Every room is a flowery artwork: Baixa House

By Ulrich Stefan Knoll

Lisbon is not only the political and economic centre of Portugal but also often referred to as the “City of Light”. As if that wasn’t reason enough to travel there, the sun shines 300 days a year, and the city and its surroundings are rich in sights and cultural offers. Right in the centre, more precisely in the Baixa quarter in the middle of the protected old town and hence very close to famous places, as for example the Praça do Comércio square on the banks of the Tejo river, URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR has had a favourite holiday accommodation for many years: Baixa House.

13 individual apartments await the guest, located in a historic, Pombaline-style, XVIIIth century building, which combines late-baroque with neo-classicism. The building has a façade that is distinguished by its blue azulejo tiles, an unmistakeable mark of Portuguese identity. Its refurbishment—completed in 2011—is the work of Portuguese architect José Adrião in close cooperation with its proprietor, Spanish landscape architect Jesús Moraime, and the interior designers Javier Carrasco and Juan de Mayoralgo.

© Ana Paula Carvalho
© Ana Paula Carvalho

Since the construction of the building in the late 18th century, there have been numerous changes that have significantly modified the original character of its components. The project strategy decided upon was therefore to accept its existing heterogeneous character. The intervention was defined as a new addition in continuity with the history of the building, incorporating the changes of different times and leaving aside a possible restoration process. The main interventions determined by the project were the typological change from two apartments per floor to three, the installation of an elevator, the replacement of all infrastructures and the preservation of a substantial part of construction elements.

Jesús Moraime & Anabela Bartolo (© María Victoria Lea / © Francisco Matias)

We talked to Jesús Moraime, owner as well as multi-talented entrepreneur, and the good soul of the house, Anabela Bartolo. She not only has 30 years of experience in the hotel business and speaks five languages, she also lovingly takes cares of simply everything: flowers, breakfast, first-hand recommendations and, in required, even of Christmas decoration.*

© Ana Paula Carvalho // © Juan Baraja

UA: A peculiarity that we did not mention yet is the interior decoration of the single apartments, each of which bears a relation to one of Lisbon’s famous parks. How did this idea come about?

Jesús: The gardens and how the vegetation mixes with the urban architecture seems to me one of the most notable characteristics of Lisbon. Being a landscape architect and a great lover of Lisbon’s gardens, it seemed very appropriate to pay homage to them in the apartments and also to help bring them closer to all those who come here to get to know and enjoy the city.

Estrela – © Ana Paula Carvalho // © Jesús Moraime
Estrela – © Ana Paula Carvalho
© Ana Paula Carvalho // © Jesús Moraime
Fronteira – © Ana Paula Carvalho
Gulbenkian – © Ana Paula Carvalho // © Jesús Moraime
Gulbenkian – © Ana Paula Carvalho
Ultramar – © Ana Paula Carvalho // © Jesús Moraime
Ultramar – © Ana Paula Carvalho

UA: How is it that today everything comes across as a wonderfully light, almost floating composition of delicate but well-defined individual spaces, enriched by so many, yet subtle references to Portuguese (garden) culture?

Jesús: All the pieces of the puzzle fit together perfectly. Architect Jose Adriao helped me from the first moment in choosing the building from a technical point of view, and once we had found Baixa House, where soul and functionality were united, we began to work closely on the project. My initial idea was to bring an abandoned building back to life with a respectful approach to the local character, trying to preserve the original qualities of the building, doors, windows, ceilings and floors to the greatest extent possible.

©José Adriao
Jeronimos – © Ana Paula Carvalho

What was initially planned as long-term rental apartments became the Baixa House project after I got to know this type of short-stay accommodation and experienced how pleasant it was to stay in them and to be more closely immersed in the daily life of Lisbon. At that moment, when the work was almost finished, María Ulecia, a person with a lot of experience and a pioneer in the world of local accommodation in Lisbon, joined the project and contributed to its final conceptualisation. Working in unison we decided that the best way to establish that link between the city parks and the apartments was the use of visual references. So I started to work on it with the camera in hand to achieve the large, medium and small-format photographs that today accompany us in every corner of the apartments. The collaboration with UGO, the interior design studio of Javier Carrasco and Juan de Mayoralgo, was fundamental to transforming the building into Baixa House. They perfectly understood the idea of finishing a space with a very Portuguese air, using traditional artisan elements and making reference to the city gardens in the type of furniture and the colour scheme. Baixa House had to be a unique experience—from its architecture to the warm attention of the house staff, through to its furniture, household linen, flowers and breakfast.

