Hotel Sonne

A break in style can be so beautiful! Anyone who walks past the Ionic sandstone pillars and under the artfully designed elliptical arch with a golden sun is in for a surprise. The Zittau Hotel Sonne welcomes its guests with exposed concrete ceilings and raw brick walls, eccentric furniture and modern art. What sounds like far too much is beautifully combined here. Modernity meets baroque and the walk through the building becomes a journey through time. Started in 1744 as a coffee shop, the name “Sonnen-Café” (Sun Café) first appeared in 1870. Since then, the eponymous sun, which adorns the large stone entrance portal, has shone over Zittau’s market square.

Once Zittau’s most distinguished hotel, it is the second historic town house that owner and architect Christian Weise has skilfully restored to life. In 2014, he opened the Emmerich Hotel in Görlitz. In his new project in the German-Polish-Czech border triangle, his focus is also on preserving the historic substance. In the 15 rooms with open ensuite bathrooms, in some areas, guests walk over original oak floorboards, pass historic doors and sandstone frames. Exposed baroque wall surfaces contrast with modern fixtures.

Caricatures by artist Sabine Euler, who with tongue in cheek plays on the theme of family holidays, cause a laugh or two in the corridors. The adjoining restaurant Horschel serves modern, regional dishes for both hotel guests and residents of Zittau. And a seminar room offers space for workshops, celebrations or receptions for up to 30 people. A surprising highlight – how could it be any other way, given the name – is at the very top of the building: Three sun terraces, enclosed with golden-yellow metal railings, offer a view south to the crests of the Zittau Mountains. Here at the very latest, this is where every guest will see the light.

What to do

Exploring the city; hiking in the Zittau Mountains; excursions to Poland and the Czech Republic; museums; bicycle tours; trips on the narrow-gauge railway.

Why we like this house

A successful transformation of an old town house into modernity and a perfect starting point for discoveries in the German-Polish-Czech border triangle.

This house is great for

Single travellers, couples

Sustainability

You can leave the car at home: train connection; E-charging facilities nearby;

Details

Region/Town DE – Germany, Saxony, Zittau
Name Hotel Sonne
Number of guests Max. 34 guests in 15 double rooms
Completed 1744, 2021
Design Christian Weise (architect), Weise Planungsgesellschaft; Interior design: Natalia Anuszkiewicz and Christian Weise, Ottomar,, Görlitz
Architecture Historical, Old & new
Accomodation Hotel
Criteria Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Art, Hiking, Meeting, Mountains, Restaurant, Urban, Workation, EV-charging station, No car needed
Same ArchitectEmmerich Hotel
www.hotel-sonne-zittau.de

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in white are available for bookings

Request/Booking

www.hotel-sonne-zittau.de

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Hotel Sonne

merken

So schön kann Stilbruch sein! Wer an den ionischen Sandsteinpfeilern vorbei und unter dem kunstvoll gestalteten Korbbogenportal mit goldener Sonne hindurch schreitet, wird überrascht. Das Zittauer Hotel Sonne begrüßt seine Gäste mit Sichtbetondecken und rohen Backsteinwänden, ausgefallenen Möbelstücken und moderner Kunst. Was nach viel zu viel klingt, ist hier auf wunderbare Weise miteinander verbunden. Die Moderne trifft auf Barock und der Gang durch das Gebäude wird zur Zeitreise. 1744 als Kaffeestube gestartet, tauchte 1870 der Name „Sonnen-Café“ erstmals auf. Seitdem strahlt die namensgebende Sonne, die das große steinerne Eingangsportal schmückt, über den Marktplatz Zittaus.

Das einst vornehmste Hotel Zittaus ist das zweite historische Stadthaus, das Besitzer und Architekt Christian Weise gekonnt wiederbelebt hat. 2014 eröffnete er das Emmerich Hotel in Görlitz. Auch bei seinem neuen Projekt im Deutsch-Polnisch-Tschechischen Dreiländereck liegt sein Fokus auf dem Erhalt der historischen Substanz. In den 15 Zimmern mit offenen en suite Badbereichen spazieren Gäste teils über originale Eichholzdielen, passieren historische Türen und Sandsteineinfassungen. Freigelegte barocke Wandflächen stehen im Kontrast zu modernen Einbauten.

Für den ein oder anderen Lacher auf den Fluren sorgen Karikaturen der Künstlerin Sabine Euler, die augenzwinkernd das Thema Familienurlaub aufgreift. Das angeschlossene Restaurant Horschel serviert moderne, regionale Speisen sowohl für Hotelgäste als auch Zittauer. Und ein Seminarraum bietet Platz für Workshops, Feiern oder Empfänge mit bis zu 30 Personen. Ein überraschendes Highlight befindet sich – wie sollte es bei dem Namen auch anders sein – ganz oben: drei Sonnenterrassen, mit goldgelben Metallgeländern umfasst, bieten einen Blick gen Süden bis zu den Kuppen des Zittauer Gebirges. Spätestens hier geht jedem Gast ein Licht auf.

Was geht hier

Stadterkundung, Wandern in den Zittauer Bergen, Ausflüge nach Polen und Tschechien, Museen, Fahrradtouren, Fahrt mit der Schmalspurbahn;

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Eine gelungene Transformation eines alten Stadthauses in die Moderne und ein perfekter Startpunkt für Entdeckungen im Deutsch-Polnisch-Tschechischen-Dreiländereck.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Alleinreisende, Paare

Nachhaltigkeit

ohne Auto erreichbar; E-Ladestation: 200 Meter vom Hotel entfernt

Details

Ort DE - Deutschland, Sachsen, Zittau
Name Hotel Sonne
Lage In der Altstadt
Personenanzahl Max. 34 Gäste in 15 Zimmern
Fertigstellung 1744, 2021
Design Christian Weise (Architekt), Weise Planungsgesellschaft; Innendesign: Natalia Anuszkiewicz und Christian Weise, Ottomar,, Görlitz
Architektur alt & neu, historisch
Unterkunft Hotel
Kriterien Zimmer für 1-2 (Hotel), Berge, Kunst, Meeting, Restaurant, urban, Wandern, Workation, E-Ladestation, Ohne Auto erreichbar
Gleicher ArchitektEmmerich Hotel
www.hotel-sonne-zittau.de

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.hotel-sonne-zittau.de

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.