HomeStory: Stadthaus Arnstadt – A Wunderkammer of sophisticated living

By Britta Krämer

Am Pfarrhof 1, on a picturesque square in the ancient centre of Arnstadt, stands a set of buildings that are listed as historic monuments. They could not be more rich in contrast: a 430-year-old half-timbered house which can look back over a fascinating career and an industrial building dating from 1903. For more than 120 years, from the turn of the century until just after reunification, these two buildings housed the Julius Möller glove factory. Production ceased after German reunification and the buildings stood empty for 15 years, falling into decay until Judith Rüber and Jan Kobel discovered it in 2005 and fell in love with its rugged industrial looks and high light-drenched sewing rooms. They purchased the Möller factory together with the half-timbered house and renovated both buildings with award-winning sensitivity. In 2013 Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt opened its doors and has been inspiring its guests ever since with its unconventional mix of harmonious architecture, fine cuisine and leisurely cultural experiences. The town house is like an interdisciplinary Wunderkammer of sophisticated living and escapes any tourist categorisation, thank goodness! The hosts alone are responsible for this, due to their tenacious love for the truly beautiful things in life – from Bach to Bauhaus.

Stadthaus Arnstadt, former glove factory Julius Möller

Spirit of place
Jan Kobel is a photographer. His images are studies of scenes that, at first glance, seem unspectacular. Industrial buildings, Bauhaus-corridors, Venice without pigeons, New York street life, snapshots of outmoded, common routines. Through just such scenes he creates a haunting and powerful figurative language: it distils the essence of architecture, captures the sense of a place and translates form and patina into poetry. Kobel’s photo series makes the quiet nuances of a moment or motif perceptible and visible.
He and his wife Judith Rüber have collaborated to produce some quite special travel books over recent years which explore destinations that are not only off the beaten track, but they teach the reader the art of idleness and attentive discernment in order to reveal the secrets of Venice, New York or Ibiza on the less frequented paths and from the perspective of their inhabitants. Slow travel in the truest sense of the word. Jan Kobel‘s photos and Judith Rüber’s words describe the destinations through an unfiltered, close-up lens. Cultural diversity, local lifestyles, food delights and daily rituals are brought into focus, become immediate and tangible and leave a lingering, resonant impression. That is exactly the effect that Stadthaus Arnstadt has on its guests.

Pero factory, Gotha

Fagus factory, Alfeld

Fagus factory, Alfeld

Bauhaus Dessau

Bauhaus Dessau

New York

Venice

Venice

Venice

Travel books by Judith Rüber and Jan Kobel

Facets of sophisticated living

When you type in the search word “Arnstadt’, Google spits out Johann Sebastian Bach first and foremost, the Baroque period and the first documented mention of Thuringian Bratwurst. Yet – who would have thought it – this barely scratches the surface of the true character of this place. Arnstadt is an ancient centre of commerce and from time immemorial has been a town open to foreign influences and new perspectives. This can be detected even today. The clear space of its triangular plazas, and the topography of the town in general, are designed for communication and interaction at every corner, creating spaces that are attractive to be in. Arnstadt is in the heart of Thuringia and yet a Mediterranean flavour pervades its streets, coupled with the savoir-vivre of the south, and music, from Bach to jazz.

The list of erstwhile inhabitants and owners of the town house reads like a curious smorgasbord of human love for culture: aristocratic chalk cutters, the sisters of an art-loving prince (Johann Sebastian Bach’s employer), a church priest (at whose organ the very same Bach used to sit), numismatists, collectors of rare objects, girls’ boarding school teachers and senior students, and a glove manufacturer who turned the heads of fine Parisian society with his creations in leather.

The Möller glove factory made an international name for itself in the 19th century for fine Thuringian leather gloves and the fine Parisian society at the Galleries Lafayette used to queue up for the last word in fashionable handwear made in Arnstadt. After 1990 Julius Möller closed the factory gates for the last time and desolation set in at the premises opposite the Oberkirche (even Johann Sebastian was long out of fashion – even if only temporarily).

Looking at the Oberkirche from Stadthaus Arnstadt

Business correspondence between Galeries Lafayette and Julius Moeller, 1914

Fashion fair Leipzig 1957

Fashion fair Leipzig 1958

Fashion fair Leipzig 1959

Fashion fair Leipzig, around 1962

 

Work-flow and Genius Loci
The renovation of the buildings (“The house told us what to do with it”) not only brought some historic architecture sublimely to light, but restored its former function as an urban think tank and a place for artistic and cultural encounters and for the finer things in life. In the Stadthaus, where living and working have always merged seamlessly together, leisurely holidays and inspired work flows are by no means incompatible with one another and the current in-word “Bleisure” is not so much a trend here as simply a part of the spirit of place.

