Wallpaper House

The house, which was designed by Swedish architect Thomas Sandell for the Wallpaper magazine, was exhibited at the Milan Furniture Fair in 1998. It was then transported to southern Spain and re-erected on a hillside near the coastal town of Tarifa. It is situated between rocky terrain and a pine forest — with sweeping views across the Strait of Gibraltar to Africa.

In the wooden house, which the architect calls the “inside outside house”, the boundaries between interior and exterior are blurred. The rooms merge into one another and are grouped around a central courtyard. On one side is the living space with a sitting and dining area and the (simple) kitchen. The living room has a monopitch roof rising towards the sea and a large window with a sweeping view of the water and the terrace in front. The other side of the house accommodates an open sleeping area (with a double bed and two single beds) and the bathroom. The alcove beds have curtains to ensure privacy and small windows affording views of the hills. Another bedroom (separated by a door) opens onto the courtyard with large sliding windows. This patio is an additional outdoor room — equipped with a large barbecue, it turns into a kitchen in fine weather.

Translucent acrylic glass walls, wooden floors with patina and minimalist furnishings with vintage pieces give the house a casual, very relaxed atmosphere. The motto is “back to basics”, but you don’t have to do without a hot shower. Water (directly from a spring) is heated with gas; electricity is generated by solar panels on the roof.


What to do

Water sports (Tarifa is a surfer’s paradise), horse riding, mountain biking, hiking; whale, dolphin and bird watching; visits to the Roman ruined city of Baelo Claudia or to Tarifa with its old town.

Why we like this house

A simple but special retreat in the middle of nature with a beautiful view of the sea. The house is secluded, but the beautiful beaches and Tarifa’s bustling city life are not far away.

This house is great for

Ideal for couples, families and nature lovers looking for something offbeat. The house can also be rented together with the Little Stone House a little up the hill, then there is room for two families or a small group of friends.


Details of the property

Region/Town: ES – Spain, Andalusia, Tarifa, La Peña

Name: Wallpaper House

Scenery: Between the sea and the mountains in a magnificent panoramic setting

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: Max. 6

Architecture: Modern

Completed: 1998

Design: Thomas Sandell, Stockholm


Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are free for bookings.

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Comments

    There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wallpaper House

Das vom schwedischen Architekten Thomas Sandell für das Wallpaper Magazin entworfene Haus wurde 1998 auf der Mailänder Möbelmesse ausgestellt. Danach ist es nach Südspanien transportiert worden und an einem Hang nahe der Küstenstadt Tarifa wieder aufgebaut worden. Es liegt zwischen felsigem Gelände und einem Pinienwald – mit  weitem Blick über die Straße von Gibraltar bis nach Afrika.

In dem von dem Architekten als „inside outside house“ genannten Holzhaus verschwimmen die Grenzen zwischen innen und außen. Die offen ineinander übergehenden Räume sind um einen zentralen Innenhof gruppiert. Zu der einen Seite befindet sich der Wohnbereich mit Sitzecke, Essplatz und die (einfache) Küche. Der Wohnraum hat ein zur Meerseite aufsteigendes Pultdach und öffnet sich mit einem großen Fenster zu der Aussicht auf das Wasser und zu der vorgelagerten Terrasse. Zur anderen Seite des Hauses liegen ein offener Schlafbereich (mit einem Doppelbett und zwei Einzelbetten) sowie das Badezimmer. Die Alkovenbetten haben Vorhänge für Privatsphäre und kleine Fenster mit Blick auf die Hügel. Ein weiteres  (mit einer Tür abgetrenntes) Schlafzimmer  öffnet sich mit großen Fenstern zum Innenhof. Dieser stellt ein zusätzliches Zimmer im Freien dar –  mit einem großen Grill ausgestattet wird er bei schönem Wetter zur Küche.

Transluzente Acrylglaswände, Holzböden mit Patina und die minimalistische Einrichtung mit Vintage-Möbeln verleihen dem Haus eine lässige, sehr entspannte Atmosphäre. Das Motto ist „back to basics“, aber auf die warme Dusche braucht man nicht zu verzichten. Das Wasser (direkt aus der Quelle) wird mit Gas erhitzt; Strom wird über Solarpaneele auf dem Dach erzeugt.


Aktivitäten

Wassersport (Tarifa ist ein Surfer-Paradies), Reiten, Mountainbiken, Wandern, Besichtigung der römischen Ruinenstadt Baelo Claudia, Wal-, Delfin- und Vogelbeobachtung, Tarifa mit seiner Altstadt

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein einfacher, aber besonderer Rückzugsort in der Natur mit wunderschönem Blick über das Meer. Hier wohnt man abgeschieden,  doch die traumhaften Strände und  das quirligen Stadtleben in Tarifa sind nicht weit entfernt.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Paare und Familien, Naturliebhaber; das Haus kann auch zusammen mit dem etwas oberhalb liegenden Little Stone House gemietet werden, dann ist Platz für zwei Familien oder eine kleine Gruppe von Freunden.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: ES - Spanien, Andalusien, Tarifa, La Peña

Name: Wallpaper House

Lage: Zwischen Meer und Bergen in grandioser Panoramalage

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Max. 6

Architektur: modern

Fertigstellung: 1998

Design: Thomas Sandell, Stockholm


Belegungskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die uns bekannte Verfügbarkeit. Dunkelgrau hinterlegte Tage sind nicht verfügbar, an hellgrau bzw. weiss angezeigten Tagen sind noch Unterkünfte verfügbar.

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Kommentare

    Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

    Schreibe einen Kommentar

    Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.