Huberhaus

Anyone who wishes to spend his holidays in a historic architectural monument can take a short trip back in time within the Huberhaus in the village of Eggen in the Upper Valais. The Huberhaus is a traditional alpine log house built in the 16th century. The old balconies, the soapstone stove in the living room and the creaking floors have all retained the traditional charm of an old timber house – despite the new kitchen and bathroom. People were shorter in those days: the ceiling height in the living room is just 1.88 meters. All the other rooms have normal room heights. The only source of heat is the wood-burning stove!  It doesn’t get much cosier than this, even if occasionally one of the guests does have to duck a little.

You enter the Huberhaus through the kitchen in the back of the house.To the front, facing south, is the living room and above it a bedroom. The northern part of the house could not be preserved and was replaced by a new extension. This annex includes the bathroom on the ground floor and a second bedroom on the upper floor.

The house is run by the foundation Ferien im Baudenkmal, a project of the Swiss Heritage Society at the interface of tourism and monument preservation. The foundation presents other houses on its homepage ferienimbaudenkmal.ch.

What to do

The Huberhaus is located about 2 km from the village Bellwald. Here you find all facilities for daily needs (grocery store, post office, bank) as well as various tourist facilities (restaurant, tourist information, sports shop). There are a variety of sports and cultural activities and in the area various attractions such as the UNESCO World Heritage Aletsch, the Binntal and Goms with its traditional villages.

Why we like this house

Here you live almost like in former times - but with modern amenities.

This house is great for

Lovers of historical buildings, families. Dogs are allowed.

Details

Region/Town CH – Switzerland, Oberwallis, Weiler Eggen
Name Huberhaus
Scenery in a small hamlet in the Alps
Number of guests 4 people (plus 1 child up to 2 years)
Completed built in the 16th century, restored 2008
Design Bernhard Stucky, mls-architekten.ch, Zermatt
Published GEO Saison Extra - Travel with children 2017
Architecture Historical, Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Hiking, Mountains, Pet-friendly
Same PartnerTüralihus
ferienimbaudenkmal.ch

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in white are available for bookings

Request/Booking

ferienimbaudenkmal.ch

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Huberhaus

Wer seine Ferien gern in einem historischen Baudenkmal verbringen möchte, kann im Huberhaus im Oberwallis eine kleine Zeitreise machen: Das Huberhaus ist ein traditioneller, alpiner „Strickbau“ aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Die alten Balken, der Specksteinofen in der Stube und die knarrenden Böden vermitteln trotz neuer Küche und neuem Bad noch den ursprünglichen Charme alter Holzhäuser. Früher waren die Menschen kleiner: Die Deckenhöhe in der Stube beträgt nur 1,88 Meter, alle anderen Räume verfügen über normale Raumhöhen. Geheizt wird nur mit dem Holzofen! Vier Personen finden hier Unterschlupf, auf 1500 Höhenmetern im Weiler Eggen. Gemütlicher geht es kaum, auch wenn der ein oder andere Gast den Kopf einziehen muss.

Das Haus wird betrieben von „Ferien im Baudenkmal“ einem Projekt des Schweizer Heimatschutzes an der Schnittstelle von Tourismus und Denkmalpflege. „Ferien im Baudenkmal“ stellt auf seiner Homepage magnificasa.ch noch weitere Häuser vor.

Hinweis: Aufgrund eines Brandschadens wird das Huberhaus 2018 renoviert und ist erst ab 2019 wieder zu mieten.

Lesen Sie zum Thema „Ferien im Baudenkmal“ auch unsere


Aktivitäten

Das Huberhaus liegt ca. 2 km vom Ort Bellwald entfernt. Hier befinden sich sämtliche Einrichtungen für den täglichen Bedarf (Lebensmittelladen, Post, Bank) sowie verschiedene touristische Einrichtungen (Restaurant, Touristinformation, Sportgeschäft). Es gibt ein vielfältiges Sport- und Kulturangebot und in der Umgebung verschiedene Sehenswürdigkeiten wie das UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe Aletsch, das Binntal und Goms mit seinen traditionellen Dörfern.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Hier lebt man fast wie früher – doch mit modernen Annehmlichkeiten.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: CH - Schweiz, Oberwallis, Weiler Eggen

Name: Huberhaus

Lage: Bellwald, alpin

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: Bis zu 5 Personen.

Architektur: Baudenkmal - alt, historisch, alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 2008 (Umbau)

Design: Bernhard Stucky, mls-architekten.ch, Zermatt

Veröffentlicht: GEO Saison Extra - Reisen mit Kindern 2017


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.