Aux Losanges

The large white diamond pattern in the entrance area are already suggesting it: Aux Losanges in the Tschiertschen mountain village in the canton of Graubünden is no ordinary traditional mountain chalet—even if it almost appears to be one from the outside. The architecture firm Caruso St John has transformed the Walser log building dating from 1869 into an extraordinary holiday home with a function room for an art-loving couple from Zurich. They gave the house, formerly used as a café, a make-over that combines British extravagance and Swiss down-to-earthness. The structure of the building has remained unchanged, the design takes existing building fabric into account and gives it a fresh, unique look through colours and trompe-l’œil paintings.

As the traditional log construction was only preserved on the first floor, it was decided to emphasise the different character of the three floors. On the ground floor, the small-scale layout was restored and the walls were panelled with wood. The intermediate ceiling was removed in the extension, which was added in the 1950s. The room with a view of the village and the mountains serves both as a dining room and as a venue for concerts. Its walls and ceiling are decorated with a large diamond-shaped pattern. On the first floor, the log construction was exposed and restored. Where the original structure no longer existed, it was imitated with paintings. For example, a missing part of a banister was replaced by a painted wooden panel. The staircase to the top floor and the wooden panelling in the attic were painted in wide green stripes.

The interior is an extraordinary mixture of furniture designed by the architect, antique pieces of the owners and contemporary works of art. Murano chandeliers are combined with Persian rugs, rustic wooden beams with modern designer classics, the old chairs from the café with a floor coated with epoxy resin. The common thread that unites it all is—skilful—stylistic inconsistency.

The house can accommodate up to 12 people. It has two living rooms, a dining room, a library, a kitchen and five bedrooms (4 with double beds and one with four beds).

Images: Hélène Binet (3-12)

What to do

Tschiertschen, located near the City of Chur, was voted the most beautiful mountain village in the Swiss canton of Grisons in January 2020. In summer, you can go hiking, mountain biking, e-biking, play golf or tennis in the Grisons mountains. In winter, you can ski in the small but multifaceted family ski resort with 2 chair and 2 drag lifts, go sledding, snowshoeing and winter hiking.

Why we like this house

An unconventional, extravagant house that you would not expect in a mountain village.

This house is great for

Holidays with the family and friends.

Sustainability

Travelling without car: By train to Chur, from Churs Tschiertschen can be reached in 20 minutes. The village is car-free in winter.

Details

Region/Town CH – Switzerland, Graubünden, Tschiertschen
Name Aux Losanges
Scenery In the village with great mountain panorama
Number of guests Max. 12 in four double rooms and one four-bed-room
Completed 1869, 1950er (extension), 2017
Design Caruso St John Architects, London
Published Wohnrevue (CH), Casabella Ornamento (IT), Maison Côté Est (FR), IDEAT (DE), LIVING – Corriere della Sera (IT), PIN-UP Magazine (USA), Domus Magazine (IT), NZZ Residence (CH), Z-Magazin NZZ (CH), Bianco Magazine (CH), Schweizer Heimatschutz
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), 1-6 (house/apartment), 1-8 (house/apartment), 8+ (house/apartment), Art, Family, Hiking, Mountains, Music, Skiing, no car needed
www.aux-losanges.ch

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

www.aux-losanges.ch

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Aux Losanges

merken

Die großen weißen Rhomben im Eingangsbereich deuten es an: Aux Losanges im Bündner Bergdorf Tschiertschen ist keins der üblichen traditionellen Bergchalets – auch wenn es von außen fast so anmutet. Das Architekturbüro Caruso St. John hat den Walser Strickbau von 1869 für ein kunstaffines Paar aus Zürich in ein außergewöhnliches Ferienhaus mit Veranstaltungsraum umgewandelt. Sie verpassten dem früher als Café genutztem Haus ein Make-Over, das britische Extravaganz und Schweizer Bodenständigkeit vereint. Die Struktur des Gebäudes blieb unverändert, die Gestaltung berücksichtigt bestehende Substanzen und gibt diesen durch Farben und Trompe-l’Œil-Malereien einen frischen, einzigartigen Look.