UA: During my visit I experienced a wonderful feeling—like in a habitable exhibition, sheltered and inspired at the same time. What role does art play in your life, Jesús?

Jesús: I feel that all my life I have been quite close to art, mainly in my work as a landscape architect, where designing spaces, plant arrangements or lighting effects or just drawing my projects in watercolours is essential. I think my whole work is closely connected to art. This is also true for my photography work, and, yes, even more intensively in our touristic world as the creator of Baixa House and various other accommodation projects. For me, art is everywhere—in garden design as well as in many other inspiring contexts.

© Jesús Moraime
Campogrande – © Juan Baraja
Necessidades – © Ana Paula Carvalho

UA: How come that you, as a native Spaniard living in Spain, fell in love with Lisbon in the first place, and why did you choose this house—there could have been “easier“ projects, couldn’t there?

Jésus: Since I was a child, I have had a very close relationship with Portugal—as a holiday destination or close to places where I lived temporarily. Over the years, through love I made a great group of friends in Lisbon, who, together with the city’s fascinating architecture, its charming hilly landscape and the connection to the sea, were the keys that helped me define myself.

And, yes of course, I could have found easier projects, but I fell in love with this building and the opportunity to bring a neglected world back to life. A pleasant and very fruitful experience that ended in a building renovation, which, and this is a nice side effect, has fortunately been widely recognised—with, for instance, the 2011 Vasco Villalba Prize from the Gulbenkian Foundation for Historic Refurbishment as well as being a finalist in the 2012 FAD awards.

UA: Jesús, as a renowned expert on historical Iberian gardens, what would you recommend guests to see at least—what makes the Lisboan gardens special?

Jesús: Lisbon has one of the richest horticultural heritage in Europe, with gardens from the 17th to the 20th century, which tell us a lot about the history of the city and its inhabitants, and up to four gardens that have been granted the label of botanical. In its gardens, influences from the Roman and Islamic past, blended with others from the Italian Renaissance and French and English courtly fashions come together with exotic vegetation from the Portuguese overseas colonies. All in all, a heritage that is not sufficiently valued and more than worth getting to know and enjoy.

Campogrande – © Juan Baraja

Anabela, you have been running the Baixa House since 2015. Where do your guests come from and what do they like most?

Anabela: The majority of our guests come from Europe, with Germany taking the leading role for us. But apart from nationality, I notice that our guests appreciate that there is a soul behind our apartments; not only with regards to the architecture itself but behind all activities—starting with the booking contact and correspondence, to check-in, through to presence and service in the building. As we have followed our strategy of direct bookings, our clients feel confident in every phase of the relationship. They know that they can maintain their privacy here to the extent that they want—with a very discreet but high-quality background service. The resulting freedom seems to be a rather ideal mix for our guests.

UA: Talking of guests, what is your general idea of welcoming visitors?

Jesús: In an era of globalisation and depersonalisation, being able to appreciate the character of a place and the warmth of its people is something that we believe Baixa House contributes to. The combination of the location, the architecture, the respect for the past, the history of Lisbon’s gardens, a special and timeless decoration and a staff that is in every detail passionate about welcoming and caring for our guests is the key to what we offer at Baixa House.

Anabela: As I mentioned earlier, the best welcome you can give to your guests is to understand how to make them feel comfortable. This feeling comes from both the details and the soul of the place. The greatest proof of this trust is the respect, the sympathy, the enormous understanding and the caring words we have received from our guests in the past, difficult months of the global crisis.


