Chasa Tuoretta

Amidst contemplative mountain scenery high above the river Inn sits the sunlit village of Ardez, whose architectural culture tells of times gone by. The modern Chasa Tuoretta draws on traditional architecture and is inspired by one of the region’s oldest building forms: the medieval residential tower. A reminiscence of craftsmanship in symbiosis with contemporary design.

Even before entering the picturesque village centre with its sgraffito-decorated Engadine houses, visitors are greeted by the striking ruins of Steinsberg Castle, which towers stoically over the village. It is the historical model for Chasa Tuoretta, the private residence and holiday home on the edge of the village, which looks out over lush green to snow-covered meadows, dense forests and impressive peaks as the seasons change.

The square-shaped building with living rooms arranged one above the other follows not only the structure but also the construction method of the former residential towers: Built with 60 cm thick monolithic bricks and lime plaster on the outside, it is largely constructed of wood on the inside. The sparse window openings with their funnel-shaped reveals and patterned sliding shutters face the landscape and the Steinsberg Castle.

The house comprises two independent two-storey units. While the lower maisonette is inhabited by the architect family itself, the upper one is available as a holiday home. In addition to the two double bedrooms, which are reminiscent of modernly interpreted parlours, there is a spacious living and dining area with a kitchen, cosy armchairs and an open fireplace. The black-tiled bathroom under the roof features a small sauna. The apartment has its own small terrace in the garden.

What to do

In summer: hiking, mountaineering, biking and climbing. In winter: Snow hiking and tobogganing, the versatile winter sports area of Scuol can be reached in a few minutes by train or car, there is a children's ski lift and an artificial ice track right in the village. At any time of year: a walk to the Steinsberg castle ruins, an excursion to the Swiss National Park or to the surrounding villages of Sent and Guarda, the homeland of the Swiss children's book classic Schellen-Ursli.

Why we like this house

A refuge in touch with nature and a unique contribution to the architectural culture of the Lower Engadine.

This house is great for

Four people - whether as a couple, family or with friends.

Sustainability

Public transport: Ardez can be reached by the Rhaetian Railway.

Details

Region/Town CH – Switzerland, Lower Engadine, Ardez
Name Casa Touretta
Scenery In a panoramic mountain location high above the Inn River
Number of guests Max. 4
Completed 2021
Design Michael Niedermann (architect), St. Gallen
Architecture Modern
Accomodation Apartment
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Family, Garden, Hiking, Lake/river, Mountains, Sauna, No car needed
www.tuoretta.ch

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in white are available for bookings

Request/Booking

www.tuoretta.ch

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Chasa Tuoretta

merken

Inmitten kontemplativer Bergwelten hoch über dem Inn liegt das sonnenbeschienene Dorf Ardez, dessen Baukultur von vergangenen Zeiten erzählt. Auch das moderne Chasa Tuoretta greift auf traditionelle Architektur zurück und orientiert sich an einer der ältesten Bauformen der Region: dem mittelalterlichen Wohnturm. Eine Reminiszenz an das Handwerk in Symbiose mit zeitgenössischem Design.
Noch bevor man in den pittoresken Dorfkern mit seinen Sgraffito-verzierten Engadiner Häusern eintaucht, werden die Besucher:innen von der markanten Schlossruine Steinsberg begrüßt, die stoisch über dem Örtchen thront. Sie ist das historische Vorbild des Wohn- und Ferienhauses Chasa Tuoretta, das am Rande des Dorfes liegt und im Wandel der Jahreszeiten auf sattgrüne bis tiefverschneite Wiesen, dichte Wälder und eindrucksvolle Gipfel blickt.
Das gemauerte Gebäude mit quadratischem Grundriss und übereinander angeordneten Wohnräumen folgt nicht nur der Struktur, sondern auch der Bauweise der einstigen Wohntürme: Außen mit 60 cm dickem monolithischem Backstein und Kalkverputz gemauert, ist es innen weitgehend aus Holz konstruiert. Die sparsamen Fensteröffnungen mit den trichterförmigen Leibungen und den gemusterten Schiebeläden sind auf die Landschaft und die Burg Steinsberg gerichtet.
Das Haus umfasst zwei doppelgeschossige und autarke Wohnungen. Während die untere Maisonette von der Architektenfamilie selbst bewohnt wird, steht die obere als Ferienwohnung zur Verfügung. Neben den zwei Doppelschlafzimmern, die an modern interpretierte Stuben erinnern, gibt es einen großzügigen Wohn- und Essbereich mit Küche, gemütlichen Sesseln und offenem Kamin. Das unter dem Dach liegende, schwarzgeflieste Bad verfügt über eine kleine Sauna. Zur Wohnung gehört eine eigene kleine Terrasse im Garten.

Was geht hier

Im Sommer: Wandern, Bergsteigen, Biken und Klettern. Im Winter: Schneewandern und Schlitteln, das vielseitige Wintersportgebiet Scuol ist mit der Bahn oder dem Auto in wenigen Minuten erreichbar, direkt im Dorf gibt es einen Kinderskilift sowie eine Kunsteisbahn. Zu jeder Jahreszeit: Ein Spaziergang zur Burgruine Steinsberg, ein Ausflug in den Schweizer Nationalpark oder in die umliegenden Dörfer Sent und Guarda, dem Ursprung des Schweizer Kinderbuchklassikers Schellen-Ursli.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein naturverbundenes Refugium und ein Beitrag zur Baukultur des Unterengadins.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Vier Personen – ob als Paar, Familie oder mit Freunden.

Nachhaltigkeit

ÖPNV: Ardez kann mit der Rhätischen Bahn erreicht werden.

Details

Ort CH - Schweiz, Unterengadin, Ardez
Name Casa Touretta
Lage In alpiner Panoramalage hoch über dem Inn
Personenanzahl Max. 4
Fertigstellung 2021
Design Michael Niedermann (Architekt), St. Gallen
Architektur modern
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Berge, Familie, Garten, Sauna, See/Fluss, Wandern, Ohne Auto erreichbar
www.tuoretta.ch

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.tuoretta.ch

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.