Barn House and Farm House

Take your extended family or friends to Denmark! The ensemble of buildings in the Odsherred region in the north-west of Zealand offers plenty of space and special living experiences: the minimalist architecture of the Barn House stages space, light and views and is in dialogue with the traditional Farm House.

Architect and designer Leif Jørgensen and his wife, designer Mette Bache, have added an L-shaped building to an old farmhouse. The ensemble forms a classic three-sided farmyard with a chestnut tree in its centre. The Barn House is a modern interpretation of a barn. The building features a corrugated iron roof, brick walls that are whitewashed on the outside and finished with thin layer of clay plaster on the inside, concrete floors and wooden ceilings—and huge windows instead of large barn doors. These let in plenty of daylight and are positioned so that they offer perfectly framed views of the surrounding natural landscape and Sejerø Bay. The heart of the house is the living room, which opens up to the 6.5-metre high gable. With a fireplace, a kitchen hidden behind a half-height wall, a long dining table and a sitting area, the room is ideal for spending time together in good company. In addition, the gallery offers an area for retreat.

Unlike the outward-oriented Barn House, the old Farm House has a more intimate atmosphere. With its thatched roof, transom windows and much lower ceilings than the Barn House, it has a very homely feel. The old farmer’s house has been carefully modernised. In the living room, the wood-panelled walls and straight-lined wooden furniture establish a visual link to the Barn House.

Together, the two houses provide two living rooms and two kitchens, five double and two single bedrooms, an open loft with a double bed and three bathrooms.


What to do

The estate is situated between the Baltic Sea and the forest in a hilly landscape shaped by the ice age. The region, which has been declared a Global Geopark by UNESCO, offers many opportunities for outdoor activities: hiking, cycling, water sports (the beach is about 1 km away), fishing, bird watching. Copenhagen is about an hour away by car.

Why we like this house

The cool Barn House wonderfully complements the hyggelig, a Danish term for cosy and convivial, Farm House. In the central living area, the space alone is an experience; the icing on the cake is the views of the Baltic Sea—especially at sunset!

This house is great for

Holidays with the (extended) family, with two families or with friends.


Details of the property

Region/Town: DK – Denmark, Odsherred, Høve

Name: Barn and Farm House

Scenery: Surrounded by fields and forests in the middle of a Unesco area

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: Max. 14 in two houses with 5 double rooms, 2 single rooms and an open loft with a double bed.

Architecture: Old & new

Completed: 2018

Design: Leif Jørgensen, Dragør, DK

Published: BoBedre April 2020

Special Features: Many of the furniture in the houses were designed by the architect himself and can be purchased via his website.


Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are free for bookings.

0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Barn House und Farm House

Mit der Großfamilie oder Freunden nach Dänemark! Das Gebäudeensemble in der Region Odsherred im Nordwesten von Seeland bietet viel Platz und besondere Wohnerlebnisse: Die minimalistische Architektur des Barn House inszeniert Raum, Licht und Ausblicke und steht im Dialog mit dem Farm House, einem traditionellen Bauernhaus.

Der Architekt und Designer Leif Jørgensen und seine Frau, die Designerin Mette Bache, haben ein altes Bauernhaus um ein L-förmiges Gebäude ergänzt. Das Ensemble bildet einen klassischen Dreiseithof mit einem Kastanienbaum im Innenhof. Das Barn House ist eine moderne Interpretation einer Scheune. Das Gebäude hat ein Wellblechdach, Ziegelwände, die außen weiß gekalkt und innen dünn mit Lehm verputzt sind, Böden aus Beton und Decken aus Holz. Und anstatt großer Scheunentore riesige Fenster. Diese lassen viel Licht hinein und sind so positioniert, dass sie perfekt gerahmte Ausblicke in die Natur und über die Sejerø Bucht bieten. Herzstück ist der Wohnraum, der sich bis zum 6,5 Meter hohen Giebel öffnet. Mit einem Kamin, einer hinter einer halbhohen Wand verborgenen Küche, einer langen Esstafel und einer Sitzecke ausgestattet, ist der Raum ideal geeignet, um gemeinsame Zeit in großer Runde zu verbringen. Zusätzlich gibt es einen Rückzugsbereich auf der Galerie.

Im Gegensatz zu dem nach außen orientierten Barn House hat das alte Farm House eine intimere Anmutung. Mit seinem Reetdach, den Sprossenfenstern und den im Vergleich zum Barn House viel niedrigeren Decken wirkt es sehr heimelig. Das alte Bauernhaus ist behutsam modernisiert worden. Im Wohnraum bilden die holzverkleideten Wände und geradlinigen Holzmöbel eine optische Klammer zum Barn House.

Die beiden Häuser verfügen zusammen über zwei Wohnräume und zwei Küchen, fünf Doppelzimmer, zwei Einzelzimmer, ein offenes Loft mit Doppelbett und drei Badezimmer.


Aktivitäten

Das Anwesen liegt zwischen Ostsee und Wald in einer von der Eiszeit geprägten Hügellandschaft. Die von der UNESCO zum Global Geopark ernannte Region bietet viele Möglichkeiten für Aktivitäten in der Natur: Wandern, Radfahren, Wassersport (der Strand ist ca. 1 km entfernt), Angeln, Vogelbeobachtung. Kopenhagen erreicht man mit dem Auto in etwa einer Stunde.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Das coole Barn House ergänzt das hyggelige Farm House wunderbar. Im zentralen Wohnbereich ist schon allein der Raum ein Erlebnis, das i-Tüpfelchen sind die Ausblicke auf die Ostsee – besonders bei Sonnenuntergang!

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Urlaub mit der (Groß-)Familie, mit zwei Familien oder mit Freunden


Details zum Objekt

Ort: DK - Dänemark, Odsherred, Høve

Name: Barn und Farm House

Lage: Umgeben von Feldern und Wäldern inmitten eines Unesco-Gebiets

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Max. 14 in zwei Häusern mit 5 Doppelzimmern, 2 Einzelzimmern und einem offenen Loft mit einem Doppelbett

Architektur: alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 2018

Design: Leif Jørgensen, Dragør, DK

Veröffentlicht: BoBedre April 2020

Besonderheiten: Viele Möbel aus den Häusern wurden vom Architekten selbst entworfen und können über seine Website gekauft werden.


Belegungskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die uns bekannte Verfügbarkeit. Dunkelgrau hinterlegte Tage sind nicht verfügbar, an hellgrau bzw. weiss angezeigten Tagen sind noch Unterkünfte verfügbar.

0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.