Footnote 1

The special relationship of the apartments and their corresponding gardens is described in individual portraits that can be found on the Baixa Houses website ((https://baixahouse.com/de/lissabon-reisefuehrer/lissabon-gaerten/belem/)). For all those interested in details about the gardens of Lisbon: Jesús Moraime has edited a nine-part book series, which you will, of course, find in the house.

Jardins de Lisboa – © Rubén García-Castro

Footnote 2

* We had been chatting about Christmas decoration at the beginning as I had been asking Anabela for the most unusual, curious or charming thing she has ever been asked by her guests so far… so, here is the little outtake!

Anabela: Last Christmas we had a big catholic family staying in several apartments of Baixa House, and it was amazing the way they asked me to arrange for Christmas crafts as decoration in the biggest apartment, where they were all having the festive meals. They trusted me without knowing me, and I had the opportunity to visit several Christmas markets to search for decoration. I found so many beautiful and creative things, and this gave me the opportunity to meet many interesting people and artisans. I was especially proud of a beautiful crib and a Christmas tree that I found at Carcavelos, my local market. They loved it, and this was the most important gesture. What could be better than happy guests?

Universidade – © Ana Paula Carvalho

Text: Ulrich Stefan Knoll, Juli 2020

Overview: Here you will find all HomeStories at a glance! If you want to stay up to date on a monthly basis, you can subscribe to our HomeStory newsletter here.

The house

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Jeder Raum ein florales Kunstwerk: Baixa House

Von Ulrich Stefan Knoll, Juli 2020

 

Lissabon ist nicht nur das politische und wirtschaftliche Zentrum Portugals, sondern wird auch gerne als „Stadt des Lichts“ bezeichnet. Als wäre dies nicht schon Grund genug für einen Besuch in Portugals Hauptstadt, scheint dort obendrein an 300 Tagen im Jahr die Sonne, und die Stadt und ihre Umgebung sind reich an Sehenswürdigkeiten und kulturellen Angeboten.
Im Zentrum, genauer gesagt im Baixa-Viertel inmitten der denkmalgeschützten Altstadt und damit ganz in der Nähe berühmter Plätze, wie zum Beispiel dem Praça do Comércio am Ufer des Tejo, hat URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR seit vielen Jahren eine Lieblingsadresse: das Baixa House.

Den Gast erwarten 13 individuelle Ferienwohnungen in einem historischen Gebäude im pombalinischen Stil aus dem XVIII. Jahrhundert, das Spätbarock und Neoklassizismus vereint. Die Fassade des Gebäudes ist geprägt von blauen Azulejo-Kacheln, einem unverkennbaren Zeichen der portugiesischen Identität. Die Renovierung, die 2011 fertig gestellt wurde, ist das Werk des portugiesischen Architekten José Adrião, der diese in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Eigentümer, dem spanischen Landschaftsarchitekten Jesús Moraime, sowie den Innenarchitekten Javier Carrasco und Juan de Mayoralgo umgesetzt hat.

© Ana Paula Carvalho
© Ana Paula Carvalho

Seit dem Bau im späten 18. Jahrhundert wurden zahlreiche Veränderungen am Gebäude vorgenommen, die den ursprünglichen Charakter seiner Bauelemente erheblich verändert haben. Als Projektstrategie wurde daher beschlossen, den bestehenden heterogenen Charakter zu akzeptieren. Die Eingriffe wurden als neue Ergänzungen in Fortführung der Geschichte des Gebäudes konzipiert, die die Veränderungen aus der Vergangenheit einbeziehen, einen möglichen Restaurierungsprozess jedoch ausschließen. Die wesentlichsten Eingriffe waren daher die typologische Veränderung von zwei Wohnungen pro Stockwerk in drei, der Einbau eines Aufzugs, der Austausch der technischen Gebäudeausstattung sowie der Erhalt eines Großteils der Bauelemente.

