Der Birkenhof

Fieldstone barn from the outside, inside a loft. High, bright rooms behind thick stone walls, modern steel stairs in front of clay-plastered walls and plank floors made of local pine next to bathrooms with a concrete look. Cosy farmhouse romance meets an urban attitude to life here. Two of the buildings on the three-sided farm, typical of the area, are rented out as holiday homes. The farmhouse offers 200 square metres of space for up to eight people. Cooking is on the ground floor, living is in the attic with a cosy fireplace. Opposite, in the former stable building, only the historic capped ceilings and exposed steel beams remind of the original use. A professional kitchen is waiting for cooking enthusiasts on the ground floor and the 100-square-metre, 5-metre-high room in the attic can be used as a meeting room, yoga studio or simply as a very spacious living room.

Both houses have a private patio area. The spacious outdoor areas are for all guests and it is only a short walk to the historic farmers’ garden, the meadow orchards or the chicken and duck runs. Fresh eggs, home-grown fruit and vegetables, herbs from the garden make the farm feeling perfect and guests become self-sufficient. The garden sauna with a view of the endless expanse makes the feel-good programme complete.

With the Birkenhof, architect Stefan Zielonkowski has created his own dream of living in the countryside. When renovating the buildings, he followed the principle of “adding the new without covering the old”. Superfluous extensions were demolished and old structures exposed. Large windows provide beautiful views of nature, and wall heating as well as clay plastered walls ensure a good indoor climate – in summer and winter. At the same time, the Birkenhof is self-sufficient in energy. It is heated with wood from its own forest and the solar cells on the roof combined with a battery storage system provide so much electricity that guests can charge their e-cars for free during the day. And if you don’t want to bring your car, you can walk five minutes to the nearest train station and be in Berlin in 1.5 hours.

What to do

Enjoying the sauna, hiking, cycling, swimming in lakes, picking mushrooms, excursions to Szczecin, the ruins of the Chorin Monastery, the Schorfheide Biosphere Reserve, the Oder River and the Szczecin Lagoon;

Why we like this house

A masterful transformation of an old farmhouse into a modern, sustainable holiday dwelling.

This house is great for

Families, friends, small groups

Sustainability

Arrival without car: train station within five minutes walking distance, charging possibility for e-cars at the house, energy self-sufficiency with solar power;

Owner picture

Owner

From bar entrepreneur in Berlin's trendy Friedrichhain district to farm owner in the Uckermark region. Architect Stefan Zielonkowski is living a childhood dream. He was looking for a farm, accessible without a car, with woods, meadows and lakes in the vicinity and, as a minimum structural requirement, "not in danger of collapsing". When a stork crossed his path on his first exit at the station in Petershagen, he immediately started his Uckermark adventure and fortunately shares it with his guests.

Details

Region/Town DE – Germany, Brandenburg, Uckermark, Petershagen
Name Der Birkenhof
Scenery In small village, surrounded by meadows, a fruit and vegetable garden and a small birch grove.
Number of guests Max. 14: 8 guests in the farmhouse, 6 guests in the former stable
Completed Built in 1880 - renovation 2020
Design Stefan Zielonkowski (architect), Berlin
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), 1-6 (house/apartment), 1-8 (house/apartment), 8+ (house/apartment), Apartments combinable, Family, Garden, Hiking, Lake/river, Pet-friendly, Sauna, Workation, EV-charging station, No car needed
birkenhof-uckermark.com

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

birkenhof-uckermark.com

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Der Birkenhof

merken

Außen Feldsteinscheune, innen Loft: der Birkenhof im nordöstlichsten Teil der Uckermark überrascht mit seinen inneren Werten. Hohe, helle Räume hinter dicken Steinmauern, moderne Stahltreppen vor lehmverputzten Wänden und Dielenböden aus einheimischen Kiefern neben Badezimmern in Betonoptik. Gemütliche Bauernhofromantik trifft hier auf ein urbanes Lebensgefühl. Zwei der Gebäude der für die Gegend typischen Dreiseithof-Anlage werden als Ferienhäuser vermietet. Das Bauernhaus bietet auf 200 qm bis zu acht Personen Platz. Gekocht wird im Erdgeschoss, gewohnt im Dachgeschoss mit gemütlichem Kaminofen. Gegenüber im ehemaligen Stallgebäude erinnern nur die historischen Kappendecken und frei liegende Stahlträger an die ursprüngliche Nutzung. Im Erdgeschoss wartet eine Profiküche auf kochbegeisterte Gäste und im Dachgeschoss ein 100qm großer und 5 Meter hoher Raum auf vielfältige Nutzungen als Meetingraum, Yogastudio oder einfach nur geräumiges Wohnzimmer.