In the airy, light-drenched factory sewing rooms a culture floor – the “Kulturetage” has been created – fitted out to technical perfection and with a Steinway piano at its center – covering the whole range of uses: venue for workshops and seminars, fashion-shoot location and a space for product presentations, concert hall, art gallery, catwalk and photographic studio. A must in August: the events during the Bach:Sommer under the artistic direction of conductor and musicologist Joshua Rifkin. Anyone staying in the Stadthaus will want to spend a lot of time on the art level. Its rugged industrial character sets the tone, as it always has. If you close your eyes, you can hear the even rattle of the sewing machines.

Factory sewing rooms

Factory sewing rooms

Factory sewing room

Kulturetage, former factory sewing room

Michael Maul, Bach-Archives Leipzig and Joshua Rifkin, Artistic director Bach:Sommer

Kulturetage

Kulturetage

Life in a historic monument with a contemporary edge
In the inviting communal areas – the former parlour and kitchen – and the six light-suffused bedrooms in the old half-timbered house, the historic fabric of the building has been brought to light and features centre stage. New elements have been harmoniously integrated with the old, in balanced measure so that the original character of the house is still discernible, yet there is no sense of dowdy antiquity. The place drips with history, but there is nothing stale or melancholic about it. Here at Stadthaus Arnstadt, history can be accessed and experienced from a thoroughly modern perspective. Life in a historic monument with a contemporary edge, with the finest sensitivity for harmonious room concepts, divine food and inspiring content.

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt, the host is the chef!

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

The Milchhof and Bauhaus 2019.
The hoteliers Rüber-Kobel have a weakness for abandoned industrial buildings and for the slumbering potential that often resides in them to become places for architectural and cultural experience. In 2014 Jan Kobel purchased the Arnstadt Milchhof (1928, by architect Martin Schwarz) together with a partner and as a co-shareholder in Baudenkmal Milchhof Arnstadt GmbH, with the aim of restoring the building as an outstanding example of Bauhaus architecture to landmark preservation standards, and of establishing it as a multifunctional art and cultural centre. Jan Kobel sees the future Milchhof closely linked to the Bauhaus movement philosophy: ”Architecture that is not only simple and beautiful, but also optimises work processes, minimises cost, lets light into the building and reflects above all the interests of the people living and working in it”. It is therefore no coincidence that the Milchhof is part of the jubilee programme 100 years of bauhaus to be launched by the Bauhaus association in 2019. By now, the renovation of the groundfloor has made it possible to open it for culture events and architectural tours. The guests of the Stadthaus visit the Milchhof on Sundays together with the new landlords and get quickly aware of its striking atmosphere.

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

Milchhof Arnstadt

In the award speech for the historic monuments preservation prize of Thuringia, Stadthaus Arnstadt was described as an ‘important nucleus for the development of Arnstadt in terms of urban planning and culture’. Indeed, it would appear that it (as well as its owners!) has taken on the role of a pendulum that is well aware of its centre of gravity and focus, and yet retains the mobility and the drive to be perpetually reaching out in all directions, making its impact in other realms and spheres of activity, and inspiring progress in them. We wait with bated breath to find out what they will do next…

Picture credits and image rights: Jan Kobel

 

Comments 5

suedwester says:

Danke für die Story, in der sich ein an und für sich schon schönes Haus zu einem ganzen Kosmos öffnet. Der “Blick hinter die Fassade” war sehr aufschlussreich und macht Lust gleich aufzubrechen – auf nach Arnstadt!

translate

Sabine Wirth says:

…wenn ich es nicht mit eigenen Augen, Ohren, Geschmacksnerven und sonstigen Sinnen erlebt hätte…ich würde es für Schönmalerei halten. Die Fotos sind toll! Die Wirklichkeit ist besser.

translate

Klaus Häßner says:

… tolle Würdigung einer tollen Leistung!

translate

parkchâlet potsdam says:

danke an die homestorytellers -eigentlich seid Ihr ja Perlentaucher

AUF nach ARNSTADT!
oder gibt es nach diesen fotografischen Augen- und Einblicken noch jemanden der nicht voller Hochachtung für und Neugier auf diese visionären und mutigen Projekte wäre ?

translate

Gabriele Pagels says:

Grandioses Projekt! Die Photos – einfach Klasse…

translate

Write a comment.

