Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Umgebinde 1657

Umgebinde 1657

A testimony to Saxon history made of sandstone and half-timbering: situated on a sunny slope in Saxon Switzerland, just a few metres from the Elbe, this cultural gem, renovated with great attention to detail and energy efficiency, offers its visitors two holiday apartments to discover the impressive Elbe Sandstone Mountains.
Built in 1657 by village craftsmen, the historic building is an outstanding example of Umgebinde architecture, which after the 30-year war combined half-timbered and log construction. In the process, the log room was “tied around” by a supporting framework, which gives the building its name. After many years of vacancy, the forgotten house was renovated and equipped with a sustainable concept and contemporary comfort.
The smaller Steinbrecherstube (stone-breaker’s parlour) is suitable for two people and offers an open-plan kitchen/living room with cast-iron stove and reading bunk on the upper floor of the house. In the bedroom under the roof, guests can enjoy a wide view of the fascinating rock formations and forests. On the hillside there is also a log sauna for regeneration after long hiking or cycling tours, as well as a wash tub filled with warm spring water. The larger Elbschifferhaus (the skipper’s house) can accommodate a maximum of eleven guests and is suitable for families and friends – from the rustic log parlour with tiled stove to the inviting walnut tree on the terrace and the large garden as well as the four bedrooms. A private sauna in the former goat barn completes the feel-good experience.
While you can explore the area with great strides, the Umgebinde 1657 focuses on the smallest possible ecological footprint: loam walls, sandstone floors and wooden floorboards radiate warmth, heating is provided by geothermal energy as well as wood from its own forest, and most of the electricity comes from the roof.

What to do

Hiking and mountaineering (over 1,200 km of signposted hiking trails), cycling (Elbe cycle path), mountain biking, via ferratas, boating, exploring caves, a visit to the countless castles and fortresses (Königstein Fortress, Stolpen Castle, Hohnstein Castle) and historic towns in the area (Pirna and Dresden), wellness (Bad Schandau spa).

Why we like this house

A remarkable cultural treasure, carefully renovated with great attention to sustainability and comfort.

This house is great for

Couples, families & friends

Sustainability

Sustainable construction with exclusively ecological building materials, heating with geothermal energy and self-sourced wood, photovoltaic system and green electricity, regional furniture, furnishings and products, use of well water and rainwater; e-charging points, public transport: arrival by train (Bad Schandau long-distance train station or Krippen train station), arrival by bus (Alte Schule bus stop), arrival by paddle steamer (Bad Schandau bus stop).


Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657
Umgebinde 1657

Details

Region DE – Germany, Saxony, Saxon Switzerland, Bad Schandau
Name Umgebinde 1657
Scenery On a sunny slope in the village
Number of guests Max. 13 in 2 holiday flats (Steinbrecherstube 2, Elbschifferhaus 11 guests)
Completed 1657, renovation 2021
Design Leonhard Satlow, Ohorn
Published Salon Magazine (Edition #38, February 2024)
Architecture Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 8+ (house/apartment), Family, Garden, Lake/river, Mountains, Sauna, EV-charging station, No car needed
umgebinde1657.de

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with a white background, the accommodation is still fully available. If an accommodation has more than one rentable unit, days with free capacities are shown with a light grey background. On days with a dark grey background, the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

umgebinde1657.de

One Comment

Thomas Schönburg sagt:
Gastfreundschaft auf höchstem Niveau. Ankommen, Staunen, Wohlfühlen! Die perfekte und außergewöhnlich umfangreiche Ausstattung, die liebevolle und durchdachte Einrichtung, die aufmerksame und herzliche Kommunikation mit dem Vermieter per Mail und Telefon sowie natürlich die Aura dieses über 350 Jahre alten großartig und aufwändig restaurierten Hauses haben uns restlos begeistert. Eine der schönsten Bewertungen die wir als Vermieter eines Ferienhauses auf der Insel Rügen je bekommen haben, möchten wir hier in etwas abgewandelter Form weitergeben, weil wir es einfach nicht besser ausdrücken könnten: Wahre, aufrichtige, von Herzen kommende Gastfreundschaft drückt sich dadurch aus, dass Gäste in einem fremden Haus das Gefühl haben, engste Freundinnen oder Freunde hätten ihnen ihr Haus überlassen. Eben so haben wir uns im Umgebindehaus gefühlt. Das ist besonders, das ist bemerkenswert! Vielen Dank!
Translate comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Umgebinde 1657

