Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

The Green Henry Lodge

Visionary architecture in the style of classic modernism: since 1977, the Green Henry Lodge in the wine-growing village of Fläsch in the Grisons has been rising into the mountain air like a church tower. An avant-garde holiday home with a thoroughly sustainable perspective.

The idyllic village of Fläsch is not only the northernmost municipality in the Bündner Herrschaft and known for its high density of outstanding winegrowers, but also one of the most ecologically progressive villages in Switzerland. One of its pioneers was the chemist and passionate environmentalist Heinrich “Henry” Büchi, who in 1976 commissioned one of the most important representatives of post-war modernism in Graubünden, the architect Max Kasper, to build a timeless detached house.

Nestled between vineyards and spectacular mountain peaks, the Green Henry Lodge with its distinctive architecture is a landmark of the region to this day and its name reflects its philosophy. The natural building materials, from exposed concrete and masonry to untreated wood, terracotta floors and ceramic tiles, speak for themselves. Even though the tall house is visually on a par with the imposing church tower in Fläsch, the straightforward and minimalist archetype blends in harmoniously with the village landscape. The west-facing façade is reminiscent of a castle and is characterised by small windows that capture the view over the rural scenery like picture frames.

Inside, maximum living space is deliberately avoided in order to convey a feeling of space and size with high, permeable rooms. The colour concept, which is based on Corbusier, sets out a clear distinction between scarlet and rust-red utility rooms in the basement and fir-green and midnight-blue living spaces on the first and second floors. In addition to the cosy eat-in kitchen and dining room, there is a light-flooded living room with a Swedish stove overlooking the Rhine Valley, a spacious TV room as well as a double bedroom on the ground floor. There are three further bedrooms on the first floor, one of which has a gallery.

As the Green Henry Lodge can accommodate up to eleven people in total, it is particularly suitable for large families and groups. In the basement there is a hobby and fitness room with a piano for sporting and musical excursions. A partly covered terrace and a spacious, mostly wild garden with various seating areas offer the opportunity to contemplate nature, the weather and the night sky at any time. A sparkling experience, as the village’s special energy-saving concept allows the countless stars to shine all the clearer and brighter.

What to do

Hiking, biking, mountaineering and skiing (e.g. Pizol, Flumserberg, Malbun, Flims Laax) Wine tasting, fine dining, wellness, a visit to the Lichtenstein Art Museum or the Bündner Art Museum in Chur, Pfäfers Abbey Church, Tamina Gorge, Sargans Castle, an excursion to the neighbouring Heidi village in Maienfeld, to the famous spa town of Bad Ragaz or to the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Why we like this house

Bold, green architecture - a building that was ahead of its time in many ways.

This house is great for

Families of friends and groups - nature and wine lovers will find plenty to enjoy here

Sustainability

Connected to the Fläsch heating network, supplied with heat from the wood heating centre (wood chips), e-charging station 3 km away, public transport: by train to Bad Ragaz and further by post bus (approx. 10 min.)


Details

Region CH – Switzerland, Grisons, Fläsch
Name The Green Henry Lodge
Scenery In the village next to the church, between vineyards and mountain scenery
Number of guests Max. 11 in 4 bedrooms
Completed 1977 / 2023 (renovation)
Design Max Kasper; Renovierung: Kristin Müller, Ryf Partner Architekten, Zürich
Architecture Modern, Modern classic
Accomodation House
Criteria 8+ (house/apartment), Family, Garden, Hiking, Mountains, Skiing, Wine, No car needed
thegreenhenrylodge.ch

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with white background the accommodation is still available. On days with dark gray background the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

thegreenhenrylodge.ch

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR ist das führende Webportal für architektonisch beispielgebende Ferienhäuser. Wir geben auch preisgekrönten Coffeetable-Bücher heraus – diese sind im Buchhandel erhältlich und in unserem Shop.

Über uns

Was wir machen: ein besonderes Netzwerk für besondere Häuser.

Wie funktioniert Urlaubsarchitektur?

Wie Sie mit Urlaubsarchitektur Ihr Feriendomizil finden und wo Sie es buchen können.

Partner werden

Ihr Haus passt zu Urlaubsarchitektur? Zeit, dass wir uns kennenlernen!

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.


Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

The Green Henry Lodge

Visionäre Architektur im Stil der klassischen Moderne: Seit 1977 ragt die Green Henry Lodge im Graubündner Weinbaudörfchen Fläsch wie ein Kirchturm in die Bergluft. Ein avantgardistisches Ferienhaus mit konsequent nachhaltiger Perspektive.