* These fields are required for a publication.
Name and comment field will get published.
The email address won't get published.

Currently found: 1 property

Number of guests

Accommodation

Criteria

Countries

Architecture

Sustainability

Would you like to recommend a holiday home or hotel for our website?

Please enter the website of the property:

Something you'd like to tell us? Send us your comments with this form.



 

Subscribe to our newsletter

Please enter your email address:

HomeStory: Stadthaus Arnstadt – Wunderkammer des fein(sinnig)en Lebens

Von Britta Krämer, November 2017

Am Pfarrhof 1, an einem malerischen Platz im historischen Kern von Arnstadt, steht ein denkmalgeschütztes Gebäudeensemble, das kontrastreicher nicht sein könnte: Ein 430 Jahre altes Fachwerkhaus mit kuriosem Lebenslauf und ein Industriegebäude von 1903. In diesen Bauten war 120 Jahre lang – von 1870 bis kurz nach der Wiedervereinigung – die Handschuhfabrik Julius Möller untergebracht. Nach der Wende wurde die Produktion eingestellt, das Ensemble stand 15 Jahre lang leer und verfiel, bis Judith Rüber und Jan Kobel es 2005 entdeckten und sich in den rohen Industriecharakter und die hohen, lichtdurchfluteten Nähsäle verliebten. Sie kauften die Möller’sche Fabrik und das Fachwerkhaus und sanierten beide Gebäude preisgekrönt behutsam.
2013 eröffnete das Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt seine Tore und beflügelt seine Gäste seitdem mit einem unkonventionellen Mix aus stimmiger Architektur, feiner Küche und mußevoller Kulturerfahrung. Das Stadthaus gleicht dabei einer interdisziplinären Wunderkammer und entzieht sich – Gott sei Dank – jeglicher touristischen Kategorisierung. Schuld daran sind allein die Gastgeber und ihre Liebe zu den wahrhaft schönen Seiten des Lebens, von Bach bis Bauhaus.

Stadthaus Arnstadt, ehemalige Möller’sche Handschuhfabrik

Das Wesen eines Ortes

Jan Kobel ist Fotograf. Seine Bilder nehmen Szenen unter die Lupe, die auf den ersten Blick ganz unspektakulär sind. Industriebauten. Bauhaus-Flure, Venedig ohne Tauben. New Yorker Straßenszenen. Momentaufnahmen eines ungeschminkten, teils in die Jahre gekommenen Alltags. Doch genau dadurch entsteht eine überzeugend eindringliche Bildsprache: Sie destilliert die Essenz von Architektur, macht das Wesen eines Ortes fühlbar und übersetzt Form und Patina in Poesie. Jan Kobels Fotoserien vermögen es, die leisen Zwischentöne eines Augenblickes oder Motivs wahrzunehmen und diese sichtbar zu machen.
In gemeinsamer Arbeit mit seiner Frau Judith Rüber sind in den letzten Jahren ganz besondere Reisebücher entstanden, die Destinationen nicht auf wohleingetretenen Trampelpfaden erkunden, sondern den Leser in der Kunst des Müßigganges und des achtsamen Wahrnehmens schulen, um Venedig, New York oder Ibiza auf Nebenwegen und aus dem Blickwinkel seiner Bewohner zu erschließen. Slow Travel im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes. Jan Kobels Fotos und Judith Rübers Texte erzählen die Reiseziele ungefiltert und aus nächster Nähe. Die kulturelle Vielfalt, die einheimische Lebensart, Genuss und ganz alltägliche Rituale rücken in den Fokus der Betrachtung, werden unmittelbar erfahrbar und hinterlassen einen lange nachklingenden Eindruck. Das Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt hat auf seine Besucher genau diese Wirkung.

