Teeroneer

Teeroneer is surrounded by the green, hilly landscape of County Clare, Ireland. This holiday home, situated near Lough Derg in the east of the county, was built on the foundations of an old stone cottage. The modern timber building is framed on two sides by the remains of the cottage – a stone gable wall and a retaining wall – and is protected by mature, leafy trees. Anchored in its surroundings, the house conveys a grounded sense of security – and yet is also imbued with a bright, open atmosphere. The ground floor, which features the living room with a sitting area by the fireplace, and a dining area and kitchen, opens out to the landscape with floor-to-ceiling windows. The lowered level of the kitchen, with the floor merging seamlessly into the kitchen worktop, creates a generous sense of space. You can see right through these living areas into the landscape outside. From the two bedrooms (both with a balcony) and the bathroom on the upper floor, you can also see far out into the lush countryside. These views and the limited set of materials used – wood, glass, concrete and stone – define the quiet, natural ambience of the house.


What to do

County Clare offers a beautifully varied landscape, from green hills with quaint villages to the wild Atlantic coast. The house is situated near the village of Tuamgraney on the Graney River, which flows into nearby Lough Derg (Ireland's third largest lake). Lough O'Grady in front of the house is the perfect spot for fishing, canoeing and bird watching. Hiking in the Slieve Bearna and Slieve Aughty foothills takes only a few minutes by car.
The area is famous for traditional Irish music, especially the nearby village of Feakle, where the Feakle Festival is held every August. Burren National Park is just an hour's drive away and offers some of the finest preserved archaeological landscapes in Western Ireland. Other attractions include the Wild Atlantic Way, Loop Head Cliffs, Cliffs of Moher, Shannon River and the Aran Islands. The medieval town of Galway is 90 minutes north by car.

Why we like this house

A refuge amidst nature that combines transparency and openness with security and comfort.
 

This house is great for

Nature lovers and anyone looking for peace and quite.


Details of the property

Region/Town: IE – Ireland, Co. Clare, Tuamgraney

Name: Teeroneer

Scenery: On a lake with great views of nearby mountains Sliabh Bearna and Sliabh Aughty

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: Max. 4

Architecture: Modern

Completed: 2016

Design: Boyd Cody Architects, Dublin

Published: The Irish Times, The Irish Independent, RIAI Annual 2017

Awards: Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland Munster House of the Year 2017


Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Teeroneer

Haus Teeroneer im Osten der irischen Grafschaft Clare ist von grüner Hügellandschaft umgeben. Das nahe dem Lough Derg gelegene Ferienhaus wurde auf der Grundfläche eines alten Cottages errichtet. Der moderne Holzbau wird an zwei Seiten von den Überresten des alten Gebäudes – einer steinernen Giebelwand und eine Böschungsmauer – eingerahmt und von hohen Bäumen beschirmt. So mit seiner Umgebung verankert, vermittelt das Haus Geborgenheit, ist aber gleichzeitig von Transparenz und Offenheit geprägt. Das Erdgeschoss, in dem sich der Wohnraum mit Sitzecke am Kamin, Essplatz und  Küche befindet, öffnet sich mit raumhohen Fenstern zur Landschaft. Dadurch, dass die Küche abgesenkt ist – der Fußboden geht nahtlos in die Arbeitsplatte über – entsteht ein großzügiger Raumeindruck. Der Blick kann ungehindert durch den gesamten Raum hinweg nach draußen schweifen. Auch aus den zwei Schlafzimmern (beide mit Balkon) und dem Badezimmer im oberen Stockwerk kann man weit in die grüne Umgebung blicken. Diese Ausblicke und die Beschränkung auf wenige Materialien – Holz, Glas, Beton und die alten Steine – prägen das ruhige, natürliche Ambiente des Hauses.


Aktivitäten

Die Grafschaft Clare ist geprägt durch eine abwechslungsreiche Landschaft – von grünen Hügeln mit alten Dörfern bis hin zur zerklüfteten und wilden Atlantikküste. Das Haus liegt in der Nähe des Dorfes Tuamgraney am Fluss Graney, der in den nahegelegenen Lough Derg (Irlands drittgrößten See) mündet. Lough O'Grady direkt vor dem Haus eignet sich hervorragend zum Angeln, Kanufahren und zur Vogelbeobachtung. Zum Wandern im Vorland der Berge Slieve Bearna und Slieve Aughty fährt man wenige Autominuten.
Die Gegend ist bekannt für traditionelle irische Musik, insbesondere das nahe gelegene Dorf Feakle, in dem jedes Jahr im August das Feakle-Festival stattfindet. 
Der Burren Nationalpark ist nur knapp eine Autostunde entfernt und bietet einige der schönsten erhaltenen archäologischen Landschaften Westirlands. Weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten sind  der Wild Atlantic Way, die Loop Head Cliffs, die Cliffs of Moher, der Fluss Shannon und die Aran-Inseln. Die mittelalterliche Stadt Galway liegt 90 Autominuten nördlich.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein Refugium in der Natur, das Offenheit und Transparenz mit Geborgenheit und Behaglichkeit verbindet.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Naturliebhaber und Ruhesuchende


Details zum Objekt

Ort: IE - Irland, Co. Clare, Tuamgraney

Name: Teeroneer

Lage: An einem See mit Blick auf die eindrucksvollen Silhouetten von Sliabh Bearna und Sliabh Aughty

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Max. 4

Architektur: modern

Fertigstellung: 2016

Design: Boyd Cody Architects, Dublin

Veröffentlicht: The Irish Times, The Irish Independent, RIAI Annual 2017

Auszeichnungen: Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland Munster House of the Year 2017


Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.