Das malerische Fläsch ist nicht nur die nördlichste Gemeinde der Bündner Herrschaft und für seine hohe Dichte an hervorragenden Winzer:innen bekannt, sondern auch eines der ökologisch fortschrittlichsten Dörfer der Schweiz. Zu seinen Vordenkern zählt der Chemiker und passionierte Umweltschützer Heinrich „Henry“ Büchi, der 1976 einen der wichtigsten Graubündner Vertreter der Nachkriegsmoderne, den Architekten Max Kasper mit dem Bau eines zeitlosen Einfamilienhauses beauftragte.

Bis heute ist die zwischen endlosen Weinreben und spektakulären Berggipfeln gelegene Green Henry Lodge mit ihrer konsequenten Architektur ein Wahrzeichen der Region und ihr Name Programm. Denn die natürlichen Baustoffe von Sichtbeton und geschlämmtem Mauerwerk über unbehandeltes Holz bis hin zu Terrakotta-Böden und Keramikkacheln sprechen für sich. Auch wenn sich das hoch gebaute Haus optisch mit dem imposanten Fläscher Kirchturm misst, fügt sich der geradlinige und aufs Wesentliche reduzierte Archetyp gut in das Dorfbild ein. Die Richtung Westen ausgerichtete Fassade erinnert an eine Burg und ist geprägt von kleinen Fenstern, die wie Bilderrahmen den Blick über die Landschaft einfangen.

Im Inneren wird bewusst auf maximale Wohnfläche verzichtet, um mit hohen, durchlässigen Räumen ein Gefühl von Weite und Größe zu vermitteln. Das Farbkonzept, das an Corbusier angelehnt ist, unterscheidet zwischen scharlach- und rostroten Hauswirtschaftsräumen im Untergeschoss und tannengrünen und nachtblauen Wohnräumen im ersten und zweiten Stock. Neben der gemütlichen Wohnküche und dem Esszimmer gibt es im Erdgeschoss ein lichtdurchflutetes Wohnzimmer mit Schwedenofen, das über das Rheintal blickt, ein großes Fernsehzimmer sowie ein Doppelzimmer. Im ersten Stock finden sich drei weitere Schlafzimmer, eines davon mit Galerie.

Da in der Green Henry Lodge insgesamt bis zu elf Personen Raum und Auszeit finden, eignet sie sich besonders für Großfamilien und Gruppen. Im Untergeschoss gibt es einen Hobby- und Fitnessraum mit Klavier für sportlich-musikalische Ausflüge. Eine teils überdachte Terrasse und ein weitläufiger, größtenteils naturbelassener Garten mit verschiedenen Sitzplätzen bieten zu jeder Zeit Gelegenheit, die Natur, das Wetter und den Nachthimmel zu betrachten. Ein funkelndes Erlebnis, denn das besondere Energiesparkonzept des Dorfes lässt die unzähligen Sterne umso klarer und heller leuchten.

Was geht hier

Wandern, Biken, Bergsteigen und Skifahren (z. B. Pizol, Flumserberg, Malbun, Flims Laax) Weindegustation, Fine Dining, Wellness, ein Besuch des Kunstmuseums Lichtenstein oder des Bündner Kunstmuseums Chur, Klosterkirche Pfäfers, Taminaschlucht, Schloss Sargans, ein Ausflug in das benachbarte Heididorf in Maienfeld, in den bekannten Kurort Bad Ragaz oder ins Fürstentum Liechtenstein.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Kühne und grüne Architektur – ein Haus, das in allen Facetten der Zeit vorausgedacht hat.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Großfamilien, befreundete Familien und Gruppen – Natur- und Weinliebhaber:innen kommen hier besonders auf ihre Kosten

Nachhaltigkeit

Angeschlossen an den Wärmeverbund Fläsch, Versorgung mit Wärme aus der Holzheizzentrale (Holzschnitzel), E-Ladestation 3 km entfernt, ÖPNV: mit der Bahn bis Bad Ragaz und weiter mit dem Postauto (ca. 10 Min.)


Details

Region CH - Schweiz, Graubünden, Fläsch
Name The Green Henry Lodge
Lage Im Dorf neben der Kirche, zwischen Weinreben und Bergkulisse
Anzahl Gäste Max. 11 in 4 Schlafzimmern
Fertigstellung 1977 / 2023 (Renovierung)
Design Max Kasper; Renovierung: Kristin Müller, Ryf Partner Architekten, Zürich
Architektur Klassische Moderne, modern
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, Familie, Garten, Skifahren, Wandern, Wein, Ohne Auto erreichbar
thegreenhenrylodge.ch

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch verfügbar. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

thegreenhenrylodge.ch

0 Kommentare

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.