HomeStory: The Bühelwirt – Focussing on the essential

By Britta Krämer, Septembre 2018

In the village of San Giacomo in the northern part of Upper Adige  – in the heart of the Aurina Valley, an old lady stands on a rise, and surveys a breath-taking and timeless natural scene. The “old lady” is Michaela and Matthias Haller’s fond name for the historic original building of the Bühelwirt hotel. Its history reads like a family saga. The current chapter is being co-authored by its young owners as they venture into new stylistic territory. For some months, a walkway has linked the traditional 107 year old building with the modern extension designed by architectural duo Armin and Alexander Pedevilla. Flooded with light, pared-down and minimalist inside, dark, serious and somewhat secretive from the outside. The contrast with the original building is noticeable only for a brief moment. No sooner has the dark new build made its impact on the senses than the character that has pervaded this place for more than a century reveals itself: the identity of a family, the way of life in San Giacomo and the essence of nature, the Genius Loci – the spirit of place – reloaded.

© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck

Michaela Haller, current owner of the Bühelwirt:

“Somehow women have always played a special role here. In 1910 the Bühelwirt was built by two women, which was very unusual at that time. Maria and Notburga Steger, two sisters from the “Roanerhof”, had to go before the Innsbruck Regional Court to obtain approval to build a guest house with a village shop. They finally achieved their aim and were able to realise their dream.
The younger sister, Maria (my great grandmother), after a few years, married Josef Niederkofler, the village schoolteacher. They were to have seven children together. The older sister and “Töüte” (godmother) Notburga continued to work in the business.

© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com

Maria’s youngest son, my grandfather Johann, took over the businesses in the 1950s and extended the guest house several times. Like his father before him, he was a village schoolteacher, and he married the neighbour’s daughter, Anna Niederkofler – she too was a teacher. For a long time, the couple shaped the history of the guest house, as Bühelwirt and -wirtin (the landlord and the landlady).
Then the Bühelwirt as a female-run business really took off. Anna gave birth to seven daughters, all of whom worked to some extent in the family business. However, as it turned out, none of the seven daughters were ready at the right time to take over management of the guest house.
For me, the daughter of the first-born, it was the ideal time. I had completed my studies, I was the mother of two little girls, wanted to make a start on my career and was looking for a challenge. The hotel had always fascinated me and my grandparents needed support. A lot of trust was placed in me, and I was very soon given free rein. Then, after a few years, my husband Matthias joined in the adventure by my side.

The owners Michaela and Matthias Haller, © Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck

We reached our limits quite quickly in the main building I inherited from my grandparents, as there had been virtually no investment in it in recent times, indeed, for some decades. What we needed initially was plenty of “plaster”. We made the most of our own resources, used new technologies and invested quite a bit. It was apparent to us right from the start that we could only continue the business viably into the future by putting our money where our mouths were.
We had been thinking about renovating the main building for a long time as we had no land to extend onto. A structural survey however put an end to this plan. Our aim now was to acquire the neighbouring property which fortunately we succeeded in doing after lengthy negotiations. This fundamentally altered the situation. A new business plan was drawn up and we were finally able to start designing the building.
Matthias and I love linear architecture, plenty of timber, good quality materials, and simple yet welcoming design. That is what attracted us to the work of Pedevilla Architects. We had known Armin Pedevilla as a friend for a long time and had seen his wonderful house La Pedevilla which had just been built in Enneberg. We felt we were on the same wavelength right from the start and we quickly realised that things were going in the right direction. We wanted the new build to represent our family history and take more than 100 years of tradition at Bühelwirt into the future.”

Pedevilla Architects’ building has six storeys and accommodates 20 panoramic rooms, a wellness spa and the restaurant extension. The entire project was based on one overarching idea: making the most of what was available. Local materials and elements of traditional craftsmanship dominate the purist new build and nature is omnipresent. In this way, in the clear, pared-down lines of the new guest house the architects have in no way created a stylistic counterpoint to the “old lady”. Rather, they have respected its legacy and brought it sensitively yet insistently into the future.

© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com

Armin Pedevilla of Pedevilla Architects on the Bühelwirt project:

“Reduction to the essentials is the theme running through our most recent projects. We always try to ask ourselves whether components or customs have a function, or whether they have become surplus to requirements. These considerations have resulted in a pared-down project that is tailored precisely to the location, the users and the landscape. Nothing superfluous and nothing lacking. Everything in just the right quantity. This approach has given rise to projects that have a familiar feel. Although the architectural idiom is new and contemporary, it is interwoven with the principles of our forebears.
The craftsmanship of the Aurina Valley lives on in Project Bühelwirt. Every smallest detail has been made to measure by craftspeople and tailored to this project. Materials from the surrounding area have been used. Larch wood, for instance, and a supplement to the loam rendering which comes from the local copper mines. Even the copper light fittings have been designed especially for the hotel. Loden cloth from the local loden factory has been used.
The loam supplement from the copper mines gives the plasterwork a green shimmer which reflects the tones of the surrounding mountain landscape, turning the interiors into familiar places. The larchwood from the surrounding forests conveys a sense of security. The green shimmer in the black façade picks up the colouration of the deep green to black forests of summer. Nature and topography meld with the project. The result is a new kind of architecture”.

© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


Kommentare sind geschlossen.

HomeStory: Der Bühelwirt – Besinnung auf das Wesentliche

Von Britta Krämer, September 2017

In dem kleinen Örtchen Sankt Jakob im Norden Südtirols – im Herzen des ursprünglichen Ahrntals – steht eine alte Dame auf einer Anhöhe und blickt auf ein atemberaubend zeitloses Naturszenario. Die “alte Dame”, so nennen Michaela und Matthias Haller liebevoll das historische Stammhaus des Hotels Bühelwirt, dessen Geschichte sich wie eine Familiensaga liest. Das gegenwärtige Kapitel haben die jungen Besitzer gemeinsam verfasst und rein stilistisch einen neuen Ansatz gewagt: Seit einigen Monaten verbindet ein Steg das 107 Jahre alte Traditionshaus mit dem modernen Anbau nach Entwürfen des Architektenduos Armin und Alexander Pedevilla. Lichtdurchflutet, sehr reduziert und puristisch im Inneren, schwarz, ernst und irgendwie geheimnisvoll von außen. Der Kontrast zum Stammhaus ist nur für einen kurzen Moment wahrnehmbar, denn sobald die Sinne den dunklen Neubau eingehender erkunden, offenbart sich, was diesen Ort seit über hundert Jahren durchdringt: Die Identität einer Familie, das Wesen von Sankt Jakob und die Essenz der Natur. Genius Loci – reloaded.

© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck

Michaela Haller, die aktuelle Besitzerin des Bühelwirts:

„Irgendwie spielten die Frauen bei uns schon immer eine besondere Rolle. Im Jahr 1910 wurde der Bühelwirt von zwei Frauen erbaut, was für die damalige Zeit sehr ungewöhnlich war. Maria und Notburga Steger, die zwei Schwestern vom „Roanerhof“, mussten bis vor das Innsbrucker Landesgericht ziehen, um die Genehmigung für den Bau eines Gasthauses mit einem Dorfladen zu erhalten. Am Ende erreichten Sie Ihr Ziel und konnten Ihren Traum verwirklichen.
Die jüngere Schwester Maria (meine Urgroßmutter) heiratete nach einigen Jahren Josef Niederkofler, den Dorflehrer. Aus dieser Ehe gingen sieben Kinder hervor. Die ältere Schwester und „Töüte“ (Patentante) Notburga war weiterhin im Betrieb tätig.

© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com


© www.buehelwirt.com

Der jüngste Sohn von Maria, mein Opa Johann, übernahm in den 50er Jahren die Geschäfte und erweiterte den Gasthof mehrmals. Er war wie sein Vater Dorflehrer und heiratete die Nachbarstochter Anna Niederkofler – auch sie war Lehrerin. Die beiden sollten lange Zeit als Bühelwirt und -wirtin die Geschichte des Gasthauses prägen. Nun ging es mit der „Weiberwirtschaft“ erst richtig los, denn Anna gebar sieben Töchter, die alle mehr oder weniger im Betrieb mithalfen. Allerdings ergab es sich so, dass keine der sieben Töchter zu gegebener Zeit die Möglichkeit hatte, das Gasthaus weiterzuführen.
Für mich, die Tochter der Erstgeborenen, war der Zeitpunkt ideal. Das Studium war abgeschlossen, ich war Mutter von zwei kleinen Mädchen, wollte ins Berufsleben einsteigen und suchte nach einer Herausforderung. Das Hotel hatte mich schon immer fasziniert und meine Großeltern brauchten Unterstützung. Ich bekam viel Vertrauen und sehr bald freie Hand, sodass sich nach einigen Jahren auch mein Mann Matthias an meiner Seite mit ins Abenteuer stürzte.