Pero Werk, Gotha


Fagus Werk, Alfeld


Fagus Werk, Alfeld


Bauhaus, Dessau


Bauhaus, Dessau


New York


Venedig


Venedig


Venedig

 

Feine Lebensart in all ihren Facetten

Google spuckt in Bezug auf das Suchwort „Arnstadt“ zu allererst Johann Sebastian Bach, das Barockzeitalter und die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Thüringer Bratwurst aus. Damit wird man dem Wesen der Stadt – wer hätte es gedacht – nicht einmal ansatzweise gerecht. Arnstadt ist eine alte Handelsstadt und damit seit jeher ein Ort, der sich den Einflüssen fremder Lebenswelten und neuen Perspektiven öffnet. Das spürt man auch heute noch. Die lichte Weite seiner dreieckigen Plätze, überhaupt die ganze Topografie der Stadt, ist an allen Ecken und Enden auf Kommunikation und Interaktion ausgelegt und schafft so ansprechende Erlebnisräume. Arnstadt liegt im Herzen von Thüringen und ist doch vom Flair mediterraner Städte und ihrem Savoir-vivre durchzogen. Und von Musik. Von Bach bis Jazz.

Die Liste der einstigen Bewohner des Stadthauses ist lang und kurios, doch es gibt einen roten Faden. Feine Lebensart – in all ihren Facetten: Gräfliche Kalkschneider, die Schwester eines kunstsinnigen Fürsten (Johann Sebastian Bachs Arbeitgeber), ein Kirchenprediger (noch immer sitzt Bach an der Orgel), Numismatiker, Raritätensammler, Geldzähler, Mädcheninternatslehrer, die dazugehörigen Primanerinnen und ein Handschuhfabrikant, der mit seinen Lederkreationen die Köpfe der feinen Pariser Gesellschaft verdrehte.
Die Möller’sche Handschuhfabrik hatte sich im 19. Jahrhundert einen internationalen Namen für feine thüringische Lederhandschuhe gemacht und im Edelkaufhaus Lafayette stand man sich die Beine in den Bauch, um den letzten Schrei in Sachen Handschuhmode made in Arnstadt zu erstehen. Nach 1990 schloss Julius Möller seine Pforten und es wurde zunächst einmal zappenduster für das Hausensemble gegenüber der Oberkirche (auch Johann Sebastian war ja schon länger – wenn auch nur vorübergehend – aus der Mode gekommen).

Blick auf Oberkirche aus dem Stadthaus Arnstadt


Schreiben der Galeries Lafayette an Julius Moeller


Messe Leipzig 1957


Messe Leipzig 1958


Messe Leipzig 1959


Messe Leipzig circa 1962

Work-flow und Genius Loci

Die Sanierung des Ensembles („Das Haus gab vor, was mit ihm passiert“) holte nicht nur alten Baubestand behutsam ans Licht sondern auch seine einstige Funktion als urbaner Think Tank und Ort der Begegnung in Sachen Kunst, Kultur und feiner Lebensart. Im Stadthaus, in dem die Lebensbereiche Wohnen und Arbeiten seit jeher fließend ineinander übergehen, schließen sich mußevoller Urlaub und inspirierter Work-flow keineswegs aus und der aktuell viel zitierte Begriff „Bleisure“ ist hier kein Trend sondern vielmehr Teil des Genius Loci.
In den weitläufigen, lichtdurchfluteten Nähsälen der Fabrik ist die „Kulturetage“ entstanden und zieht – technisch perfekt ausgestattet und mit einem zentralen Steinway-Flügel – je nach Bedarf alle möglichen Nutzungsregister: Location für Workshops und Seminare, Modeshootings und Produktpräsentationen. Konzertsaal, Kunstgalerie, Laufsteg, Fotostudio. Sehr zu empfehlen: Die Veranstaltungen im Rahmen des Arnstädter Bach:Sommers unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Joshua Rifkin. Wer im Stadthaus logiert, wird in der Kunstetage viel Zeit verbringen wollen. Der rohe Industriecharakter ist nach wie vor tonangebend und wenn man die Augen schließt, wird man sich dabei ertappen, dem gleichmäßigen Rattern der Möller’schen Nähmaschinen nachzuhorchen.

Nähsaal Handschuhfabrik


Nähsaal Handschuhfabrik


Nähsaal Handschuhfabrik


Kulturetage im ehemaligen Nähsaal der Handschuhfabrik


Michael Maul, Bach-Archiv Leipzig und Joshua Rifkin, Künstlerischer Leiter Bach:Sommer


Kulturetage


Kulturetage

Wohnen im Denkmal, zeitgenössisch durchdekliniert.

In den schönen Gemeinschaftsräumen – Bohlenstube und ehemaliges Schwarzküchengewölbe – sowie den sechs lichtdurchfluteten Zimmern des alten Fachwerkhauses wurde alter Bestand ans Licht geholt und stimmig in Szene gesetzt, neue Elemente integrieren sich harmonisch und wohl dosiert, so dass der ursprüngliche Charakter des Hauses erfahrbar bleibt und doch nie das Gefühl von „Wohnen in alten Gemäuern“ aufkommt. Es trieft hier vor Geschichte, doch sie hat nichts Altbackenes oder Melancholisches an sich. Im Stadthaus Arnstadt ist Geschichte begehbar und erlebbar, aber aus einer durch und durch modernen Perspektive. Wohnen im Denkmal, zeitgenössisch durchdekliniert. Mit feinstem Gespür für stimmige Raumkonzepte, himmlischen Genuss und ganz besondere Inhalte.

Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt – Die Gastgeberin kocht selbst!


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt


Hotel Stadthaus Arnstadt

Der Milchhof. Bauhaus 2019.

Das Hotelierspaar Rüber-Kobel hat ein Faible für verlassene Industriebauten und für das Potential, das in ihnen als Orte erlebnisorientierter Architektur- und Kulturerfahrung schlummert. 2014 erwarb Jan Kobel mit einem Partner den Milchhof Arnstadt (1928) des Architekten Martin Schwarz als Mitgesellschafter der Baudenkmal Milchhof Arnstadt GmbH. Das Ziel: Den Milchhof als ein herausragendes Beispiel der Bauhaus-Architektur denkmalgerecht zu sanieren und ihn als multifunktionales Kunst- und Kulturzentrum zu etablieren. Dabei skizziert Jan Kobel den zukünftigen Milchhof ganz im Sinne der Bauhaus-Philosophie: „Eine Architektur, die nicht nur schlicht und schön ist, sondern auch Arbeitsabläufe optimiert, Kosten minimiert, Licht ins Haus lässt und überhaupt die Interessen der Menschen, die in ihr leben und arbeiten, reflektiert.“ Es kommt also nicht von ungefähr, dass der Milchhof Teil des vom Bauhaus Verbund 2019 konzipierten Jubiläumsprogramms 100 jahre bauhaus sein wird. Bisher wurde das Erdgeschoss des Milchhofes soweit saniert, dass dort bereits Veranstaltungen und Architektouren stattfinden können. Die Gäste des Stadthauses pilgern sonntags gemeinsam mit den Bauherren zum Milchhof und merken schnell: dieser Ort hat es in sich.

Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt


Milchhof Arnstadt als Teil des Bauhaus-Erbes in Thüringen

 

In der Rede zur Verleihung des Thüringischen Denkmalschutzpreises nannte der Landeskonservator das Stadthaus einen „wichtigen städtebaulichen und kulturellen Nucleus für die Entwicklung Arnstadts“. In der Tat scheint es, als habe das Stadthaus (und auch seine Gastgeber!) die Funktion eines Pendels übernommen, das sich seines Zentrums und Schwerpunkts wohl bewusst ist und dennoch die Beweglichkeit und den Antrieb hat, stetig in alle Richtungen auszuschlagen um andere Sphären und Wirkungskreise zu berühren und dort Entwicklungen anzustoßen. Man darf gespannt sein…

Alle Bildrechte liegen bei Jan Kobel.


5 Kommentare

suedwester sagt:

Danke für die Story, in der sich ein an und für sich schon schönes Haus zu einem ganzen Kosmos öffnet. Der „Blick hinter die Fassade“ war sehr aufschlussreich und macht Lust gleich aufzubrechen – auf nach Arnstadt!

Sabine Wirth sagt:

…wenn ich es nicht mit eigenen Augen, Ohren, Geschmacksnerven und sonstigen Sinnen erlebt hätte…ich würde es für Schönmalerei halten. Die Fotos sind toll! Die Wirklichkeit ist besser.

Klaus Häßner sagt:

… tolle Würdigung einer tollen Leistung!

parkchâlet potsdam sagt:

danke an die homestorytellers -eigentlich seid Ihr ja Perlentaucher

AUF nach ARNSTADT!
oder gibt es nach diesen fotografischen Augen- und Einblicken noch jemanden der nicht voller Hochachtung für und Neugier auf diese visionären und mutigen Projekte wäre ?

Gabriele Pagels sagt:

Grandioses Projekt! Die Photos – einfach Klasse…

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.