merken

Ein Zeugnis Sächsischer Geschichte aus Sandstein und Fachwerk: An einem Sonnenhang in der Sächsischen Schweiz gelegen, nur wenige Meter von der Elbe entfernt, bietet das mit viel Liebe zum Detail und zur Energieeffizienz sanierte Kulturgut seinen Besuchern zwei Ferienwohnungen zum Entdecken des eindrucksvollen Elbsandsteingebirges.
1657 von Dorfhandwerkern erbaut, ist das historische Gebäude ein herausragendes Beispiel für die Umgebinde-Architektur, die nach dem 30-jährigen Krieg Fachwerk- und Blockbauweise kombinierte. Dabei wurde die Blockstube von einem stützenden Tragwerk „umbunden“, was dem Gebäude seinen Namen verleiht. Nach langjährigem Leerstand wurde das vergessene Haus saniert und mit einem nachhaltigen Konzept sowie zeitgemäßem Komfort ausgestattet.
Die kleinere Steinbrecherstube eignet sich für zwei Personen und bietet im Obergeschoss des Hauses eine offene Wohnküche mit Gussofen und Lesekoje. Im Schlafzimmer unter dem Dach erwartet die Gäste ein weiter Ausblick auf die faszinierenden Felsformationen und Wälder. Am Hang gibt es zudem eine Blockbohlensauna zur Regeneration nach langen Wander- oder Radtouren sowie einen mit warmem Quellwasser gefüllten Waschzuber. Das größere Elbschifferhaus bietet Platz für maximal elf Personen und eignet sich für Familien und Freunde – von der urigen Blockstube mit Kachelofen über den einladenden Walnussbaum auf der Terrasse und den großen Garten bis zu den vier Schlafzimmern. Eine eigene Sauna im einstigen Ziegenstall macht das Wohlfühlen komplett.
Während man mit großen Schritten die Gegend erkunden kann, setzt das Umgebinde 1657 auf einen möglichst kleinen ökologischen Fußabdruck: Lehmwände, Sandsteinböden und Holzdielen strahlen Wärme aus, geheizt wird mit Erdwärme sowie Holz aus dem eigenen Wald und der Strom kommt größtenteils vom Dach.

Was geht hier

Wandern und Bergsteigen (über 1.200 km ausgeschilderte Wanderwege), Fahrradfahren (Elbradweg), Mountainbiken, Klettersteige, Boot fahren, Höhlen erkunden, ein Besuch der unzähligen Burgen und Schlösser (Festung Königstein, Burg Stolpen, Burg Hohnstein) und historischen Städte in der Umgebung (Pirna und Dresden), Wellness (Therme Bad Schandau).

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein besonderes Kulturdenkmal, sensibel saniert mit Anspruch an Nachhaltigkeit und Komfort.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

(Groß-)Familien, Freunde

Nachhaltigkeit

Nachhaltige Bauweise mit ausschließlich ökologischen Baustoffen, Beheizung mit Geothermie und eigenem Holz, Photovoltaik-Anlage und Ökostrom, regionale Möbel, Ausstattung und Produkte, Nutzung von Brunnen- und Regenwasser, E-Ladepunkte, ÖPNV: Anreise mit dem Zug (Fernbahnhof Bad Schandau oder Bahnhof Krippen), Anreise per Bus (Haltestelle Alte Schule), Anreise per Schaufelraddampfer (Haltestelle Bad Schandau).

Details

Ort DE - Deutschland, Sachsen, Sächsische Schweiz, Bad Schandau
Name Umgebinde 1657
Lage An einem Sonnenhang im Ort
Personenanzahl Max. 13 in 2 Ferienwohnungen (Steinbrecherstube 2, Elbschifferhaus 11 Gäste)
Fertigstellung 1657, Sanierung 2021
Design Leonhard Satlow, Ohorn
Veröffentlicht Reportagen des MDR-Sachsenspiegels und der Sächsischen Zeitung; verschiedene lokale Veröffentlichungen;
Architektur alt & neu, Baudenkmal - alt
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-6 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-8 (Haus/Wohnung), 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, Familie, Garten, Sauna, See/Fluss, E-Ladestation, Ohne Auto erreichbar
umgebinde1657.de

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

umgebinde1657.de

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.