Latest opportunities – how to find a nice accommodation for the summer at the last minute

Your holiday is just around the corner and you haven’t booked any accommodation yet? No problem. Even shortly before the start of the summer holidays, there are still some holiday homes available on Urlaubsarchitektur. All you will need now is: flexibility, some spirit of adventure and our hints. And here’s how it works…

If you book at short notice in summer and want to find a nice place to stay, you should be flexible. This is in particular the case for the peak months of July and August. All of Europe is now in holiday mode and many of the popular destinations have been fully booked for quite some time. However, don’t be discouraged and discover new, unknown places instead. Switch to the adventure mode! Our calendar function will help you with your search:

Step 1: Select your travel period

Click on the symbol of the magnifying glass to open a search field. Enter your desired date here. After clicking on the magnifying glass again, you will be shown all the accommodation that is still available in the selected period. You can recognise this in the overview by the green dot and the note “available”. All accommodation with a black dot, i.e. “not available”, is occupied. We cannot make any statements about accommodation with a red dot. We do not have the occupancy data for these houses and you will have to make your own enquiries or look at the owners’ website.

Step 2: Be flexible

Not all accommodation providers rent from Saturday to Saturday. Sometimes there are other changeover days or gaps that allow you to stay a few days more or less. You increase your chances if you select the button “I’m flexible” in your search. Now you will also be shown accommodations that have free capacities in the period of +/- 5 days. To get more detailed information about the free periods of a specific house, go to its entry page and look at the respective occupancy calendar at the end of the page.

Step 3: Ignore the filters

Using our filter function you can choose what is important to you. Rather a vacation home than an apartment, best in the mountains, suitable for families, accessible without a car or with an e-charging station, modern architecture or rather a historical monument. For long-term vacation planning, these filters are very helpful, for short-term not promising. The only filter you should set in any case is the number of fellow travelers. This is most likely fixed. Otherwise, the rule is: exclude as little as possible.

Step 4: Switch to the adventure mode

You want to go to Tuscany – but instead found a beautiful apartment in Apulia? The Baltic Sea islands are your planned destination – but the idyllically situated brick house in the Mecklenburg Lake District invites you with many beautiful bathing lakes? And instead of a holiday home on the Mediterranean, why not travel to a castle with a landscaped park and a view of the Pyrenees? Discover places that were previously unknown to you or had never occurred to you as a holiday destination. Maybe a holiday in South Tyrol will spontaneously turn into a holiday in France, and instead of a holiday flat, you might choose a B&B. If the accommodation is more important to you than the destination, you will definitely increase your chances of finding a great getaway.

Even in the absolute peak season, you can find free accommodation on HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE. Sometimes it just involves a little luck, because other guests changed their travel plans. Our calendar function allows our partner houses to immediately indicate vacancies that have become available at short notice. Most of the time, however, these are quickly booked up again. So sometimes it can happen that the indicated availability is already taken after some minutes. All partners try to keep their booking data as up-to-date as possible.

We wish all of you who are still on the treasure hunt: good luck – and lots of wonderful new experiences.


Published: June 2022

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

© Annie Spratt, via Unsplash

Latest opportunities – wie Sie jetzt noch eine schöne Unterkunft für den Sommer finden

Ihr Urlaub steht vor der Tür und Sie haben noch keine Unterkunft gebucht? Kein Problem. Auch kurz vor Beginn der Sommerferien gibt es freie Ferienwohnungen oder -häuser bei Urlaubsarchitektur. Alles was Sie jetzt brauchen, ist: Flexibilität, ein bisschen Abenteuerlust und unsere Tipps. Und so geht es…

Wer im Sommer kurzfristig bucht und eine schöne Unterkunft haben möchte, muss flexibel sein. Das gilt besonders für die Hauptmonate Juli und August. Ganz Europa ist im Urlaubsmodus und beliebte Reiseziele sind oft langfristig ausgebucht. Verlieren Sie aber nicht den Mut, sondern entdecken Sie stattdessen neue, unbekannte Orte. Schalten Sie in den Abenteuermodus. Unsere Kalenderfunktion hilft Ihnen bei der Suche:

Schritt 1: Wählen Sie Ihre Reisezeit aus

Beim Klick auf die Lupe öffnet sich ein Suchfeld. Hier geben Sie Ihr gewünschtes Datum ein. Mit einem erneuten Klick auf die Lupe in der Suche werden Ihnen alle Unterkünfte angezeigt, die in diesem Zeitraum noch frei gemeldet sind. In der Übersicht erkennen Sie dies am grünen Punkt und dem Hinweis „verfügbar“. Alle Unterkünfte, die einen schwarzen Punkt haben, also „nicht verfügbar“ sind, sind belegt. Bei allen Unterkünften mit rotem Punkt können wir keine Aussage machen. Hier liegen uns die Belegungsdaten nicht vor und Sie müssen per Anfrage oder Blick auf die Betreiber-Website selbst recherchieren.

Schritt 2: Seien Sie flexibel

Nicht alle Partner vermieten von Samstag bis Samstag. Manchmal gibt es andere Wechseltage oder auch Lücken, die ein paar Tage mehr oder weniger zulassen. Sie erhöhen Ihre Chancen, wenn Sie bei Ihrer Suche auf den Button „Ich bin flexibel“ klicken. Jetzt werden Ihnen auch Unterkünfte angezeigt, die im Zeitraum von +/- 5 Tagen freie Kapazitäten haben. Um genauere Infos zu den freien Zeiten zu bekommen, schauen Sie im Eintrag auf den jeweiligen Belegungskalender der Partner.

Schritt 3: Ignorieren Sie die Filter

Über unsere Filterfunkton können Sie auswählen, was Ihnen wichtig ist. Lieber Ferienhaus als -wohnung, am besten in die Berge, geeignet für Familien, ohne Auto erreichbar oder mit E-Ladesäule, moderne Architektur oder lieber ein Baudenkmal. Für langfristige Urlaubsplanungen sind diese Filter sehr hilfreich, für kurzfristige nicht erfolgsversprechend. Den einzigen Filter, den Sie auf jeden Fall setzen sollten, ist die Anzahl der Mitreisenden. Diese steht höchstwahrscheinlich fest. Ansonsten gilt: so wenig wie möglich ausschließen.

Schritt 4: Schalten Sie in den Abenteuermodus

Sie wollen in die Toskana – aber Sie finden ein wunderschönes Apartment in Apulien? Die Ostseeinseln sind ihr geplantes Ziel – aber das idyllisch gelegene Backsteinhaus in der Mecklenburger Seenplatte lockt mit vielen schönen Badeseen? Und statt einem Ferienhaus am Mittelmeer könnten Sie doch auch zu einem Schloss mit Landschaftspark und Blick auf die Pyrenäen reisen? Entdecken Sie Orte, die Ihnen vorher unbekannt oder nie als Urlaubsort in den Sinn gekommen sind. Vielleicht wird spontan aus einem Südtirol- ein Frankreichurlaub und statt einer Ferienwohnung ein B&B. Wem die Unterkunft wichtiger ist als das Reiseziel, erhöht so die Chancen auf einen schönen Urlaub.

Selbst in der absoluten Hochsaison finden Sie freie Unterkünfte auf Urlaubsarchitektur. Manchmal braucht es auch einfach nur ein bisschen Glück, weil andere Gäste stornieren mussten. Unsere Kalenderfunktion ermöglicht unseren Partnerhäusern kurzfristig frei gewordene Zeiten sofort anzugeben. Meist sind diese dann aber auch schnell wieder weg. Seien Sie bitte also nachsichtig, wenn frei angegebene Zeiten schon belegt sind. Alle Partner versuchen, ihre Belegungsdaten so aktuell wie möglich zu halten.

Wir wünschen allen, die noch suchen: viel Erfolg – und viele neue und einzigartige Erlebnisse.


Veröffentlicht: Juni 2022

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.