Jesús Moraime & Anabela Bartolo (© María Victoria Lea / © Francisco Matias)

Wir sprachen mit Jesús Moraime, dem Eigentümer und multitalentierten Unternehmer, und der guten Seele des Hauses, Anabela Bartolo. Sie hat nicht nur 30 Jahre Erfahrung in der Hotellerie vorzuweisen und spricht fünf Sprachen, sondern kümmert sich auch liebevoll um einfach alles: Blumenarrangements, Frühstück, Empfehlungen aus erster Hand und, wenn gewünscht, sogar um die Weihnachtsdekoration.*

© Ana Paula Carvalho (links / left), © Juan Baraja (rechts / right)

UA: Eine Besonderheit, die wir noch nicht erwähnt haben, ist die Innenausstattung der einzelnen Wohnungen, die alle einen Bezug zu einem der berühmten Parks von Lissabon haben. Wie ist diese Idee entstanden?

Jesús: Die Gärten und die Art und Weise, wie sich die Vegetation mit der Architektur der Stadt vermischt, ist für mich eines der bemerkenswertesten Merkmale Lissabons. Als Landschaftsarchitekt und großer Bewunderer der Gärten Lissabons schien es mir sehr passend, ihnen in den Wohnungen Ehre zu erweisen und sie all jenen näher zu bringen, die hierher kommen, um die Stadt kennenzulernen oder neu zu entdecken.

Estrela - © Ana Paula Carvalho (links / left) © Jesús Moraime (rechts / right)
Estrela - © Ana Paula Carvalho
Fronteira - © Ana Paula Carvalho (links / left) © Jesús Moraime (rechts / right)
Fronteira - © Ana Paula Carvalho
Gulbenkian - © Ana Paula Carvalho (links / left) © Jesús Moraime (rechts / right)
Gulbenkian - © Ana Paula Carvalho
Ultramar - © Ana Paula Carvalho (links / left) © Jesús Moraime (rechts / right)
Ultramar - © Ana Paula Carvalho

UA: Wie kommt es, dass heute alles wie eine wunderbar leichte, fast schwebende Komposition aus zarten, aber wohldefinierten individuellen Räumen wirkt, die durch zahlreiche, aber subtile Bezüge zur portugiesischen (Garten-)Kultur bereichert wird?

Jesús: Alle Teile des Puzzles fügen sich perfekt zusammen. Von Anfang an hat mich der Architekt Jose Adriao bei der Auswahl des Gebäudes aus technischer Sicht unterstützt, und nachdem wir das Baixa House gefunden hatten, das Seele und Funktionalität vereint, begannen wir, eng an dem Projekt zusammenzuarbeiten. Meine ursprüngliche Idee war es, ein verwaistes Gebäude mit einem respektvollen Ansatz gegenüber dem Charakter des Ortes wieder zum Leben zu erwecken und dabei zu versuchen, die ursprünglichen Qualitäten des Hauses, seine Türen, Fenster, Decken und Böden so weit wie möglich zu erhalten.

©José Adriao
Jeronimos - © Ana Paula Carvalho

Was ursprünglich als Wohnungen zur Langzeitvermietung geplant war, wurde zum Projekt Baixa House, nachdem ich diese Art von Kurzzeitunterkünften kennengelernt und erlebt hatte, wie angenehm es war, in ihnen zu wohnen und enger in das Alltagsleben der Stadt einzutauchen. Zu dem Zeitpunkt, als die Arbeiten fast abgeschlossen waren, stieß María Ulecia dazu, eine Frau mit viel Erfahrung und eine Pionierin in der Welt der hiesigen Unterkünfte, und trug zu der endgültigen Konzeption bei.

Wir waren uns einig, dass die Verbindung zwischen den Parks der Stadt und den Apartments am besten durch visuelle Bezüge hergestellt werden kann. Also begann ich, mit der Kamera in der Hand daran zu arbeiten, um die groß-, mittel- und kleinformatigen Fotos zu erstellen, die uns heute in jedem Winkel der Apartments begleiten. Die Zusammenarbeit mit UGO, dem Innenarchitektur-Studio von Javier Carrasco und Juan de Mayoralgo, war ebenfalls wesentlich für die Umwandlung des Gebäudes in das heutige Baixa House. Sie verstanden die Idee, einem Raum ein sehr portugiesisches Flair zu verleihen, indem sie traditionelle handwerkliche Elemente verwendeten und sich bei der Art der Einrichtung und der Farbgebung auf die Gärten und Parks der Stadt bezogen. Das Baixa House sollte ein einzigartiges Erlebnis sein – von der Architektur über die herzliche Aufmerksamkeit des Personals bis hin zu den Möbeln, der Bettwäsche, den Blumen und dem Frühstück.

UA: Ich habe mich bei Euch wie in einer bewohnbaren Ausstellung gefühlt, wunderbar behütet und inspiriert zugleich. Welche Rolle spielt die Kunst in Deinem Leben, Jesús?

Jesús: Ich habe das Gefühl, dass ich mein ganzes Leben lang der Kunst sehr nahe war, vor allem in meiner Arbeit als Landschaftsarchitekt, bei der es darum geht, Räume, Pflanzenarrangements oder Lichteffekte zu gestalten oder einfach meine Projekte in Aquarellfarben zu zeichnen. Ich denke, meine gesamte Arbeit ist eng mit der Kunst verbunden. Das gilt auch für meine fotografische Arbeit, und, ja, noch intensiver in unserer touristischen Welt als Schöpfer des Baixa House und verschiedener anderer Wohnprojekte. Für mich ist Kunst überall – in der Gartengestaltung ebenso wie in vielen anderen inspirierenden Zusammenhängen.

© Jesús Moraime

UA: Wie kam es, dass Du dich als gebürtiger Spanier, der auch in Spanien lebt, überhaupt in Lissabon verliebt hast? Und warum hast Du dich für dieses Haus entschieden – es hätte doch sicherlich „einfachere“ Projekte gegeben, oder?

Jesús: Seit meiner Kindheit habe ich eine sehr enge Beziehung zu Portugal – als Urlaubsziel oder in der Nähe von Orten, an denen ich vorübergehend gelebt habe. Im Laufe der Jahre fand ich über die Liebe eine große Freundesgruppe in Lissabon, die  – zusammen mit der faszinierenden Architektur der Stadt, ihrer reizvollen Hügellandschaft und der Verbindung zum Meer – der Schlüssel waren, mich selbst neu zu definieren.

Und, ja, natürlich hätte ich einfachere Projekte finden können, aber ich habe mich in dieses Gebäude verliebt und in die Möglichkeit, eine in Vergessenheit geratene Welt wieder zum Leben zu erwecken. Eine angenehme und sehr fruchtbare Erfahrung, die mit der Renovierung des Gebäudes endete, welche – und das ist eine schöne Begleiterscheinung – glücklicherweise weithin anerkannt wurde, zum Beispiel durch den Vasco-Villalba-Preis 2011 der Gulbenkian Foundation for Historic Refurbishment sowie als Finalist bei den FAD-Auszeichnungen 2012.

Campogrande - © Juan Baraja
Necessidades – © Ana Paula Carvalho

UA: Jesús, was sollten Deiner Empfehlung als renommierter Experte für historische iberische Gärten zufolge, Eure Gäste mindestens sehen – was macht Lissabons Gärten so besonders?

Jesús: Lissabon verfügt über eines der reichsten gartenbaulichen Erbe in Europa, mit Gärten aus dem 17. bis 20. Jahrhundert, die uns viel über die Geschichte der Stadt und ihrer Bewohner erzählen, darunter vier Gärten, die das Label eines botanischen Gartens erhalten haben. In den Gärten treffen Einflüsse aus der römischen und islamischen Vergangenheit, vermischt mit solchen der italienischen Renaissance und der höfischen Mode Frankreichs und Englands, auf exotische Pflanzen aus den portugiesischen Kolonien in Übersee. Alles in allem ein Erbe, das nicht genügend geschätzt wird und definitiv wert ist, entdeckt zu werden.

Campogrande - © Juan Baraja

UA: Anabela, Du leitest das Baixa House seit 2015 – woher kommen Eure Gäste und was gefällt ihnen am besten?

