Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Avion Hotel

Avion Hotel

If you are looking for an alternative to Prague, the university city of Brno in the south-east of the Czech Republic offers cultural and culinary diversity against an imposing Habsburg backdrop. In the heart of the city centre, the Avion Hotel is as narrow as it is unique in the facades of Česká Street. Built in 1928 by architect and urban planner Bohuslav Fuchs in a limited space, with restricted financial resources and under time pressure, the hotel is an icon of the functionalist architecture of the interwar period. The Bauhaus-style building is a national cultural monument.

The ten-storey, terraced building, which was erected on a plot 8 m wide and 34 m deep, is 40 m high, making it the tallest building in the historic centre of Brno. In the meantime, the entire building has been carefully renovated without losing its authenticity and original features – from the furniture to the 96-year-old sash windows. Just like back then, the hotel still offers 37 rooms for overnight stays, which continue to reflect the original flair despite modernisation and different categories. There is a restaurant on the ground floor, above which are three floors with museum rooms and café areas, which are connected by an air and light column. The panoramic terrace on the top floor offers a fascinating view of Špilberk Castle, the Cathedral of St Peter and Paul in Petrov and the entire city of Brno. All hotel guests have free admission to the museum and guided tours.

What to do

Once you have visited the museum's own rooms and gained an initial overview from the roof terrace, you should definitely explore the picturesque old town: from Freedom Square and Vegetable Market Square to the Old Town Hall, the Cathedral of St Peter and Paul and Špilberk Castle to the rich cultural scene with museums and galleries. For those interested in architecture, the Villa Tugendhat by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe is an unmissable highlight, along with other works by Bohuslav Fuchs, such as the Zeman Café (now the Pavillon Restaurant), the House of Arts, the Brno Pavilion at the exhibition centre or the Zábrdovice municipal swimming pool, etc.

Why we like this house

Experience and inhabit functionalist architecture: A journey that goes back almost 100 years and yet is more relevant than ever in times of redensification.

This house is great for

Couples, solo travellers, families, friends who are interested in culture and architecture. The accommodation is not barrier-free and cannot accommodate bicycles due to lack of space.

Sustainability

Heating and cooling by heat pumps, natural magnesite floors with a low ecological footprint, hot water heating via solar panels, electric charging station nearby (Vaňkovka Brno Gallery), public transport: the Hotel Avion is easily accessible by various means of public transport


Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel

Details

Region CZ – Czech Republic, South Moravia, Brno
Name Avion Hotel
Scenery In the historic city centre
Number of guests 37 double rooms of various categories (some rooms are suitable for 3 people), max. 77 guests
Completed 1928
Design Bohuslav Fuchs
Architecture Listed building - old, Modern classic
Accomodation Hotel
Criteria Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Meeting, Restaurant, Urban, No car needed
www.avion-hotel.cz

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with a white background, the accommodation is still fully available. If an accommodation has more than one rentable unit, days with free capacities are shown with a light grey background. On days with a dark grey background, the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

www.avion-hotel.cz

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR ist das führende Webportal für architektonisch beispielgebende Ferienhäuser. Wir geben auch preisgekrönten Coffeetable-Bücher heraus – diese sind im Buchhandel erhältlich und in unserem Shop.

Über uns

Was wir machen: ein besonderes Netzwerk für besondere Häuser.

Wie funktioniert Urlaubsarchitektur?

Wie Sie mit Urlaubsarchitektur Ihr Feriendomizil finden und wo Sie es buchen können.

Partner werden

Ihr Haus passt zu Urlaubsarchitektur? Zeit, dass wir uns kennenlernen!


Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

Avion Hotel

Avion Hotel

Wer eine Alternative zu Prag sucht, findet in der Universitätsstadt Brünn im Südosten Tschechiens kulturelle und kulinarische Vielfalt vor imposanter Habsburg-Kulisse. Inmitten des Stadtkerns reiht sich das Hotel Avion so schmal wie einzigartig ins Fassadenbild der Česká-Straße. 1928 vom Architekten und Stadtplaner Bohuslav Fuchs auf begrenztem Raum, mit begrenzten finanziellen Mitteln und unter Zeitdruck erbaut, ist das Hotel eine Ikone der funktionalistischen Architektur der Zwischenkriegszeit. Das Gebäude im Bauhaus-Stil ist ein nationales Kulturdenkmal.
Das zehnstöckige, terrassenförmige Gebäude, das auf einem 8 m breiten und 34 m tiefen Grundstück errichtet wurde, ist 40 m hoch und damit das höchste Gebäude im historischen Zentrum von Brünn. Inzwischen wurde das gesamte Gebäude renoviert, ohne seine Authentizität und originalen Wesenszüge zu verlieren – vom Mobiliar bis zu den rund 96 Jahre alten Schiebefenstern. Wie damals bietet das Hotel immer noch 37 Zimmer zur Übernachtung an, die trotz Modernisierung und unterschiedlicher Kategorien weiterhin die ursprüngliche Gestaltung widerspiegeln. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich ein Restaurant, darüber liegen drei Etagen mit Museumsräumen und Cafébereichen, die durch einen Luftraum miteinander verbunden sind. Von der Panoramaterrasse im obersten Stockwerk eröffnet sich ein faszinierender Blick auf die Burg Špilberk, die Kathedrale St. Peter und Paul in Petrov sowie die gesamte Stadt Brünn. Alle Gäste des Hotels haben freien Eintritt ins Museum und zu den Führungen.

Was geht hier

Wer die hauseigenen Museumsräume besucht und sich von der Dachterrasse aus einen ersten Überblick verschafft hat, sollte unbedingt die pittoreske Altstadt erkunden: vom Freiheitsplatz und Gemüsemarktplatz über das Alte Rathaus, die Kathedrale St. Peter und Paul und die Burg Špilberk bis zur reichen Kulturszene mit Museen und Galerien. Für Architekturinteressierte ist die Villa Tugendhat von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe ein unerlässliches Highlight, zusammen mit weiteren Werken von Bohuslav Fuchs, wie dem Zeman Café (heute Pavillon Restaurant), dem Haus der Künste, dem Brünner Pavillon auf dem Messegelände oder dem Stadtbad Zábrdovice etc.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Funktionalistische Architektur erleben und bewohnen: Eine Reise, die fast 100 Jahre zurückreicht und in Zeiten der Nachverdichtung doch aktueller denn je ist.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Paare, Alleinreisende, Familien, Freund:innen, die sich für Kultur und Architektur interessieren. Die Unterkunft ist nicht barrierefrei und kann aus Platzgründen keine Räder unterbringen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Heizung und Kühlung durch Wärmepumpen, natürliche Magnesitböden mit geringem ökologischem Fußabdruck, Warmwasserbereitung über Sonnenkollektoren, E-Ladestation in der Nähe (Galerie Vaňkovka Brno), ÖPNV: das Hotel Avion ist mit unterschiedlichen öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bestens erreichbar


Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel
avion hotel
Avion Hotel
Avion Hotel

Details

Region CZ - Tschechien, Südmähren, Brünn
Name Avion Hotel
Lage Im historischen Stadtzentrum
Anzahl Gäste 37 Doppelzimmer verschiedener Kategorien (einige Zimmer sind für 3 Personen geeignet) , max. 77 Gäste
Fertigstellung 1928
Design Bohuslav Fuchs
Architektur Baudenkmal - alt, Klassische Moderne
Unterkunft Hotel
Kriterien Zimmer für 1-2 (Hotel), Meeting, Restaurant, urban, Ohne Auto erreichbar
www.avion-hotel.cz

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch vollständig verfügbar. Hat eine Unterkunft mehr als eine vermietbare Einheit, werden Tage mit freien Kapazitäten mit hellgrau markiertem Hintergrund angezeigt. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.avion-hotel.cz

0 Kommentare

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.