Die Gastgeber Michaela und Matthias Haller, © Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck

Mit dem Stammhaus, das ich von meinen Großeltern übernommen habe, sind wir ziemlich schnell an unsere Grenzen gestoßen, da in den letzten Jahren, ja Jahrzehnten kaum investiert wurde. Wir brachten vorerst viele „Pflaster“ an, optimierten interne Abläufe, setzten neue Technologien ein und haben einiges investiert. Für uns war aber von Anfang an klar, dass wir in Zukunft nur dann vernünftig arbeiten können, wenn wir Nägel mit Köpfen machen.
Lange haben wir überlegt, das Stammhaus zu sanieren, da uns kein Grundstück für eine Erweiterung zur Verfügung stand. Eine statische Überprüfung hat diesen Gedanken allerdings sofort zu Nichte gemacht. Unser Ziel war es nun, das Nachbargrundstück zu erwerben, was uns zum Glück nach längerer Verhandlungszeit auch gelang. Nun hatte sich die Situation grundlegend verändert, ein neuer Businessplan entstand, und wir konnten endlich mit der Planung beginnen.
Matthias und ich lieben geradlinige Architektur, viel Holz, hochwertige Materialien, schlichtes Design, das aber trotzdem gemütlich ist. Genau da hat uns der Stil der Pedevilla Architekten abgeholt. Armin Pedevilla kannten wir schon länger persönlich und auch sein wunderschönes Haus La Pedevilla in Enneberg, das damals gerade entstand. Bereits von Anfang an hat die Wellenlänge gestimmt und für uns war sehr schnell klar, dass es in die richtige Richtung geht. Mit dem neuen Bau möchten wir unsere Familiengeschichte festigen und die über 100jährige Tradition des Bühelwirtes in die Zukunft führen.“

Das Gebäude der Pedevilla Architekten erstreckt sich über sechs Ebenen und beherbergt 20 Panoramazimmer, einen Wellnessbereich sowie die Erweiterung des Restaurants. Das gesamte Projekt stand unter einer großen Prämisse: Das „Weiterbauen am Bestand“. Lokale Materialien und Elemente traditioneller Handwerkskunst dominieren den puristischen Neubau und die Präsenz der Natur ist allgegenwärtig. So setzen die Architekten mit der klaren, reduzierten Formensprache des neuen Gästehauses keinesfalls einen stilistischen Kontrapunkt zur „alten Dame“, vielmehr ziehen sie den Hut vor ihrem Vermächtnis und transportieren es behutsam und doch eindringlich in die Gegenwart.

© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com

Armin Pedevilla von Pedevilla Architekten zum Projekt Bühelwirt:

„Das Reduzieren auf das Wesentliche ist der rote Faden, der sich durch unsere letzten Projekte zieht. Wir versuchen uns immer zu fragen, ob Elemente oder Gewohnheiten eine Funktion haben oder ob es sie gar nicht mehr braucht. Durch diese Überlegungen entsteht ein sehr reduziertes und für den Ort, den Nutzer und die Topographie maßgeschneidertes Projekt. Nichts ist zu viel und nichts zu wenig, sondern genau passend. Diese Herangehensweise lässt vertraute Projekte entstehen, obgleich die Architektursprache eine Neue, eine Gegenwärtige ist, durchwoben von den Grundgedanken unserer Vorfahren.
Die Handwerkskunst des Ahrntals lebt im Projekt Bühelwirt weiter. Jedes kleinste Detail wurde von den Handwerkern maßgeschneidert und auf das Projekt angepasst. Materialien aus der Umgebung wurden verwendet. Die Lärche, der Zuschlag im Lehmputz aus dem Kupferbergwerk. Selbst die Leuchten aus Kupfer wurden für das Hotel entwickelt. Es wurde der Lodenstoff aus der ansässigen Lodenfabrik verwendet.
Der Grünschimmer im Verputz spiegelt durch die verwendeten Zuschläge aus dem Bergwerk die Farbgebung der Bergwelt wieder und macht die Innenräumen zu vertrauten Orten. Das Lärchenholz aus den umliegenden Wäldern vermittelt Geborgenheit. Der Grünschimmer in der schwarzen Fassade nimmt die Farbgebung der sattgrünen bis schwarzen Wälder des Sommers auf. Natur und Topographie verschmelzen mit dem Projekt. Neue Architektur entsteht.“

© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Bureau Rabensteiner Innsbruck


© Gustaf Willeit www.parterre3.com

 


Kommentare sind geschlossen.