Casa Raslei

In the wild Onsernone Valley of Ticino, on a steep slope leading down from the valley road, stands an ensemble of stone houses that has grown over generations and stood empty for years. Set on one edge of the terrain, Casa Raslei opens up towards the valley to the south, but at the same time shields itself from the higher-lying village of Mosogno Sotto. Below, the densely wooded terrain drops abruptly to the mountain stream Isorno, whose murmur is omnipresent in the valley. The client, who is familiar with the Ticino way of life, wanted a residential house that could be developed from the dilapidated ensemble using modest resources.

The architects Buchner Bründler and local craftsmen accompanied the owners for over six years until the Casa Raslei became habitable as a place of retreat and a ritual counter-world to the everyday life. 

The historical significance of the main building was revealed as essential for understanding the whole during the examination of the rural stone houses. The history was not to disappear behind a white plaster, the structural traces of the past remained visible accordingly.

With spectacular interventions – which more deconstruct than add – an attempt was made to preserve the atmosphere and identity of the place. The result is an ensemble of summer house, winter parlour and bath house with different spatial experiences. In the summer house, the small-scale chamber structure was abandoned in favour of a large, two-storey summer hall. The fireplace as a large hearth in the centre was set in a metal frame and a homogeneous concrete floor was poured in to emphasise the effect as an overall space. The individual object-like elements made of in-situ concrete refer to the new meaning of the open hall. The hall is spanned by a light roof made of corrugated sheet metal that protects against the weather: Air, sounds and the atmospheric changes of the surroundings can be experienced inside. 

To the west is the winter parlour – an annex with a stone roof and loggia – into whose interior a dark-glazed, heated living cube for sleeping, cooking and eating has been integrated. From the hall, a door on the valley side leads into the slender bathhouse in the courtyard, crowned by a concrete dome. From above, light falls through the open opaion of the dome. Set into the floor is a wood-fired concrete bathtub. The contrast between the room and the warming water could not be greater. Bathing becomes an experience of exposure to the natural elements of water, fire, light and shadow. The enlarged terrace on the valley side is enclosed by a dry stone wall. The result is a square that connects the different houses.

Casa Raslei is not just a house. The surrounding “wild” nature as well as the protection from it take a central place. 

At the beginning of the 20th century, the Onsernone Valley was a popular retreat for poets and literary figures, including Max Frisch and Golo Mann. In old age, for example, it was the centre of Max Frisch’s life. In the 1960s, hippies came and settled in the old houses.

The building by Buchner Bründler Architects has been awarded various national and international awards.

Images: Georg Aerni, Buchner Bründler Architekten, Alejandra Lauper

What to do

The Onsernone Valley is considered the wildest in the entire region and is the ideal destination for those seeking simplicity and tranquillity. The spectacular valley offers a view of an untracked valley, with the Isorno River roaring through its gorge. High above it, villages spread out. The valley offers a variety of highlights for hiking, bathing in rivers and mountain streams with crystal-clear water, biking, climbing, fishing, canyoning to the cultural history of straw weaving or excursions to Ascona and Locarno.

Why we like this house

Radical, impressive, simple - that' s exactly what it's all about!

This house is great for

Enthusiasts!

Sustainability

International Award for Sustainable Renovation and Construction in the Alps: "Constructive Alps" 2020; Public transport: The nearby village is easily accessible by public bus from Locarno, followed by a ten-minute descent by foot to the house.

Details

Region/Town CH – Switzerland, Ticino, Mosogno
Name Casa Raslei
Scenery On a steep slope in the Onsernone Valley, located below the hamlet of Mosogno Sotto. The house can be reached on foot in about 10 minutes.
Number of guests Max. 4. In the summer months there are an additional 4 futons provided for the summer hall.
Completed 2018
Design Buchner Bründler Architekten , Basel
Published 2020 "Constructive Alps" as a theme issue of the Swiss architecture magazine Hochparterre; 2020 Buchner Bründler Architekten, Casa Mosogno; AIT, 3/2020; Casabella, No. 907, 03/2020; Umbauen + Renovieren; Hochparterre, 12/19; , db (Deutsche Bauzeitung) 03/2019; archithese, June-August 02 2019; publications Buchner Bründler Bauten II; Arquitectura Viva, AV Monografias 237 (2021); and many more.
Special Features You can't park directly at the house but need to walk approx. 10 minutes downhill. For luggage and shopping, a track trolley can be used by prior arrangement. Only the annex is winterproof.
Awards 2020 AIT Award, Recognition Living Single-Family, Casa Mosogno / 2020 The Best Conversion 2020, Umbauen und Renovieren, Jury Prize Casa Mosogno / 2020 Premio SIA Ticino, edizione 2020, mentioning Casa Mosogno 2020 "Constructive Alps", international award for sustainable renovation and construction in the Alps, nominee Casa Mosogno / 2019 The Best 2019, Hochparterre, recognition Architecture Casa Mosogno
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Hiking, Lake/river, Mountains, No car needed

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in white are available for bookings

Request/Booking

One Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Casa Raslei

merken

Im wilden Tessiner Onsernonetal steht an einem von der Talstrasse abfallenden steilen Hang ein Ensemble aus Steinhäusern, das über Generationen hin baulich angewachsen ist und jahrelang leer stand. An eine Geländekante gesetzt öffnet sich die Casa Raslei gegen Süden zum Tal, schirmt sich gleichzeitig jedoch zum höher gelegenen Dorf Mosogno Sotto hin ab. Unterhalb fällt das dicht bewaldete Gelände abrupt zum Gebirgsbach Isorno ab, dessen Rauschen im Tal allgegenwärtig ist. Die Bauherrschaft, die mit der Tessiner Lebensart vertraut ist, wünschte sich ein Wohnhaus, das mit einfachen Mitteln aus dem baufälligen Ensemble entwickelt werden sollte.

Über sechs Jahre begleiteten die Architekten Buchner Bründler und lokale Handwerker ihre Bauherrschaft, bis die Casa Raslei als Rückzugsort und rituelle Gegenwelt zum Alltäglichen bewohnbar wurde. 

In der Auseinandersetzung mit den ruralen Steinhäusern zeigte sich die geschichtliche Bedeutung des Hauptbaus als essenziell für das Verständnis des Ganzen. Die Historie sollte nicht hinter einem weissen Putz verschwinden, die baulichen Spuren der Vergangenheit blieben entsprechend sichtbar.

Mit spektakulären Eingriffen – die mehr rückbauen als hinzufügen – wurde versucht die Stimmung und Identität des Ortes zu erhalten. Entstanden ist ein Ensemble aus Sommerhaus, Winterstube und Badehaus mit unterschiedlichen Raumerlebnissen. Im Sommerhaus wurde die kleinteilige Kammerstruktur zugunsten einer großen, zwei Geschosse umfassenden Sommerhalle aufgegeben. Der Kamin als grosse Feuerstelle in der Mitte wurde in einem Metallrahmen gefasst und ein homogener Betonboden eingegossen, um die Wirkung als Gesamtraum zu unterstreichen. Die einzelnen objektartig wirkende Elemente aus Ortbeton verweisen auf die neue Bedeutung der offenen Halle. Überspannt wird die Halle von einem leichten Dach aus Wellblech, das vor der Witterung schützt: Luft, Geräusche und die atmosphärischen Veränderungen der Umgebung sind im Inneren spürbar. 

Im Westen liegt die Winterstube – ein Annex mit Steindach und Loggia – in dessen Innenraum ein dunkel lasierter, beheizter Wohnkubus zum Schlafen, Kochen und Essen integriert wurde. Von der Halle führt eine Tür auf der Talseite in das schlanke, von einer Betonkuppel gekrönte Badehaus im Hof. Von oben fällt Licht durch das offene Opaion der Kuppel. Eingelassen in den Boden ist eine holzbefeuerte Betonbadewanne. Der Kontrast zwischen Raum und wärmendem Wasser könnte nicht grösser sein. Das Baden wird zur Erfahrung, sich den Naturelementen Wasser, Feuer, Licht und Schatten auszusetzen. Die talseitige vergrößerte Terrasse ist mit einer Trockenmauer gefasst. Der entstandene Platz fasst die einzelnen Häuser zusammen.

Die Casa Raslei ist nicht einfach nur ein Haus. Die umgebende „wilde“ Natur als auch der Schutz davor stehen im Zentrum.

Das Onsernonetal war zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts ein beliebter Rückzugsort für Dichter und Literaten, unter anderen auch für Max Frisch oder Golo Mann. Im hohen Alter war es für Max Frisch beispielsweise der Lebensmittelpunkt. In den 1960er-Jahren kamen Hippies und ließen sich in den alten Häusern nieder.

Der Bau von Buchner Bründler Architekten wurde mit diversen nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Fotos: Georg Aerni, Buchner Bründler Architekten, Alejandra Lauper

Was geht hier

Das Onsernonetal gilt als das wildeste der ganzen Region und ist das ideale Ziel für alle, die Einfachheit und Stille suchen. Das spektakuläre Tal gibt den Blick auf einen unwegsamen Talgrund frei, durch dessen Schlucht der Fluss Isorno tobt. Hoch darüber breiten sich die Dörfer aus. Das Tal bietet vielseitige Höhepunkte zum Wandern, Baden in Flüssen und Bergbächen mit kristallklarem Wasser, Biken, Klettern, Fischen, Canyoning bis hin zur Kulturgeschichte der Strohflechterei oder Ausflüge nach Ascona und Locarno.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Krass, beeindruckend, einfach – so geht’s halt auch!

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Enthusiasten!

Nachhaltigkeit

Internationaler Preis für nachhaltiges Sanieren und Bauen in den Alpen: „Constructive Alps“ 2020; ÖPNV: Der Ort ist öffentlich mit dem Postauto von Locarno aus gut erreichbar, danach folgt ein zehnminütiger Abstieg bis zum Haus.

Details

Ort CH - Schweiz, Tessin, Mosogno
Name Casa Raslei
Lage An einem Steilhang im Onsernonetal unterhalb des Weilers Mosogno Sotto
Personenanzahl Max. 4 Personen. In den Sommermonaten gibt es zusätzlich 4 Futons für die Sommerhalle.
Fertigstellung 2018
Design Buchner Bründler Architekten , Basel
Veröffentlicht 2020 «Constructive Alps» als Themenheft der Schweizer Architekturzeitschrift Hochparterre; 2020 Buchner Bründler Architekten, Casa Mosogno; AIT, 3/2020; Casabella, Nr. 907, 03/2020; Umbauen + Renovieren; Hochparterre, 12/19; , db (Deutsche Bauzeitung) 03/2019; archithese, Juni-August 02 2019; Publikationen Buchner Bründler Bauten II; Arquitectura Viva, AV Monografias 237 (2021); u.v.m.
Besonderheiten Das Haus liegt nicht an der Strasse, es ist zuerst ein Abstieg von ca. 10 Minuten zu bewältigen. Parkplätze befinden sich entlang der Strasse in Mosogno. Für Gepäck und Einkäufe ist nach Voranmeldung ein Lastenzug nutzbar. Nur der Annex ist winterfest.
Auszeichnungen 
2020 AIT Award, Anerkennung Wohnen Single-Family, Casa Mosogno / 2020 Der beste Umbau 2020, Umbauen und Renovieren, Jurypreis Casa Mosogno / 2020 Premio SIA Ticino, edizione 2020, Menzione Casa Mosogno 2020 «Constructive Alps», internationaler Preis für nachhaltiges Sanieren und Bauen in den Alpen, Nominee Casa Mosogno / 2019 Die Besten 2019, Hochparterre, Anerkennung Architektur Casa Mosogno
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, See/Fluss, Wandern, Ohne Auto erreichbar

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    One Comment

    Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
    Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.