Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

GuestHouse 50

Lightness in Luxembourg: the transformed, historic townhouse proves how easily privacy and community can go hand in hand.
Just behind the city park, only one tram stop away from the city centre, lies Rue de Rollingergrund 50 – a single-family terraced house built in 1880, to which an extension with a passageway was added in the 1920s and which was used as a home and decoration shop. Instead of demolishing the ageing building and replacing it with a new one, it was completely renovated, the sandstone structure expertly restored and converted into two private guest appartments, an exhibition room and various workspaces. Supported and assisted by Luxembourg’s heritage protection authorities.
From the street, you have no idea what unusual layouts and rooms are hidden behind the façade. The house has a total of four storeys, which extend from the garden level via the ground floor to the second floor. To reach the studio, which was added later, there is a long passageway that extends into the rear courtyard. The two guest appartments are located on the first and second floors. Each of the 35 m² units is suitable for one to two people and consists of a simple but cosy living room, a small kitchen with a dining area, a bedroom with a double bed and a bathroom. The sofa can also be used as an additional double bed if required.
The minimalist furnishings and the combination of light colours, dark brown wooden fixtures and natural textures create a pleasant and timeless aesthetic. The light-coloured lime plaster is used both in the interior areas and on the façade. The interior of the studio has been insulated with reed grass and the surface has been plastered with clay.
A sauna is available to guests on the garden floor facing the courtyard and a kitchen counter with a slightly larger dining table for around 8 people on the ground floor. The inner courtyard and a conference room can also be hired if required. The other rooms on the ground floor are used as an exhibition space, a pop-up shop or for yoga classes, which guests are welcome to attend.

What to do

Discover the city and countryside: art, culture, cuisine and shopping - whether in the city centre, the Limpertsberg district with the National Theatre or the Kirchberg district with the European institutions, a visit to the Philharmonie, the Museum of Contemporary Art (Mudam), the National Library or LuxExpo, strolling, walking and jogging, various sports activities or hiking in the forests around the capital

Why we like this house

A townhouse with a very special atmosphere and exceptional communal areas.

This house is great for

Single travellers, couples and friends who want to visit and discover Luxembourg - whether for a weekend trip or longer stays

Sustainability

Preservation of the old building fabric, ecological insulation, various e-charging options nearby, public transport: the house is 10 minutes by tram from the main railway station (bus, train, tram/tram are free of charge throughout the country)

Owner picture

Owner

The architect Claudine Kaell and the artist, curator and art teacher Charles Wennig made a conscious decision in favour of preserving and appreciating the existing building fabric and wanted to breathe new life into the historic house with its special rooms. They themselves live and work nearby and are therefore at their guests' disposal.


Details

Region LU - Luxembourg, Luxembourg City
Name GuestHouse 50
Scenery Close to the historic centre
Number of guests 2 separate guest apartments for 2 persons each (optional there is a sofa bed for kids available)
Completed 1880 / 2023
Design Claudine Kaell, kaell architecte, Luxembourg
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation Apartment
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), Garden, Hiking, Meeting, Sauna, Urban, No car needed

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with a white background, the accommodation is still fully available. If an accommodation has more than one rentable unit, days with free capacities are shown with a light grey background. On days with a dark grey background, the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Comments

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
    For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR ist das führende Webportal für architektonisch beispielgebende Ferienhäuser. Wir geben auch preisgekrönten Coffeetable-Bücher heraus – diese sind im Buchhandel erhältlich und in unserem Shop.

Über uns

Was wir machen: ein besonderes Netzwerk für besondere Häuser.

Wie funktioniert Urlaubsarchitektur?

Wie Sie mit Urlaubsarchitektur Ihr Feriendomizil finden und wo Sie es buchen können.

Partner werden

Ihr Haus passt zu Urlaubsarchitektur? Zeit, dass wir uns kennenlernen!

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.


Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

GuestHouse 50

Leichtigkeit in Luxemburg: Das transformierte, historische Stadthaus beweist, wie unkompliziert Privatsphäre und Gemeinschaft ineinandergreifen können.
Gleich hinter dem Stadtpark, nur eine Straßenbahnhaltestelle vom Zentrum entfernt liegt die Rue de Rollingergrund 50 – ein 1880 erbautes Einfamilien-Reihenhaus, das in den 20er Jahren um einen Anbau mit Durchgang ergänzt und als Wohnhaus und Dekorations-Geschäft genutzt wurde. Anstatt das in die Jahre gekommene Gebäude abzureißen und durch einen Neubau zu ersetzen, wurde es ganzheitlich saniert, die Bausubstanz aus Sandstein fachmännisch restauriert und in zwei private Gästewohnungen, einen Ausstellungsraum sowie verschiedene Arbeitsräume umgebaut. Unterstützt und begleitet vom luxemburgischen Denkmalschutz.
Von der Straße aus ahnt man noch nicht, welche ungewöhnlichen Grundrisse und Räumlichkeiten sich hinter der Fassade verbergen. Das Haus verfügt insgesamt über vier Stockwerke, die sich vom Gartengeschoss über das Erdgeschoss bis in den zweiten Stock ziehen. Um das später angebaute Atelier zu erreichen, gibt es einen langen Durchgang, der sich in den Hinterhof erstreckt. Die zwei Gästewohnungen befinden sich in der ersten und zweiten Etage. Jedes der 35 m² großen Apartments eignet sich für ein bis zwei Personen und besteht aus einem einfachen, aber gemütlichen Wohnzimmer, einer kleinen Küche mit Essecke, einem Schlafzimmer mit Doppelbett und einem Bad. Das Sofa kann bei Bedarf auch als zusätzliches Doppelbett genutzt werden.
Durch die reduzierte Einrichtung und die Kombination aus hellen Farbtönen, dunkelbraunen Holzeinbauten und natürlichen Texturen entsteht eine angenehme und zeitlose Ästhetik. Der sehr helle Kalkputz findet sich sowohl in den Innenbereichen wie als Fassadenputz. Das Atelier hat eine Innendämmung aus Schilfgras bekommen, die Oberfläche wurde mit Lehm verputzt.
Im Gartengeschoss zum Hof steht den Gästen eine Sauna zur Verfügung und im Erdgeschoss eine Küchentheke mit einem etwas größeren Esstisch für ca. 8 Personen. Auch der Innenhof sowie ein Tagungsraum können bei Bedarf zusätzlich gemietet werden. Die weiteren Räume im Erdgeschoss werden mal als Ausstellungsraum, mal als Pop-up-Shop oder für Yoga-Kurse genutzt, zu deren Besuch die Gäste des Hauses herzlich eingeladen sind.

Was geht hier

Stadt und Land entdecken: Kunst, Kultur, Kulinarik und Shopping – ob im Zentrum, im Limpertsberg-Viertel mit dem Nationaltheater oder dem Kirchberg-Viertel mit den europäischen Institutionen, ein Besuch der Philharmonie, im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst (Mudam), in der Nationalbibliothek oder der LuxExpo, Flanieren, Spazieren und Joggen, diverse Sportangebote oder Wandern in den Wäldern rund um die Hauptstadt

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein Stadthaus mit ganz besonderer Atmosphäre und außergewöhnlichen Gemeinschaftsräumen.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Alleinreisende, Paare und Freund:innen, die Luxemburg besuchen und entdecken wollen – ob für den Wochenendtrip oder längere Aufenthalte

Nachhaltigkeit

Erhalt der alten Bausubstanz, ökologische Dämmung, diverse E-Lademöglichkeiten in der Nähe, ÖPNV: das Haus liegt 10 Min. mit der Straßenbahn vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt (Bus, Bahn, Tram/Straßenbahn sind im ganzen Land kostenfrei)

Gastgeber

Eigentümer

Die Architektin Claudine Kaell und der Künstler, Kurator und Kunstlehrer Charles Wennig haben sich bewusst für den Erhalt und die Wertschätzung der bestehenden Bausubstanz entschieden und wollten das historische Haus mit seinen besonderen Räumlichkeiten mit neuem Leben füllen. Sie selbst wohnen und arbeiten direkt in der Nähe und sind somit jederzeit für ihre Gäste erreichbar.


Details

Region LU - Luxemburg, Luxemburg-Stadt
Name GuestHouse 50
Lage direkt am Stadtzentrum
Anzahl Gäste 2 eigenständige Gästewohnungen für je 2 Personen (optional gibt es für Kinder ein Sofabett)
Fertigstellung 1880 / 2023
Design Claudine Kaell, kaell architecte, Luxemburg
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), Garten, Meeting, Sauna, urban, Wandern, Ohne Auto erreichbar

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch vollständig verfügbar. Hat eine Unterkunft mehr als eine vermietbare Einheit, werden Tage mit freien Kapazitäten mit hellgrau markiertem Hintergrund angezeigt. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Kommentare

    Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
    Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.