Höhle Smoo Cave, Strand, Wassersport (Surfen und Tauchen), Golf, Fischen, Fotografieren (auf Wunsch kann ein Guide gebucht werden, der die Gäste zu den Orten mit den besten Motiven führt).

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Häuser in dramatischer Natur, die Komfort und Nachhaltigkeit sowie traditionelle Handwerkskunst und modernes Design vereinen.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Ein Hideaway für naturliebende Paare.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: UK - Großbritannien, Schottland, Durness

Name: Croft 103

Lage: Am Ufer des Loch Eriboll im Nordwesten von Sutherland

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Max. 2 pro Cottage

Architektur: modern

Fertigstellung: 2010

Design: Matt Stevenson und Fiona Mackay (Innendesign)


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.