Monocabin

The Monocabin is a micro holiday home on the Greek island of Rhodes. It is located just 200 meters from the beach in a quiet residential area on the northern tip of the island. The Italian-Greek Studio Mandalaki created this house as a design piece to live in. The prototype reflects their vision of the ideal holiday home you could place anywhere in the world. The house is constructed of modular concrete panels and is easy to build and to expand. Studio Mandalaki planned the Monocabin down to its smallest detail: the furniture is custom-made and the featured design pieces were developed by their own studio or affiliated artists.

With its cubic shape and white walls, Monocabin embraces the architecture of the Cyclades and, with its strict geometry, forms an antipole to organic nature. On its 26 square meters, the house features a kitchen with a dining area, a sleeping area, and a bathroom. Each area is flooded with natural light through large windows, some of which are placed high below the ceiling, allowing for views of the sky while ensuring privacy. Through the many windows that blur the boundaries between inside and out, the monochrome design and the ceiling height of three meters, the house appears larger than it truly is. Even the outdoor space is included in the design: The terrace functions as an outdoor living room, there is an outdoor shower, and even a workout zone with fitness equiment.

What to do

You can reach the beach in just a few minutes - one of the best windsurfing and kitesurfing spots on the island. Swimming, sailing, shopping facilities nearby, the old town of Rhodes (a UNESCO World Heritage site), exploring the island, trips to neighboring islands.

Why we like this house

A small house with a fantastic design: Monocabin offers everything you need for a stylish holiday - in a compact space.

This house is great for

Couples and families with babies / toddlers. There is an artist in residence program in the low season for artists and designers.

Comments 0

There are no comments yet for this property. Be the first to share your experience...

Write a comment.

* These fields are required for a publication.
Name and comment field will get published.
The email address won't get published.

Currently found: 1 property

Number of guests

Accommodation

Criteria

Countries

Architecture

Sustainability

Would you like to recommend a holiday home or hotel for our website?

Please enter the website of the property:

Something you'd like to tell us? Send us your comments with this form.



 

Subscribe to our newsletter

Please enter your email address:

Monocabin

Die Monocabin ist ein Mikro-Ferienhaus auf der griechischen Insel Rhodos. Es liegt nur 200 Meter vom Strand entfernt in einer ruhigen Wohngegend an der Nordspitze der Insel. Das italienisch-griechische Design-Studio Mandalaki hat das Haus als bewohnbares Designobjekt entworfen. Der Prototyp spiegelt die Vision der Designer von dem idealen Ferienhaus wider, das an verschiedensten Orten der Welt platziert werden kann. Das Haus besteht aus modularen Betonteilen und kann daher einfach gebaut und erweitert werden. Die Monocabin ist bis in das kleinste Detail geplant, die Möbel sind maßgefertigt, die Designprodukte stammen vom Studio Mandalaki oder befreundeten Künstlern.

Mit ihrer kubischen Form und den weißen Wänden greift die Monocabin die Architektur der Kykladen auf und bildet mit ihrer strengen Geometrie einen Gegenpol zur organischen Natur. Auf 26 Quadratmetern bietet das Haus eine Küche mit Essplatz, einen Schlafbereich und ein Badezimmer. Jeder Bereich erhält natürliches Licht durch große Fenster, die zum Teil hoch unter der Zimmerdecke platziert sind und so Ausblicke in den Himmel erlauben und gleichzeitig Privatsphäre gewährleisten. Durch die vielen Fenster, die die Grenzen zwischen innen und außen aufheben, die monochrome Gestaltung und die Raumhöhe von drei Metern erscheint das Haus größer als es in Wirklichkeit ist. Auch der Außenraum ist in die Gestaltung einbezogen: Die vorgelagerte Terrasse wird zum Wohnzimmer im Freien, es gibt eine Außendusche sowie einen Workout-Bereich mit Fitnessgeräten.

Aktivitäten und Freizeitmöglichkeiten

In wenigen Minuten erreicht man den Strand, der einer der besten Windsurf- und Kitesurf-Spots der Insel ist. Baden, Segeln, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten nahe dem Haus, Altstadt von Rhodos (UNESCO Welterbe), Erkundung der Insel, Ausflüge zu den benachbarten Inseln.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein kleines Haus mit riesigem Designfaktor: die Monocabin bietet auf kleinem Raum alles, was man für einen stilvollen Urlaub braucht.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Ideal für Paare und Familien mit Baby/Kleinkind. Artist in Residence-Programm in der Nebensaison für Künstler und Designer.

Kommentare 0

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Einen Kommentar schreiben.

* Diese Angaben werden für eine Veröffentlichung
benötigt. Veröffentlicht werden der Name und der
Kommentartext.
Die Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Aktuell gefunden: 1 Objekt

Anzahl der Reisenden

Art der Unterkunft

Kriterien

Länder

Architektur

Nachhaltigkeit

Kennen Sie ein “urlaubswertes” Ferienhäuser oder Hotel, das noch nicht bei uns gelistet ist?

Bitte tragen Sie hier die Website des
Objektes ein:

Sie möchten uns etwas mitteilen? Nutzen Sie unser Formular.



 

Newsletter abonnieren

Bitte tragen Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein: