statthaus – statt Hotel

Right in the middle of vibrant Cologne and yet in a quiet location – the statthaus is located in a small side street in Cologne’s traditional Gereonsviertel district, with the cathedral in sight and within walking distance. The building cannot be overlooked – like a tower, the house which is only 4.50 metres wide and has a neo-Gothic facade rises above its neighbours. The illuminated lettering on the facade discreetly announces the name, which is also the concept of the building: statthaus – statt Hotel (a play on words referring to the house as an alternative to a hotel).

The house from around 1860 was in dilapidated condition when architect and host Kristin Reuther-Mercurio discovered it 20 years ago while taking a walk in the area: almost in ruins, clad with facing bricks on the ground floor, with suspended ceilings and blocked windows. During the renovation of the listed building, many original elements such as the wooden staircase, stucco ceilings and neo-Gothic window formats were preserved. For the reconstruction of the historical sandstone elements, sandstone from the quarry that also provided the stones for Cologne Cathedral was used. The formerly twelve residential units were converted into six apartments and two maisonettes. The apartments, ranging in size from 16 to 57 sqm, all feature oiled oak floors, fully equipped kitchenettes and bathrooms tiled in white; otherwise, their design is individual. The furnishings, some of which have been owned by the family for a long time or were brought back from travels, are a combination of antique furniture, vintage pieces and modern design. Wall tiles and textiles add colour highlights. Build-in units and loft beds make good use of the available space. The largest flat on the fourth and fifth floors has a loggia with a view of the cathedral – the view over the roofs of the city compensates for the effort of climbing up the stairs.

What to do

Cologne with its sights and attractions! The shopping streets, restaurants, cafés, bars and pubs, museums, churches and the Rhine are all within walking distance. Sights in the surrounding area such as the Drachenfels Castle or the Rolandsbogen can be reached in a day trip by boat on the Rhine.

Why we like this house

In the statthaus you stay more independently than in a hotel and can almost feel like a local. It is ideally located for exploring the city. On the other hand, the flats, with their combination of historical flair and modern comfort, are designed so that guests really enjoy staying there.

This house is great for

Single travellers, couples, families, groups (the whole house can also be booked exclusively), business travellers (free high-speed WLAN and smart TV/monitor are available, a printer can be provided upon request).

Sustainability

Getting there without a car: From the cathedral/train station it is only 900 m or a 10-minute walk to the statthaus.

Details

Region/Town DE – Germany, North Rhine-Westphalia, Cologne
Name statthaus - statt Hotel
Scenery Quiet and central in Cologne city centre
Number of guests Max. 20 in 8 appartments for 2-5 guests each
Completed around 1860, stepwise renovation 2002-2021
Design Kristin Reuther-Mercurio
Published CUBE Magazin 03/2021, XIA by AIT 01/2021, Kölnische Rundschau (series "Wohn(t)räume" 03/2015) and in various travel guides e.g. Dumont, Brigitte (Cologne supplement).
Architecture Historical, Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation Apartment, Hotel
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Apartments combinable, Meeting, Metropolis, Urban, no car needed
www.statthaus.de

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

www.statthaus.de

Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

statthaus – statt Hotel

merken

Mitten im quirligen Köln und doch in ruhiger Lage – im statthaus wohnt man in einer kleinen Seitenstraße im traditionsreichen Kölner Gereonsviertel mit dem Dom in Blick- und Laufweite. Das Gebäude ist nicht zu übersehen – turmartig überragt der nur 4,50 Meter breite Bau mit neogotischer Fassade seine Nachbarn. Die Leuchtschrift auf der Fassade verkündet dezent den Namen, der gleichzeitig das Konzept des Hauses ist: statthaus – statt Hotel.  

Das Haus von ca. 1860 war in einem desolaten Zustand als die Architektin und Gastgeberin Kristin Reuther-Mercurio es vor 20 Jahren bei einem Spaziergang entdeckte:  fast zur Ruine verkommen, im Erdgeschoss mit Klinkern verkleidet, mit abgehängten Decken und zugebauten Fenstern. Bei der Sanierung des denkmalgeschützten Gebäudes wurden viele originale Elemente wie das Holztreppenhaus, der Stuck und die neogotischen Fensterformate erhalten. Für die Rekonstruktion der historischen Sandsteinelemente wurde Sandstein aus demselben Steinbruch, aus dem auch die Steine des Kölner Doms stammen, verwendet­. Die ehemals zwölf Wohneinheiten wurden in sechs Apartments und zwei Maisonette-Wohnungen umgestaltet. Die zwischen 16 und 57 qm großen Wohnungen haben alle geölte Eichenböden, voll ausgestattete Küchenzeilen und weiß geflieste Bäder, ansonsten sind sie individuell gestaltet. Die Einrichtung, die zum Teil aus Familienbesitz stammt oder von Reisen mitgebracht wurde, ist ein Mix aus antiken Möbeln, Vintage-Stücken und modernem Design. Wandfliesen und Textilien setzten Farbakzente. Einbauten und Hochbetten nutzen den Platz clever aus. Die größte Wohnung im vierten und fünften Stock hat eine Loggia mit Domblick – der Ausblick über die Dächer der Stadt entschädigt für die Mühen des Aufstiegs.

Aktivitäten

Köln mit seinen Attraktionen! Die Einkaufsstraßen, Restaurant, Cafes, Bars und Kneipen, Museen, Kirchen und der Rhein sind in fußläufiger Umgebung. Sehenswürdigkeiten im Umland wie die Burg Drachenfels oder der Rolandsbogen sind im Tagesausflug auch per Rheinschifffahrt erreichbar.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Im statthaus wohnt man unabhängiger als in einem Hotel und kann sich fast wie ein Local fühlen. Die Lage ist ideal, um die Stadt zu erkunden. Die Wohnungen mit ihrer Mischung aus historischem Flair und modernen Komfort sind aber so gestaltet, dass man sich dort sehr gerne aufhält.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Alleinreisende, Paare, Familien, Gruppen (das Haus kann auch exklusiv gebucht werden), Geschäftsreisende (kostenfreies High-Speed-WLAN und Smart-TV/Monitor vorhanden, auf Wunsch ist ein Drucker verfügbar).

Nachhaltigkeit

Ohne Auto erreichbar: vom Dom/Hbf sind es nur 900 m oder ca. 10 Minuten zu Fuß zum statthaus.

Details

Ort DE - Deutschland, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Köln
Name statthaus - statt Hotel
Lage ruhig und zentral in der Kölner Innenstadt
Personenanzahl Max. 20 in 8 Apartments für jeweils 2-5 Gäste
Fertigstellung um 1860, schrittweise Renovierung 2002-2021
Design Kristin Reuther-Mercurio
Veröffentlicht CUBE Magazin 03/2021, XIA by AIT 01/2021, Kölnische Rundschau (Serie "Wohn(t)räume" 03/2015) und in verschiedenen Reiseführern z.B. Dumont, Brigitte (Köln-Beilage)
Architektur alt & neu, Baudenkmal - alt, historisch
Unterkunft Apartment, Hotel
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Wohnungen kombinierbar, Meeting, Metropole, urban, ohne Auto erreichbar
www.statthaus.de

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.statthaus.de

Kommentare

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.