Hotel David

At Hotel David you spend the night surrounded by history. The hotel is located in the middle of Regensburg’s old town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, in one of the city’s approximately 1,000 heritage buildings. The diverse history of the building can be seen on the walls of the rooms—the traces of the past were not removed during the renovation but made visible.

The Romanesque building dating from the 12th century used to be a double chapel (St. George) with two church rooms on top of each other and is one of the most interesting sacred buildings in Regensburg. In the 16th century, the building was deconsecrated and used for residential purposes, being rebuilt and extended with storeys over the course of time. Flats were located on the upper floors, the ground floor served as a workshop and warehouse, and later as a shop. In 2015, the house was extensively renovated and converted into a hotel with 19 rooms.

By lowering the hall on the ground floor, the chapel has regained its historical dimensions. The hotel rooms are located on the four floors above. Those staying under the roof have to climb a few steps, but are rewarded with a wonderful view of the Danube and the Stone Bridge, the city’s landmark. The rooms convey the history of the building with exposed wall paintings from different eras, wooden floors that have been preserved in their original condition, old brickwork and rustic beams. The historical building fabric is combined with modern, purist furnishings and bathrooms with free-standing bathtubs, Italian showers and washbasins made of bluestone.

Hotel David is the ‘little brother’ of the nearby Hotel Goliath, where the reception is located and breakfast, coffee and bar service are offered.

What to do

City sightseeing, boat trips on the Danube, hiking, lakes for swimming south of the Danube, cycling (numerous cycling paths along the river), excursions to castles, palaces and various other cultural monuments

Why we like this house

At Hotel David, history is made tangible by openly showing the traces of age. The combination with modern elements brings the eras together in a natural way and guests don't feel as if they are in a museum.

This house is great for

Romantics with a soft spot for historical buildings will feel at home here.

Details

Region/Town DE – Germany, Bavaria, Regensburg
Name Hotel David
Scenery In the heart of the historic centre very close to the Danube
Number of guests 19 DZ und EZ
Completed 2015
Design Andreas Schubert (Architekt), Regensburg
Published SZ Magazin 03/2021
Awards Denkmalschutzmedaille 2020 (Medal for the Protection of Historical Monuments )
Architecture Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation Hotel
Criteria Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Art, Hiking, Lake/river, Restaurant, Spa, Urban, no car needed
www.hotel-david.de

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

www.hotel-david.de

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Hotel David

Im Hotel David übernachtet man umgeben von Geschichte. Das Haus liegt inmitten der zum UNESCO Welterbe zählenden Altstadt von Regensburg in einem der rund 1000 Baudenkmäler der Stadt. Die abwechslungsreiche Historie des Gebäudes kann man an den Zimmerwänden sehen – die Spuren der Vergangenheit wurden bei der Sanierung nicht beseitigt, sondern sichtbar gemacht.

Der aus dem 12. Jahrhundert stammende romanische Bau war früher eine Doppelkapelle (St. Georg) mit zwei übereinander liegenden Kirchenräumen und zählt zu den interessantesten Sakralbauten von Regensburg. Im 16. Jahrhundert wurde das Gebäude entweiht und als Wohnhaus genutzt, wobei es im Laufe der Zeit umgebaut und aufgestockt wurde. In den oberen Etagen befanden sich Wohnungen, das Erdgeschoss wurde als Werkstatt sowie Lager und später als Laden genutzt. 2015 wurde das Haus aufwändig saniert und in ein Hotel mit 19 Zimmern umgebaut.

Durch die Absenkung der Halle im Erdgeschoss hat die Kapelle ihre historischen Dimensionen wiedererhalten. Die Hotelzimmer befinden sich in den darüber liegenden vier Etagen. Wer unter dem Dach wohnt, muss einige Stufen erklimmen, wird aber dafür belohnt mit einem wunderbaren Ausblick auf die Donau und die Steinerne Brücke, das Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Die Zimmer vermitteln die Geschichte des Hauses mit freigelegten Wandmalereien aus verschiedenen Epochen, original erhaltenen Holzböden, altem Mauerwerk und urigem Gebälk. Die historische Bausubstanz trifft auf eine moderne, puristische Einrichtung und  Bäder mit freistehenden Badewannen, italienischen Duschen und Waschbecken aus Blaustein.

Das Hotel David ist der kleine Bruder des in der Nähe gelegenen Hotels Goliath. Hier befindet sich die Rezeption  und es werden Frühstück, Kaffee- und Barbetrieb angeboten.


Aktivitäten

Stadtbesichtigung, Schifffahrt auf der Donau, Wandern, Badeseen südlich der Donau, Radfahren (zahlreiche Flussradwege), Ausflüge zu Burgen und Schlössern sowie diversen weiteren Kulturdenkmälern.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Im Hotel David wird Geschichte erlebbar, indem die die Spuren des Alters offen gezeigt werden.  Durch die Kombination mit modernen Elementen verbinden sich die Epochen wie selbstverständlich und man fühlt sich hier nicht wie in einem Museum.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Romantiker mit einem Faible für historische Gebäude werden sich hier wohl fühlen. 


Details zum Objekt

Ort: DE - Deutschland, Bayern, Regensburg

Name: Hotel David

Lage: Im Herzen der Altstadt ganz nah an der Donau

Typ: Hotel

Personenanzahl: 19 DZ und EZ

Architektur: Baudenkmal - alt, alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 2015

Design: Andreas Schubert (Architekt), Regensburg

Veröffentlicht: SZ Magazin 03/2021

Auszeichnungen: Denkmalschutzmedaille 2020


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.