Na Travessa Suites

Monumental masonry meets linear lightness. Hidden in the lively heart of Porto’s historic centre, the Na Travessa Suítes guesthouse stylishly and harmoniously combines history and the spirit of Zeitgeist. It has its own small garden and a view of the Sé Cathedral and the Clérigos Tower.

In collaboration with the architect Luís Sobral of DepA Architects, the original townhouse was reimagined by the owners Mariana and Pedro with a great eye and feeling for structure and texture, partly restored, partly reconstructed and extended with a modern annex. The fact that the house dates back to the 19th century and could once have been a foundry is revealed not only by old records, but also by the façades, stone arches and wooden beams, which also play a visibly supporting role in the new composition of the rooms. The result is rooms with a clear design language in soft to rich tones, minimally furnished with modern simple design.

The eight double rooms are located on the two upper floors, each with a balcony and a view of different perspectives of the city. The breakfast area is just behind the reception, on the ground floor. From here, you walk out through an old stone portal into the small inner courtyard. And if the weather is bad, you can go into the attached conservatory. After all, Porto is worth a visit at any time of the year.

What to do

Explore the multifaceted Porto and its many monuments – from the historic old town and the Port wine cellars to the bridges and architectural features such as the Sé Cathedral or the Casa da Música by Rem Koolhaas to the sunset in the Jardim do Morro, from the Atlantic to the Douro or take a trip to the Douro Valley; and don’t forget all the artfully tiled walls, balconies full of flowers and culinary specialities, because old Porto is not only a UNESCO World Heritage Site, but is also known for the best food in Portugal as well as its special wines.

Why we like this house

An aesthetically and sensitively renovated house that combines old structures with modern minimalism.

This house is great for

Couples or friends – whether for sightseeing or as a starting point for exploring the Douro Valley.

Owner picture

Owner

When Pedro and Mariana decided to open a B&B in their hometown of Porto in 2007, the city was still largely undeveloped for tourism. With their former 6Only Guesthouse, they were among the pioneers among guesthouses at the time. A passion they continue to pursue with their new project Na Travessa Suítes. When they bought the old house in 2017, the plan was to give their city of Porto another beautifully renovated and sustainable building, where they could welcome people from all over the world. A hospitality that you can feel in every detail.

Details

Region/Town PT – Portugal, Porto
Name Na Travessa Suítes
Scenery In the historic centre
Number of guests Max. 16 in 8 doublerooms
Completed 2021
Design Luís Sobral (architect), depa architects, Porto (PT)
Published ArchDaily (02/2022)
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation B&B
Criteria Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Garden, Lake/river, Sea, Urban, Wine
natravessa.com

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

natravessa.com

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Na Travessa Suites

merken

Monumentales Mauerwerk trifft lineare Leichtigkeit. Mitten im lebendigen Herzen des historischen Zentrums von Porto versteckt sich das Gästehaus Na Travessa Suítes, das stilvoll und stimmig Geschichte und Zeitgeist verbindet. Mit eigenem kleinem Garten und Blick auf die Kathedrale Sé sowie den Turm Clérigos.
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekten Luís Sobral von Depa Architects wurde das ursprüngliche Stadthaus von den Besitzern Mariana und Pedro mit viel Sinn und Gespür für Struktur und Textur neu erdacht, teils restauriert, teils rekonstruiert und um einen modernen Anbau erweitert. Dass das Haus aus dem 19. Jahrhundert stammt und einst eine Gießerei gewesen sein könnte, verraten nicht nur alte Aufzeichnungen, sondern auch die Fassaden, Steinbögen und Holzbalken, die auch in der Neukomposition der Räume eine sichtbar tragende Rolle spielen. Das Ergebnis sind Räume mit klarer Formensprache in sanften bis satten Tönen, minimalistisch möbliert mit modernem schlichtem Design.
Die acht Doppelzimmer verteilen sich auf den beiden oberen Stockwerken, immer mit Balkon und Blick auf unterschiedliche Perspektiven der Stadt. Im offenen Erdgeschoss befindet sich gleich hinter dem Empfang der Frühstücksbereich. Von hier aus spaziert man durch ein altes Steinportal hinaus in den kleinen Innenhof. Und bei schlechtem Wetter geht es in den angebauten Wintergarten. Schließlich ist Porto zu jeder Jahreszeit eine Reise wert.

Was geht hier

Das facettenreiche Porto und seine vielfältigen Baudenkmäler erkunden – von der historischen Altstadt und den Portweinkellern über die Brücken und architektonischen Besonderheiten wie die Kathedrale Sé oder das Casa da Música von Rem Koolhaas bis zum Sonnenuntergang im Jardim do Morro, vom Atlantik bis zum Douro, ein Ausflug ins Douro-Tal, nicht zu vergessen all die kunstvoll gefliesten Wände, Blumenbalkone und kulinarischen Besonderheiten, denn das alte Porto zählt nicht nur zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe, sondern ist auch bekannt für das beste Essen Portugals sowie seine besonderen Weine.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein ästhetisch feinsinnig renoviertes Haus, das alte Strukturen mit modernem Minimalismus kombiniert.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Für Paare oder Freunde – ob zum Sightseeing oder als Startpunkt für die Erkundung des Douro-Tals.

Gastgeber

Eigentümer

Als Pedro und Mariana 2007 beschlossen in ihrer Heimatstadt Porto ein B&B zu eröffnen, war die Stadt noch weitgehend touristisch unerschlossen. Mit ihrem 6Only Guesthouse gehörten sie damals zu den Pionieren unter den Gästehäusern. Eine Leidenschaft, die sie mit ihrem neuen Projekt Na Travessa Suítes fortsetzen. Als sie 2017 das alte Haus kauften, stand der Plan fest, ihrer Stadt Porto ein weiteres schön saniertes und nachhaltiges Gebäude zu schenken, um hier Menschen aus aller Welt willkommen zu heißen. Eine Gastfreundschaft, die man in allen Details spürt.

Details

Ort PT - Portugal, Porto
Name Na Travessa Suítes
Lage In der historischen Altstadt
Personenanzahl Max. 16 in 8 Doppelzimmern
Fertigstellung 2021
Design Luís Sobral (Architekt), depa architects, Porto (PT)
Veröffentlicht ArchDaily (02/2022)
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft B&B
Kriterien Zimmer für 1-2 (Hotel), Garten, Meer, See/Fluss, urban, Wein
natravessa.com

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

natravessa.com

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.