Da der traditionelle Strickbau nur noch im ersten Stock erhalten war, entschied man sich dazu, den unterschiedlichen Charakter der drei Geschosse zu betonen. Im  Erdgeschoss wurde der kleinteilige Grundriss wiederhergestellt und die Wände mit Holz vertäfelt. In dem Anbau, der in den 1950er-Jahren hinzugefügt worden war, wurde die Zwischendecke entfernt. Der Raum mit Ausblick auf  das Dorf und die Berge dient gleichzeitig als Esszimmer sowie als Veranstaltungsraum. Er wurde an Wänden und Decke  mit einem großflächigen Rautenmuster verziert. Im ersten Stock wurde der Strickbau freigelegt und restauriert. Dort wo die originale Struktur nicht mehr vorhanden war, wurde sie durch Malereien imitiert. So wurde z.B. ein fehlender Teil eines Geländers durch eine bemalte Holzplatte ersetzt. Die Treppe ins oberste Stockwerk und die Holzverkleidungen  im Dachgeschoss wurden mit breiten grünen Streifen versehen.

Das Interior ist eine außergewöhnliche Mischung aus vom Architekten entworfenen Möbeln, antiken Stücken der Besitzer und zeitgenössischen Kunstwerken. Murano-Lüster treffen auf Perserteppiche, urige Holzbalken auf moderne Designerklassiker, die alten Stühle aus dem Café auf einen Fußboden aus Expoxidharz. Der alles vereinende rote Faden ist der – gekonnte – Stilbruch.

Das Haus bietet Platz für bis zu 12 Personen. Es verfügt über zwei Wohnzimmer, ein Esszimmer, eine Bibliothek, eine Küche und fünf Schlafzimmer (4 mit Doppelbetten und ein Vierbettzimmer).

Fotos: Hélène Binet (3-12)

Aktivitäten

Das in der Nähe der Stadt Chur gelegene Tschiertschen wurde im Januar 2020 zum schönsten Bergdorf Graubündens gewählt. Im Sommer kann man in der Bündner Bergwelt Wandern, Mountain-Biken, E-Bike-Fahren, Golf oder Tennis spielen. Im Winter Skifahren im  kleinen aber vielseitigen Familien-Skigebiets mit 2 Sessel- und 2 Schleppliften, Rodeln, Schneeschuh- und Winterwandern. 

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein unkonventionelles, extravagantes Haus, das man in einem Bergdorf nicht erwarten würde.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Urlaub mit Familie und Freunden

Nachhaltigkeit

Anreise ohne Auto: Mit der Bahn nach Chur, ab Churs ist Tschiertschen in 20 Minuten zu erreichen. Das Dorf ist im Winter autofrei.

Details

Ort CH - Schweiz, Graubünden, Tschiertschen
Name Aux Losanges
Lage Im Ort, in grandioser Panoramalage
Personenanzahl Max. 12 in vier DZ und einem 4er-Zimmer
Fertigstellung 1869, 1950er (Anbau), 2017
Design Caruso St John Architects, London
Veröffentlicht Wohnrevue (CH), Casabella Ornamento (IT), Maison Côté Est (FR), IDEAT (DE), LIVING – Corriere della Sera (IT), PIN-UP Magazine (USA), Domus Magazine (IT), NZZ Residence (CH), Z-Magazin NZZ (CH), Bianco Magazine (CH), Schweizer Heimatschutz
Besonderheiten 2020 wurde Tschiertschen zum schönsten Bündner Bergdorf erkoren.
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-6 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-8 (Haus/Wohnung), 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, Familie, Kunst, Musik, Skifahren, Wandern, ohne Auto erreichbar
www.aux-losanges.ch

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.aux-losanges.ch

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.