Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Jacob 1808

Jacob 1808

Between Lake Constance, St. Gallen and the Alpstein mountains lies the baroque town of Bischofszell. Once upon a time, fabric merchants, craftsmen, innkeepers and Thurgau noblemen lived here behind the picturesque façades on the Grubplatz, until the four buildings became the property of Jacob Christoph Wehrlin’s family in 1808. He is also the namesake of today’s accommodation, which has reunited two of the houses and was completely renovated.

In a complex reconstruction project, separating walls were removed, transitions were created and the two buildings were reconnected. Always taking into account the original building fabric, which was uncovered and restored with historical materials from the Thurgau monument preservation storehouse. The magnificent décor such as the impressive stucco ceilings, wood panelling and half-timbered walls has been preserved.

The five appartments offer space for two and up to four people. From the name to the décor to the furniture, each one tells its own story and gives an insight into a bygone era. The grey-panelled “Wirtshaus”, for example, shines with its large, light 17th-century blind arch, while the two-storey, particularly luminous “Sattlerei” enjoys a balcony as wide as the building. The bourgeois “Tuchhändler” impresses with its Régence stucco ceiling, solid wood doors with fine inlays and a cosy tiled stove. The “Herrenzimmer”, painted midnight blue, is plain and clear. And the magnificent “Gemeindeammann” gives an idea of the venerable gatherings that might have taken place here in the grand parlour with its creaking parquet flooring. Each appartment of Jacob is an atmospherically curated unique space and an authentic starting point for exploring the city and the surroundings.

What to do

Stroll through the baroque town and visit its nine gardens, Bischofszell Rose Week in summer or Advent market in winter, hiking in the surrounding area, in the Alpstein mountains and the Appenzell mountains, cycling and skating, swimming in the Sitter, Thur and Hauptwil ponds, raft trips, wine tasting, a visit to the UNESCO World Heritage city of St. Gallen or a trip to Lake Constance with its numerous attractions (approx. 20 minutes away), golfing, parachuting or a trip to Zurich, Bregenz, the Rhine Falls Schaffhausen or Lake Walen and the Churfirsten (all approx. one hour away).

Why we like this house

A picture-book monument with impressive historical décor that tells the stories of its former inhabitants in a fresh and stylish interpretation.

This house is great for

Couples, friends and families who want to discover the Eastern part of Switzerland.

Sustainability

Public transport: by train from St. Gallen (30 minutes) or from Zurich (approx. 1.5 hours).

Owner picture

Owner

Michael and Natalie Hofmann are passionate hosts with a great love of design, architecture and fashion. Natalie, a historian, grew up in one of the two houses and now runs the fashion boutique on the ground floor. From wild slides over the warped staircases to imaginative stories, there are plenty of memories for her within the historic walls, which she has brought back to life together with her husband Michael, an architect. When the adjoining house was up for sale, the idea was born to re-create a unified whole and a place with original soul and personality.


Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808

Details

Region CH – Switzerland, Thurgau, Bischofszell
Name Jacob 1808
Scenery In the heart of the historic baroque town and in the triangle between Lake Constance, Alpstein and St. Gallen
Number of guests 5 appartments for 2-4 guests each
Completed 1808 / 2023
Design Michael Hofmann, Bischofzell (architect); Liz Hurni, Lucerne (interior design)
Architecture Historical, Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation Apartment
Criteria 1-4 (house/apartment), Golf, Hiking, Lake/river, Mountains, Urban, No car needed
www.jacob1808.ch

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with a white background, the accommodation is still fully available. If an accommodation has more than one rentable unit, days with free capacities are shown with a light grey background. On days with a dark grey background, the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

www.jacob1808.ch

One Comment

Guilia sagt:
Wow, wunderschönes Design und so gemütlich, ich bin begeistert und inspiriert!
Translate comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR ist das führende Webportal für architektonisch beispielgebende Ferienhäuser. Wir geben auch preisgekrönten Coffeetable-Bücher heraus – diese sind im Buchhandel erhältlich und in unserem Shop.

Über uns

Was wir machen: ein besonderes Netzwerk für besondere Häuser.

Wie funktioniert Urlaubsarchitektur?

Wie Sie mit Urlaubsarchitektur Ihr Feriendomizil finden und wo Sie es buchen können.

Partner werden

Ihr Haus passt zu Urlaubsarchitektur? Zeit, dass wir uns kennenlernen!

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.


Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

Jacob 1808

Jacob 1808

Zwischen Bodensee, St. Gallen und dem Alpstein-Gebirge liegt das Barockstädtchen Bischofszell. Einst lebten hier hinter den pittoresken Fassaden am Grubplatz Tuchhändler, Handwerker, Wirtsleute und Thurgauer Honoratioren, bis die vier Gebäude 1808 in den Besitz der Familie von Jacob Christoph Wehrlin überging. Er ist auch der Namensgeber der heutigen Unterkunft, die zwei der Häuser wieder vereint, ganzheitlich saniert und um neue Bäder und Küchen ergänzt wurde.

