Anti-Wellness, wonderful: The Tannerhof

By Ulrich Stefan Knoll, August 2019

 

When a holiday destination stays with you long after you’ve visited, but you can’t quite pinpoint why – well, then it’s quite possible that you’ve been to visit the Tannerhof in Bayrischzell, Upper Bavaria. And it may be a sign that you should start trusting your instincts.

In my defence, the Tannerhof nature hotel and health resort isn’t entirely innocent in this matter – something its owners freely admit themselves. Because the Tannerhof is, quite deliberately, not designed to be “easy to digest”. And it certainly isn’t your standard hotel.

As its description suggests, the Tannerhof offers a broad range of health and wellness treatments. But you can also enjoy all the comforts of a “normal” hotel. So many things coexist here – not just Kneipp therapy and herbal schnapps – that you’ll simply have to experience it for yourself to realise that such diversity really is possible, and makes perfect sense, though perhaps only here.

Burgi von Mengershausen & Roger Brandes. Credit: © Rainer Hoffmann

How we want to live

Your host couple Burgi von Mengershausen and Roger Brandes, both medical doctors, have realised their own personal vision for the hotel: “There are certainly people who find the Tannerhof a bit silly. That’s the way we wanted it. We also think some things are silly! But all that means is that we’ve created a space, which is open and free, and which we’ve put lot into. There are hotels out there that are clear-cut and simple – and utterly boring. And then there’s the Tannerhof.
Their self-assured confidence is free from any hint of a need for recognition or even arrogance – which will become clear when you get to know them. In fact, this sense of confidence is an essential element of the hotel’s ethos. Healing requires inner clarity and awareness. Burgi and Roger know this only too well; it informs their own lives and the hospitality they offer their guests.

“Man, become your essence”: The transformation and durability of an idea

What the Tannerhof most certainly is not: a hotel geared to please the zeitgeist and the mainstream. That was never the case – as evidenced by the property’s history, and that of its owners. “Back to nature” was the maxim adhered to by the first generation of owners in 1904. As part of the 19th-century Lebensreform movement, which stood against the negative consequences of industrialisation, the physician Christian von Mengershausen and his wife Barbara acquired the farm and founded a sanatorium for natural healing methods.

Credit: © Tilman von Mengershausen
Credit: © Miro Weber
Credit: © Tilman von Mengershausen
Credit: © Rainer Hoffmann

Over the years and decades, the property was adapted where necessary to suit the respective circumstances of the period. And, of course, each generation has its distinct priorities; additions and alterations have also been made here and there. Over the course of a century, an ensemble of buildings emerged, which now resembles a miniature mountain village in its own right. Its centrepiece is the original, centuries-old farmhouse, the “Alte Tann”. This building was joined in 1905 by a second house, the “Neue Tann”, as well as by the first generation of “Lufthütten”. Over the years, a sauna, the “Badehaus” (bathhouse), a studio, a swimming pool, a rock pond, and the “Waschhaus” (washhouse), which today serves as a seminar and event room, were progressively added.

Throughout these 115 years, the Tannerhof has always remained true to itself and its philosophy, despite its further development – in accordance with the words of Silesius: “Man, become your essence.”

Credit: © Florian Nagler Architekten
Credit: © Bettina Krugsperger

Tannerhof reloaded

By the time Burgi and Roger took on the property in 2004, it had become eminently clear that a running the property as a conventional health resort would not work under the prevailing German health care system. As early as 1989, the Health Care Reform Act had instated far-reaching reforms affecting the spa industry, which were exacerbated by the trend towards new, fashionable wellness products. Classical and proven naturopathic treatments – as they have been practiced at the Tannerhof for many years – have unfairly earned the reputation of being old-fashioned and out-dated. Moreover, the situation was worsened by the dismantling and increased bureaucratisation of the traditional health treatment system.

The “new” Tannerhof thus began to take shape in the minds of its new owners by 2007, in collaboration with Munich architect Florian Nagler. And in 2011, after a nine-month reconstruction process, the property underwent an amazing transformation without betraying its traditional ideals in the slightest. The new arrangement found its expression in a far-reaching architectural revision of its architectural heritage combined with selected, modern additions.

New alpine architecture

The main objectives of the Tannerhof’s reorientation as a modern hotel and sanatorium were to create an architectural bracket for the already existing buildings and to increase its capacity for overnight accommodation in such a way that it could continue to be economically sustainable. Hence, the time-honoured “Alte Tann” was not only freed of its unnecessary ballast, but was transformed back into an Einfirsthof (single-roof farm). Eight new and spacious “Almzimmer” (alpine rooms) were built in an extension to the building.

Credits: © Ann-Kathrin Singer / Rainer Hoffmann
Credits: © Ann-Kathrin Singer / Florian Nagler Architekten
Credit: © Ann-Kathrin Singer
Credit: © Ann-Kathrin Singer

The connecting passage leading to the bathhouse was turned into a light-flooded space and dubbed “the Orangerie”. Here you will now also find a lounge complete with a fireplace. And the rooms of the Baumallee, arranged on the level above, have been completely renovated.

© Vera Prinz
© Vera Prinz
© Rainer Hoffmann

The most iconic and certainly most well-known aspect of the renovation are the four modern, shingle-clad “Hüttentürme” (“Chalet Towers”), a modern interpretation of the retreat spaces embodied by the surrounding original “Lufthütten” (detached or semi-detached cottages) built in 1905.

To keep the Tannerhof’s spaces as open and light-filled as possible, the new buildings – in contrast to their historical counterparts – emerge vertically out of the landscape and offer three rooms each stacked on top of the other. Wooden surfaces, floor-to-ceiling glazing, and views of the mountain scenery offer guests who don’t mind not staying in the main building a private retreat in which they can find peace and quiet.

© Rainer Hoffmann
© Rainer Hoffmann
© Ann-Kathrin Singer
© Florian Nagler Architekten

Both its new and old buildings now ensure a refined, warm and high-quality atmosphere – with premium natural materials, reduced furnishings, and no alpine kitsch in sight.

© Burgi von Mengershausen
© Yvonne Aschoff

So what does it feel like now?

Before you even enter the reception when you arrive, you will spot the ceiling beam in the entrance hall of the “Alte Tann” – the Tannerhof’s centrepiece. “When you enter this house / leave your titles at the door / you come here only as a human being / before God there is no greater honour.” Or as I like to think of it: take yourself seriously, but not too seriously. A fitting motto for your time spent here!

Newcomers have the option of taking a guided tour of the building before dinner. Taking this opportunity will make sense of the room arrangements and introduce you to the farm’s history and heritage. And yet, sooner or later the farm’s unique spirit and atmosphere will reveal itself to you without the need for comment: like a gentle smile, it pervades this space with its blend of friendly and personal service, peaceful ambience, and thoughtful architecture – unobtrusive yet ever-present in all its corridors, halls, rooms and parlours. It will leave you in a blissful state of calm, quiet, introspective and cheerful serenity.

Finally, you’ll have time to unwind, reflect and enjoy good conversations – at the dinner table or by the fireplace. Each space is awash with a fresh alpine breeze, imbued with a sense of freedom, and accompanied by views of the surrounding landscape of Bavaria’s Wendelstein region. The crowning glory of the day for food-lovers will inevitably be the evening menu. It’s not just organic and regionally sourced – how could it be anything else – but it’s prepared according to the “slow food” ethos. Chef Nico Sator offers his guests a new menu every day; so you’ll eat what’s on the table. You won’t regret not being spoilt for choice for once, I promise.

© Ann-Kathrin Singer
© Nico Sator

If you like, you can enjoy a quiet holiday with health treatments and devote yourself entirely to casting off your physical and mental burdens. You’re sure to see the term “consultation session” in a whole new light. Because here, listening to you is their first priority.

© Stephan Pramme

In view of its mission, the Tannerhof is a sincere and earnest place – but it is by no means overly solemn. This is ensured by its selection of artworks: sometimes integrated here and there, sometimes filling entire corridors. These are sure to make you smile and will inspire you to stop and think.

Erwin Wurm’s “Self-portrait as a Pickled Cucumber”, for example. Or the “Leitzachtal Photo Edition” by photographer Christopher Thomas, for which Gerhard Polt, a veteran of Bavarian cabaret, wrote the accompanying commentary in his distinctive subtly humorous style. It’s weird, wonderful, and pleasantly thought provoking!

© Roger Brandes

Speaking of listening: the in-house cultural programme always offers inspiring concerts and readings. These are complemented by regularly changing exhibitions, vernissages, and plenty of opportunities to get active and be creative yourself.

And if you’re still not sure – as of spring 2019, the Tannerhof has been welcoming outside guests to its restaurant “Pool”. Here you can taste its chefs’ delicious creations, and enjoy the atmosphere of the Tannerhof free of any obligations!

Overview: Here you can find all our HomeStories at a glance! If you want to stay up to date, you can opt-in for our HomeStory-Newsletter here.


0 Comments

Zu diesem Beitrag gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Über Ihr Feedback würden wir uns freuen.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Anti-Wellness, wunderbar: Der Tannerhof

Logo UA homestory

Von Ulrich Stefan Knoll, August 2019

 

Wenn einen eine Destination nicht loslässt und man sie dennoch rational nicht vollständig durchdringen kann: Dann war man, erstens, möglicherweise im Tannerhof im oberbayerischen Bayrischzell zu Gast. Und sollte, zweitens, vielleicht endlich lernen, seinem Bauchgefühl zu vertrauen.

Zu meiner Entschuldigung darf ich vorwegschieben, dass das Naturhotel und Gesundheits-ressort auch aus Sicht der Betreiber selbst nicht ganz unschuldig an der Verwirrung ist. Denn der Tannerhof ist – ganz bewusst – nicht leicht rezipier- und konsumierbar. Und damit alles andere als ein Allerweltshotel. Es gibt hier natürlich, der Namenszusatz verrät es, zuallererst ein großes Angebot rund um die Gesundheit. Aber eben auch, wenn man so will, einen „normalen“ Hotelbetrieb. Auch sonst koexistiert Vieles, nicht nur Kneipp-Kur und Kräuterschnaps, derart harmonisch, dass Sie eigentlich selbst da gewesen sein müssen, um zu erleben, dass eine derartige Vielfalt – vielleicht nur hier – möglich wie sinnvoll ist.

Burgi von Mengershausen & Roger Brandes. © Rainer Hoffmann

Wie wir leben wollen

Das Ärzte- und Gastgeberpaar Burgi von Mengershausen und Roger Brandes haben ihren eigenen Kosmos einmal selbst so auf den Punkt gebracht: „Es gibt ganz bestimmt Leute, die den Tannerhof doof finden. Das soll ja auch so sein. Wir finden ja auch manche Sachen blöd. Dass soll aber heißen: es gibt hier einen Ort, der so offen und frei ist, dass eben sehr viel hineingeht. Es gibt Orte und Hotels, die sind sehr klar und deutlich und höllisch langweilig. Und es gibt den Tannerhof“.

Ein selbstbewusster Satz, der – so man die beiden persönlich kennenlernt – jeden Hauch von übersteigertem Geltungsbedürfnis oder gar Arroganz sofort verliert. Wobei: Selbstbewusstsein im gesunden, weil im besten Wortsinn ist ein ganz wesentlicher Aspekt der Arbeit vor Ort. Heilung bedarf innerer Klarheit und eines Bewusstseins bzw. einer Bewusstwerdung. Das weiß das Medizinerpaar nur zu gut, lebt es selbst vor und gemeinsam mit seinen Gästen.

Mensch, werde wesentlich: Vom Wandel und der Beständigkeit einer Idee

Was ihr Tannerhof ganz entschieden nicht ist: auf Zeitgeist und Mainstream getrimmt. Das bedingt schon die Geschichte des Hauses und seiner Betreiber. „Zurück zur Natur“ hieß es 1904 für die erste Generation. Als Teil der Lebensreform-Bewegung, die sich gegen die negativen Folgen der Industrialisierung wandte, erwarben der Arzt Christian von Mengershausen und seine Frau Barbara seinerzeit den Hof und begründeten ein Sanatorium für naturgemäße Heilverfahren.

© Tilman von Mengershausen
© Miro Weber
© Tilman von Mengershausen
© Rainer Hoffmann

Über die Jahre und Jahrzehnte hat sich das Haus und sein Kurbetrieb zwar den jeweiligen Umständen der Zeit, wo nötig, angepasst. Und natürlich hat jede Generation eigene programmatische Schwerpunkte gesetzt; auch baulich erfolgten hie und da An- und Umbauten. Über ein Jahrhundert hinweg ist so ein Kosmos an Gebäuden entstanden, der wie ein eigenes Bergdorf im Miniaturformat anmutet. Nukleus der Anlage ist das jahrhundertealte Herzstück, die „Alte Tann“. Zu ihr gesellten sich 1905 mit der „Neuen Tann“ ein zweites Haus sowie die 1. Generation von „Lufthütten“. Dazu kamen über die Jahre ein Saunahaus, das Badehaus, ein Atelier, ein Schwimmbad, ein Felsenbad und das Waschhaus, welches heute als Seminar- und Veranstaltungsraum dient.

So ist der Tannerhof in summa trotz aller Weiterentwicklungen sich und seinen Überzeugungen über die vergangenen 115 Jahre immer treu geblieben, ganz nach der Maxime von Silesius: „Mensch, werde wesentlich!“

© Florian Nagler Architekten
© Bettina Krugsperger

Tannerhof reloaded

Spätestens als die aktuelle Generation um Burgi von Mengershausen und Roger Brandes 2004 die Verantwortung übernahm, war klar, dass ein herkömmlicher Kurbetrieb unter den mittlerweile herrschenden Bedingungen im Gesundheitssystem in eine No-Win-Situation führen würde.

Bereits 1989 hatten sich mit dem Gesundheitsreformgesetz einschneidende Änderungen für den Kurbetrieb angekündigt, die durch den Trend allerorten aus dem Boden spriessender, neumodischer Wellnessangebote noch verschärft wurde. Klassische und bewährte Naturheilverfahren, wie sie auf dem Tannerhof seit langem praktiziert wurden, gerieten zu unrecht in den Ruf, altbacken und überholt zu sein. Aufgrund des Rückbaues und der zunehmenden Bürokratisierung des traditionellen Kursystems verschärfte sich diese Situation zusehends.

So nahm der „neue“ Tannerhof bereits ab 2007 in den Köpfen der Betreiber und in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Münchner Architekten Florian Nagler Gestalt an. Und hat 2011 nach einer neunmonatigen Umbauphase eine erstaunliche Wandlung erfahren, ohne seine tradierten Ideale auch nur im Geringsten zu verraten. Äußeren Ausdruck fand die Neuaufstellung in einer weitgreifenden, architektonischen Überarbeitung des historischen Bestandes sowie punktuellen, modernen Ergänzungen.

Neue alpine Architektur

Wesentliche Ziele der Neuausrichtung zum Hotel und Sanatorium waren, eine architektonische Klammer für die bereits existierenden Gebäude zu schaffen und die Kapazität der Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten derart zu erhöhen, dass ein wirtschaftlicher Betrieb weiterhin möglich sein würde. So wurde die altehrwürdige „Alte Tann“ nicht nur von unnötigem Ballast befreit, sondern auch wieder zum Einfirsthof zurückverwandelt. Durch eine Aufstockung entstanden acht neue ‚Almzimmer’.

© Ann-Kathrin Singer / Rainer Hoffmann
© Ann-Kathrin Singer / Florian Nagler Architekten
© Ann-Kathrin Singer
© Ann-Kathrin Singer

Der Übergangsbereich zum Badehaus wurde mit einer vorgelagerten Orangerie überzeugend geschlossen. In diesem Bereich fand auch das Kaminzimmer seinen Platz. Die Zimmer der darüber gelegenen Baumallee wurden bei dieser Gelegenheit ebenfalls komplett saniert.

© Vera Prinz
© Vera Prinz
© Rainer Hoffmann

Ikonischster und sicherlich bekanntester Teil der Erneuerung sind die vier modernen, schindelverkleideten Hüttentürme, eine moderne Interpretation des Rückzugsraumes wie sie bereits die umliegenden „Lufthütten“ anno 1905 darstellten. Um die Versiegelung so gering wie möglich zu halten, entwickeln sich die neuen Gebäude im Gegensatz zu den historischen Pendants allerdings ins Vertikale und bieten jeweils drei übereinander gestapelte Zimmer. Hölzerne Oberflächen, raumhohe Verglasung und Ausblicke in die Berglandschaft umher lassen alle diejenigen wunderbar zur Ruhe kommen, denen es nichts ausmacht, nicht direkt im Haupthaus zu logieren.

© Rainer Hoffmann
© Rainer Hoffmann
© Ann-Kathrin Singer
© Florian Nagler Architekten

Alle Neu- wie Altbauten kommen seitdem mit einer reduzierten, warmen und wertigen Atmosphäre daher – in qualitativ hochwertigen Naturmaterialien, reduziert und garantiert ohne Alpenkitsch.