Anabela: Die meisten unserer Gäste kommen aus Europa, wobei Deutschland für uns die Hauptrolle spielt. Abgesehen von der Nationalität stelle ich fest, dass es unsere Gäste zu schätzen wissen, dass sich hinter unseren Apartments eine Seele verbirgt; nicht nur in Bezug auf die Architektur selbst, sondern hinter allen Aktivitäten, angefangen beim Buchungskontakt und der Korrespondenz, über das Einchecken bis hin zur Anwesenheit und zum Service im Haus. Da wir eine Strategie der Direktbuchungen umgesetzt haben, fühlen sich unsere Kunden in jeder Phase der Beziehung sicher. Sie wissen, dass sie hier ihre Privatsphäre in dem gewünschten Umfang wahren können – mit einem sehr diskreten, aber erstklassigen Service im Hintergrund. Die daraus resultierende Freiheit scheint für unsere Gäste eine recht ideale Mischung zu sein.

UA: Apropos Gäste, wie sieht Eure Idee einer Willkommenskultur aus?

Jesús: In einer Zeit der Globalisierung und Entpersonalisierung ist die Fähigkeit, den Charakter eines Ortes und die Wärme seiner Menschen zu schätzen, etwas, wozu das Baixa House unserer Meinung nach beiträgt. Die Kombination aus dem Standort, der Architektur, dem Respekt vor der Vergangenheit, der Geschichte der Gärten Lissabons, einer besonderen und zeitlosen Einrichtung und einem Personal, das bis ins Detail darauf bedacht ist, unsere Gäste freundlich aufzunehmen und zu umsorgen, ist der Schlüssel zu dem, was wir im Baixa House bieten.

Anabela: Wie ich bereits erwähnt habe, ist das Beste, was man seinen Gästen bieten kann, zu verstehen, wie man für ihr Wohlbefinden sorgt. Dieses Gefühl resultiert sowohl aus den Details als auch aus der Seele des Hauses. Der beste Beweis für dieses Vertrauen ist der Respekt, die Anteilnahme, das enorme Verständnis und die liebevolle Ansprache, die uns unsere Gäste in den vergangenen, schwierigen Monaten der globalen Krise entgegengebracht haben.

Fußnote 1

Die besondere Beziehung zwischen den Apartments und den entsprechenden Parks wird in Einzelporträts beschrieben, die auf der Baixa-House-Website zu finden sind. Für diejenigen, die mehr über Lissabons Gärten und Parks erfahren möchten: Jesús Moraime hat eine neunteilige Buchreihe herausgegeben, die Sie selbstverständlich im Haus finden.

Jardins de Lisboa - © Rubén García-Castro

Fußnote 2

* Wir hatten zu Beginn über Weihnachtsdekoration geplaudert, da ich Anabela nach der ungewöhnlichsten, kuriosesten oder bezauberndsten Sache gefragt hatte, um die sie je von ihren Gästen gebeten wurde… hier also der Outtake!

Anabela: Letztes Weihnachten hatten wir eine große katholische Familie, die in mehreren Apartments des Baixa House untergebracht war. Es war erstaunlich, dass sie mich baten, in der größten Wohnung, in der sie gemeinsam die Festessen veranstalteten, Weihnachtsschmuck für die Dekoration zu arrangieren. Sie vertrauten mir, ohne mich zu kennen, und ich hatte die Gelegenheit, mehrere Weihnachtsmärkte zu besuchen, um nach Weihnachtsschmuck zu suchen. Ich fand so viele schöne und kreative Dinge und hatte so ich Möglichkeit, viele interessante Menschen und Kunsthandwerker zu treffen. Besonders stolz war ich auf eine schöne Krippe und einen Weihnachtsbaum, die ich auf dem Carcavelos, meinem lokalen Markt, fand. Sie waren begeistert, und das war die schönste Geste. Was ist schöner als glückliche Gäste?

Universidade – © Ana Paula Carvalho

Übersicht: Hier finden Sie alle HomeStories auf einen Blick! Falls Sie monatlich auf dem Laufenden bleiben wollen, können Sie hier unseren HomeStory-Newsletter abonnieren.


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Beitrag gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Über Ihr Feedback würden wir uns freuen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.