In langen Umbauarbeiten wurden trennende Mauern entfernt, Übergänge geschaffen und beide Gebäude wieder verbunden. Immer unter Berücksichtigung der ursprünglichen Bausubstanz, die freigelegt und mit historischen Materialien aus dem Lager der Thurgauer Denkmalpflege wiederhergestellt wurde. Das prächtige Dekor wie die eindrucksvollen Stuckdecken, Holzvertäfelungen und Fachwerkwände ist dabei erhalten geblieben.

Die fünf Apartments bieten teils zwei, teils bis zu vier Personen Platz. Vom Namen über das Dekor bis zum Mobiliar erzählt jedes Einzelne seine ganz eigene Geschichte und gibt Einblick in eine vergangene Zeit. So glänzt das grau vertäfelte „Wirtshaus“ durch seinen großen, lichten Blendbogen aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, während sich die zweistöckige, besonders helle „Sattlerei“ eines gebäudebreiten Balkons erfreut. Der großbürgerliche „Tuchhändler“ beeindruckt mit Régence-Stuckaturdecke, Massivholztüren mit feinen Intarsien und einem gemütlichen Kachelofen. Das nachtblau gestrichene „Herrenzimmer“ macht sich schlicht und klar. Und der prunkvolle „Gemeindeammann“ lässt erahnen, welch ehrwürdige Empfänge hier in der guten Stube auf dem knarzenden Parkett wohl stattgefunden haben mögen. Jede Wohnung ist ein stimmungsvoll kuratiertes Unikat und authentischer Ausgangspunkt, um Stadt und Land zu erkunden.

Was geht hier

Spaziergang durch das Barockstädtchen und Besuch seiner neun Gärten, Bischofszeller Rosenwoche im Sommer oder Adventsmarkt im Winter, Wandern in der näheren Umgebung, im Alpstein-Gebirge und der Appenzeller Bergwelt, Radfahren und Skaten, Baden in Sitter, Thur und im Hauptwiler Weiher, Floßfahrten, Weinproben, ein Besuch der UNESCO-Welterbe-Stadt St. Gallen oder ein Ausflug zum Bodensee mit seinen zahlreichen Attraktionen (ca. 20 Minuten entfernt), Golfen, Fallschirmspringen oder ein Ausflug nach Zürich, Bregenz, zum Rheinfall Schaffhausen oder zum Walensee und den Churfirsten (alles ca. eine Stunde entfernt)

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein Bilderbuch-Baudenkmal mit eindrucksvollem historischem Dekor, das frisch und stilvoll interpretiert die Geschichten seiner einstigen Bewohner:innen weitererzählt.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Paare, Freund:innen oder Familien, die die Ostschweiz entdecken wollen.

Nachhaltigkeit

ÖPNV: mit der Bahn von St. Gallen (30 Minuten) oder von Zürich (ca. 1,5 Stunden)

Gastgeber

Eigentümer

Die Gastgeber Michael und Natalie Hofmann sind Quereinsteiger mit großer Freude an Design, Architektur und Mode. Die Historikerin Natalie ist in einem der beiden Häuser aufgewachsen und führt inzwischen die Boutique Dorelle im Erdgeschoss. Von wilden Rutschpartien über die windschiefen Treppen bis zu fantasievollen Geschichten stecken für sie jede Menge Erinnerungen in den historischen Mauern, die sie gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Michael, einem Architekten, zu neuem Leben erweckt hat. Als das Nebenhaus zum Verkauf stand, war die Idee geboren, wieder ein einheitliches Ganzes und einen Ort mit ursprünglicher Seele und Persönlichkeit zu schaffen.


Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808
Jacob 1808

Details

Region CH - Schweiz, Thurgau, Bischofszell
Name Jacob 1808
Lage Mitten im historischen Barockstädtchen, im Dreieck zwischen Bodensee, Alpstein und St. Gallen
Anzahl Gäste 5 Wohnungen für je 2-4 Gäste
Fertigstellung 1880 / 2023
Design Michael Hofmann, Bischofzell (Architekt); Liz Hurni, Luzern (Innengestaltung)
Architektur alt & neu, Baudenkmal - alt, historisch
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, Golf, See/Fluss, urban, Wandern, Ohne Auto erreichbar
www.jacob1808.ch

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch vollständig verfügbar. Hat eine Unterkunft mehr als eine vermietbare Einheit, werden Tage mit freien Kapazitäten mit hellgrau markiertem Hintergrund angezeigt. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.jacob1808.ch

Ein Kommentar

Guilia sagt:
Wow, wunderschönes Design und so gemütlich, ich bin begeistert und inspiriert!
Kommentar übersetzen

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.