Beide Häuser haben einen privaten Terrassenbereich. Die weitläufigen Außenflächen sind für alle Gäste und es ist nur ein kurzer Weg in den historischen Bauergarten, zu den Streuobstwiesen oder Hühner- und Entengehegen. Frische Eier, Obst und Gemüse aus Eigenanbau, Kräuter aus dem Garten machen das Bauernhofgefühl perfekt und man wird zum Selbstversorger. Die Gartensauna mit Blick in die endlose Weite rundet das Wohlfühlprogramm ab.

Der Architekt Stefan Zielonkowski hat sich mit dem Birkenhof einen eigenen Traum vom Leben auf dem Land geschaffen. Bei der Sanierung der Gebäude folgte er dem Prinzip „Neues hinzufügen, ohne das Alte zu überdecken“. Überflüssige Anbauten wurden abgerissen und alte Strukturen freigelegt. Große Fenster geben schöne Ausblicke in die Natur und eine Wandheizung und die lehmverputzten Wänden sorgen für ein gutes Raumklima – im Sommer und Winter. Dabei ist der Birkenhof energieautark. Geheizt wird mit Holz aus dem eigenen Wald und die Solarzellen auf dem Dach kombiniert mit einem Batteriespeicher sorgen für so viel Strom, dass Gäste tagsüber ihr E-Auto kostenlos aufladen können. Und wer kein Auto hat, läuft fünf Minuten zum nächsten Bahnhof und ist in 1,5 Stunden in Berlin.

Aktivitäten

Saunieren, Wandern, Radfahren, in Seen baden, Pilze sammeln, Ausflüge nach Stettin, zur Klosterruine Chorin, ins Biosphärenreservat Schorfheide, zur Oder und zum Stettiner Haff;

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Eine gelungene Transformation eines alten Bauernhofs in ein modernes, nachhaltiges Feriendomizil.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Familien, Freunde, kleine Gruppen

Nachhaltigkeit

Anreise ohne Auto: Bahnhof in fünf Minuten zu Fuß erreichbar, Auflademöglichkeit für E-Autos am Haus, Eigenversorgung mit Solarstrom;

Gastgeber

Eigentümer

Vom Barbetreiber im Berliner Szenebezirk Friedrichhain zum Bauernhofbesitzer in der Uckermark. Der Architekt Stefan Zielonkowski lebt einen Kindheitstraum. Gesucht hat er einen Bauernhof, ohne Auto erreichbar, mit Wald, Wiesen und Seen in der Umgebung und als bauliche Mindestanforderung „nicht einsturzgefährdet“. Als beim ersten Ausstieg am Bahnhof in Petershagen ein Storch seinen Weg kreuzte, startete er sofort sein Abenteuer Uckermark und teilt dieses glücklicherweise mit Gästen.

Details

Ort DE - Deutschland, Brandenburg, Uckermark, Petershagen
Name Der Birkenhof
Lage In kleinem Dorf, umgeben von Wiesen, Obst- und Gemüsegarten und einem kleinem Birkenhain
Personenanzahl Max. 14: 8 Gäste im Bauernhaus, 6 Gäste im ehemaligen Stall
Fertigstellung Erbaut 1880 – Sanierung 2020
Design Stefan Zielonkowski (Architekt), Berlin
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-6 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-8 (Haus/Wohnung), 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), Wohnungen kombinierbar, Familie, Garten, mit Hund, Sauna, See/Fluss, Wandern, Workation, E-Ladestation, Ohne Auto erreichbar
birkenhof-uckermark.com

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

birkenhof-uckermark.com

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.