© Burgi von Mengershausen
© Yvonne Aschoff

Und wie fühlt sich das jetzt alles an?

Noch ehe man nach Ankunft die Rezeption betritt, fällt der Blick auf den Deckenbalken in der Eingangshalle der Alten Tann, dem Herzstück des Anwesens. „Trittst du ein in dieses Haus / lass’ Titel Würden nur heraus / als Mensch zu Menschen kommst du hier / vor Gott gibt’s keine größere Zier“. Oder frei, in meiner Interpretation: nimm’ dich selbst ernst, aber mach’ dich nicht wichtiger als du bist. Ein passendes Motto für die kommenden Tage!

Noch vor dem Abendessen besteht für Neuankömmlinge die Gelegenheit zur Hausführung. Man tut gut daran, diese wahrzunehmen. So erschließen sich die räumlichen Zuordnungen schneller und man nähert sich der Geschichte wie dem Geist des Hauses zusehends. Wobei sich die besondere Atmosphäre auch ohne jegliche Kommentierung früher oder später bemerkbar macht: wie ein feines Lächeln schwebt sie unsichtbar als Mischung aus freundlichem, sehr persönlichen Service, der Ruhe des Ortes und der bedachten Architektur unaufdringlich, aber omnipräsent durch alle Flure, Hallen, Zimmer und Stuben. Und hinterlässt eine ernsthafte, stille, in sich gekehrte, heitere Stimmung.

Endlich herrscht Zeit für Muse, Kontemplation, gute Gespräche – zu Tisch oder im Kaminzimmer. Alles durchweht von einer frischen Alpenbrise, einem Gefühl von Freiheit und unter dem Eindruck der umgebenden Natur rund um den Wendelstein. Krönender Abschluss des Tages für alle Nicht-Faster ist das abendliche Menü. Das, wie könnte es anders sein, nicht nur „bio und regional“, sondern auch „slow“ daherkommt. Auch typisch Tannerhof: Küchenchef Nico Sator kocht für seine Gäste jeden Tag ein Menü. Gegessen wird also, was auf den Tisch kommt. Sie werden es nicht bereuen, ausnahmsweise einmal nicht die Qual der Wahl zu haben.

© Ann-Kathrin Singer
© Nico Sator

Wenn man möchte, kann man sich hier im Urlaub in aller Ruhe in ärztliche Behandlung begeben, Anwendungen nehmen, sich endlich sich selbst widmen und – körperlichen wie seelischen – Ballast abwerfen. Die Begrifflichkeit der „Sprechstunde“ werden Sie hier sicher neu erfahren. Denn hier wird zuallererst gut zugehört. 

© Stephan Pramme

Der Tannerhof ist also aufgrund seiner Bestimmung durchaus ein Ort großer Ernsthaftigkeit, aber ein Hort der Strenge ist er beileibe nicht. Dafür sorgen alleine schon die zahlreichen Kunstwerke, die manchmal eingestreut, manchmal ganze Flure bespielend zum Schmunzeln und Nachdenken anregen.

Erwin Wurms „Selbstportrait als Essiggurke“ beispielsweise. Oder die großformatige Fotoreihe „Leitzachtal“ des Fotografen Christopher Thomas, welche Gerhard Polt, Urgestein des bayerischen Kabaretts, mit seinem hintersinnigen Humor eigens für den Tannerhof kommentiert hat. Das ist schräg, das ist schön und kitzelt angenehm!

© Roger Brandes

Apropos zuhören: Das hauseigene Kulturprogramm bietet immer wieder besonders hautnahe Konzerte und inspirierende Lesungen. Dazu gesellen sich regelmäßig wechselnde Ausstellungen, Vernissagen sowie Möglichkeiten, selbst aktiv und kreativ zu werden.

Falls Sie sich noch nicht sicher sein sollten, was Sie vom Tannerhof halten: Seit Frühjahr 2019 lädt der Tannerhof mit dem Restaurant Pool auch externe Gäste zum Menü ein. So können Sie nicht nur die exzellenten Küchenkreationen genießen, sondern live und noch ganz unverbindlich die Tannerhof-Atmosphäre erkunden!

Übersicht: Hier finden Sie alle HomeStories auf einen Blick! Falls Sie monatlich auf dem Laufenden bleiben wollen, können Sie hier unseren HomeStory-Newsletter abonnieren.


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Beitrag gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Über Ihr Feedback würden wir uns freuen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.