Villa Benkemoun

Holidays in the 70s: Villa Benkemoun, on the outskirts of the southern French city of Arles, is an architectural icon from the 1970s. It was once the home of the parents of writer and journalist Brigitte Benkemoun. Together with her husband Thierry Demaizière, she renovated the building and now makes it available as a holiday home and for cultural events.

Built by the architect Emile Sala in the early 1970s, the villa is a sculptural structure with organic forms: curves and counter-curves define the floor plan and create a dynamic environment with circular and elliptical rooms and a Y-shaped living room. The rooms are arranged around a patio and open onto the expansive garden. Despite its modernity, the building still makes reference to local traditions: its tower is an allusion to Provençal dovecotes.

The interior design is just as unique as the architecture, with an extravagant chimney cowl by artist Max Sauze and floors by ceramist Guy Bareff. In the round dining room the walls have been covered with cork once more, just as they used to be. The furnishings, which have remained almost unchanged for 45 years, have been refurbished and supplemented with additional pieces from the period. With round shapes, the typical colours, patterns and materials, the whole house reflects the attitude to life of that time.

This spacious villa features a large living room, dining room, kitchen and five bedrooms (all with private bathrooms). It is surrounded by a one hectare garden – complete with a terrace, pool and pool house.


What to do

Contemporary photography festivals in July, Luma Arles, museums, excursions to the Carmague (horse riding), Alpilles (15/20 km), beach (30 km), very good restaurants

Why we like this house

The house and its interior are a homage to the seventies: you feel like you're on the set of an old James Bond film. 

This house is great for

For architecture and design lovers. For holidays with friends or family (but not recommended for small children).


Details of the property

Region/Town: FR – France, Provence, Arles

Name: Villa Benkemoun

Scenery: On a wide private property 5 km from Arles

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: Max. 10 adults and 2 children (in 5 bedrooms each with private bathroom)

Architecture: Modern classic

Completed: 1974, 2017

Design: Emile Sala; Interior design: Robert Heams, Max Sauze, Guy Bareff; Interior design (2017): Thierry Demaiziere

Published: AIT 4/2020, Art et décoration (1974) Elle décoration (2019), GAZETTE DROUOT 7/2019


0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Villa Benkemoun

Zu Besuch in den Siebzigern: Die Villa Benkemoun am Stadtrand der südfranzösischen Stadt Arles ist eine Architekturikone aus den 1970er-Jahren. Sie ist das Elternhaus der Schriftstellerin und Journalistin Brigitte Benkemoun. Zusammen mit ihrem Ehemann Thierry Demaizière hat sie das Gebäude renoviert und stellt es nun der Öffentlichkeit als Feriendomizil sowie für kulturelle Veranstaltungen zur Verfügung.

Die vom Architekten Emile Sala Anfang der 1970er-Jahre gebaute Villa ist ein skulpturales Bauwerk mit organischen Formen: Kurven und Gegenkurven bestimmen den Grundriss und kreieren eine dynamische Umgebung mit kreisförmigen und elliptisch geformten Räumen und einem Y-förmigen Wohnzimmer. Die Räume sind um einen Patio angeordnet und öffnen sich zum weitläufigen Garten. Bei aller Modernität nimmt der Bau dennoch Bezug auf lokale Traditionen: Sein Turm ist eine Anspielung an die provenzalischen Taubenhäuser.

Außergewöhnlich wie die Architektur ist auch die Innenausstattung mit einer extravagante Kaminhaube vom Künsteler Max Sauze oder Böden vom Keramiker Guy Bareff. Im runden Esszimmer wurden die Wände wieder originalgetreu mit Kork verkleidet. Die Einrichtung, die 45 Jahre lang fast unverändert geblieben ist, wurde aufgearbeitet und mit weiteren Stücken aus der Zeit ergänzt. Mit runden Formen, den typischen Farben, Mustern und Materialien spiegelt sich im ganzen Haus das Lebensgefühl der damaligen Zeit wider.

Die sehr geräumige Villa verfügt über einen großen Wohnraum, Esszimmer, Küche und fünf Schlafzimmer (alle mit eigenem Bad).  Sie ist von einem einen Hektar großen Garten – mit Terrasse, Pool und Poolhaus – umgeben.


Aktivitäten

Festivals für zeitgenössische Fotografie im Juli, Luma Arles, Museen, Ausfüge in die Carmague (Reiten), Alpilles (15/20 km), Strand (30 km), sehr gute Restaurants

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Haus und Interieur sind eine Hommage an die Seventies: Hier fühlt man sich wie am Film-Set für einen alten James-Bond-Film. 

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Ein Haus für Architektur- und Designliebhaber. Für Urlaub mit Freunden oder Familie (für Kleinkinder jedoch nicht empfohlen).


Details zum Objekt

Ort: FR - Frankreich, Provence, Arles

Name: Villa Benkemoun

Lage: Auf einem weitläufigen Privatgrundstück 5 km von Arles entfernt

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Max. 10 Erwachsene und 2 Kinder (in 5 Schlafzimmern mit je eigenem Bad)

Architektur: Klassische Moderne

Fertigstellung: 1974, 2017

Design: Emile Sala; Innendesign: Robert Heams, Max Sauze, Guy Bareff; Innendesign (2017): Thierry Demaiziere

Veröffentlicht: Häuser 4/2020, Gael Maison 4/2020, AIT 4/2020, Art et décoration (1974) Elle décoration (2019), GAZETTE DROUOT 7/2019


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.