Casa2020

Staying at Casa2020 means spending your holiday in a former monastery— at Convento das Bernardas in the coastal town of Tavira in the Portuguese Algarve. The Pritzker Prize winner Eduardo Souto de Moura converted the more than 500-year-old monument, built in late Gothic style, into an apartment complex. The secluded monastery atmosphere has been preserved; however, openings in the historic walls have brought more light into the interior. An inner courtyard was created by extending the east wing. Together with an area in the north with stone paving and trees that is reminiscent of the former cloister and a palm-tree lined saltwater pool (20×20 m) in the south, this forms the centre of the property.

Casa2020 Tavira in the west wing of the complex is accessed via the inner courtyard. The layout of the 100 sqm accommodation unit, which extends over three levels, is based on the structure of the former cells. On the ground floor there is a bedroom and bathroom, on the first floor the living room with a kitchenette. A sculptural wooden staircase leads to the mezzanine level above with an open sleeping area and a second bathroom. A skylight provides additional light. The furniture was designed by Eduardo Souto de Moura. The warm colours of the wood and the typical Algarve stone tiles combined with white walls create a peaceful ambience—in keeping with the former purpose of the building.


What to do

Convento das Bernardas is located close to the Gilão River and the ancient Tavira Salt pans that are part of the protected Ria Formosa Natural Park. The historical town centre with restaurants, bars and shops is just a few minutes' walk away. Other activities include hiking, cycling, walks, boat tours through the lagoon landscape of the Ria das Formosa and playing golf. A short boat ride takes you to the beaches of the island of Tavira.

Why we like this house

Modern living in a historical monastery atmosphere! Casa 2020 Tavira in the Convento das Bernardas spans five centuries: it combines historical architecture, traditional materials and contemporary design. The highlight is the pool in the inner courtyard.

This house is great for

Couples and families.


Details of the property

Region/Town: PT – Portugal, Algarve, Tavira

Name: Casa2020 Tavira

Scenery: Just a few minutes walk from the old town, near the river Gilão and the salt lakes

Accommodation: Apartment

Number of guests: Max. 4

Architecture: Old & new, Listed building - old

Completed: 1509, 2012

Design: Eduardo Souto de Moura

Published: in various publications about Souto de Moura;

Special Features: The inner courtyard with pool is available to all residents of the apartment complex


Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Casa2020

merken

In der Casa2020 macht man Urlaub in einem ehemaligen Kloster – dem Convento das Bernardas in der Küstenstadt Tavira an der portugiesischen Algarve. Der Pritzker-Preisträger Eduardo Souto de Moura hat das über 500 Jahre alte, im spätgotischen Stil errichtete Monument zu einer Apartmentanlage umgebaut. Die zurückgezogene Klosteratmosphäre blieb bewahrt; durch Öffnungen in den historischen Mauern wurde jedoch mehr Licht in die Innenräume geholt. Durch die Erweiterung des Ostflügels wurde ein Innenhof geschaffen. Mit einem mit Steinpflaster und Bäumen an den früheren Kreuzgang erinnernden Bereich im Norden und einem 20×20 Meter großen, von Palmen flankierten Salzwasserpool im Süden bildet dieser das Zentrum der Anlage.

Die Casa2020 Tavira im westlichen Flügel des Komplexes wird über den Innenhof betreten. Die sich über drei Ebenen erstreckende, 100 Quadratmeter große Wohneinheit orientiert sich an der Struktur der früheren Klosterzellen. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich ein Schlafzimmer und Badezimmer, im ersten Stock der Wohnraum mit Küchenzeile. In das darüber liegende Halbgeschoss mit offenem Schlafbereich und einem weiteren Bad führt eine skulpturale Holztreppe. Ein Oberlicht sorgt für zusätzlichen Lichteinfall. Die Möbel wurden von Eduardo Souto de Moura entworfen. Die Kombination der warmen Farben des Holzes und der typischen Steinfliesen der Algarve mit den weißen Wänden führt zu einem ruhigen Ambiente – passend zu der früheren Bestimmung des Gebäudes.

Aktivitäten

Das Convento das Bernardas liegt nahe dem Fluss Gilão und den Salzseen, die zum Landschaftsschutzgebiet Ria das Formosa gehören. In wenigen Minuten gelangt man zu Fuß in das historische Stadtzentrum mit Restaurants, Bars und Geschäften. Spaziergänge, Wanderungen, Radtouren, Bootstouren durch die Lagunenlandschaft der Ria das Formosa, Golfen. Die Strände der Insel Tavira sind nur eine kurze Bootsfahrt entfernt. 

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Modernes Wohnen in historischer Klosteratmosphäre! Die Casa 2020 Tavira im Convento das Bernardas spannt einen Bogen über fünf Jahrhunderte: sie vereint historische Architektur, traditionelle Materialien und zeitgenössisches Design. Highlight ist der Pool im Innenhof.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Für Paare und Familien.

Details

Ort PT - Portugal, Algarve, Tavira
Name Casa2020 Tavira
Lage Wenige Gehminuten von der Altstadt, nahe dem Fluss Gilão und den Salzseen
Personenanzahl Max. 4
Fertigstellung 1509, 2012
Design Eduardo Souto de Moura
Veröffentlicht in diversen Publikationen über Souto de Moura;
Besonderheiten Der Innenhof mit Pool steht allen Bewohnern der Apartmentanlage zur Verfügung
Architektur alt & neu, Baudenkmal - alt
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Meer, Pool, Strand, urban, Wein
Gleicher GastgeberCasa1015
Gleicher ArchitektCasa1015

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    Ein Kommentar

    1. Architectural masterpiece to find peace and relaxation – Absolutely beautiful apartment.
      The apartment was spacious, stylish and very clean. In a very calm and relaxing atmosphere. The renovation of the convent is really cool. The place itself is amazing (the pics don‘t lie), the location is great as well (the center of Tavira is within easy walking distance) and the convent is just next door to the main market in Tavira with tonnes of fab local produce that we cooked up.
      Check-in / -out was handled very professionally and in a flexible way.
      All worked perfectly well, the host was very nice and helpful and offered lots of tips to explore the surroundings.
      Thank you for the fantastic stay. Would definitely stay here again.
      Wholeheartedly recommended.
      Kommentar übersetzen

    Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
    Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.