Tigharry Schoolhouse

Tigharry Schoolhouse is situated on North Uist, one of the islands of the Outer Hebrides, west of Scotland. This 19th century building is surrounded by fields, pastures and meadows, and once served as the local school to the village of Tigharry. Renovated and converted into a holiday home, the old schoolhouse now offers families and groups modern accommodation amidst this remote, wild landscape.

In the school’s former classroom and dining hall you will find double-height living areas: the living room with a sitting area, fireplace and piano, and the kitchen with a table for ten, a large bookcase along one wall and another fireplace. In the cottage adjacent to the schoolhouse, in which the schoolmaster used to live, there are four bedrooms for eight to ten people and bathrooms.

Polished concrete floors give the living rooms a modern touch while glass walls lend them a loft-like flair. White timber panels and plank floors add a country-house atmosphere and accessories such as maps and globes recall its old school days. The interior is an exciting mix of vintage furniture, Scandinavian mid-century design and modern furniture pieces.

The building is surrounded by a large garden bordered by a stone wall. The beach can be reached on foot in ten minutes via the fields behind the house.

What to do

Beaches, hiking, fishing in Loch Eubhal (opposite the house), kayaking, surfing, cycling, wildlife and bird watching, boat trips to Monach Islands and St Kilda, golf, stargazing. Guided hikes, boat trips and other activities can be organised on request. Antique piano and acoustic guitar available.

Why we like this house

A house with plenty of atmosphere in the midst of a dramatic landscape: perfect for retreats with family or friends.

This house is great for

Large families and groups

Details

Region/Town UK – United Kingdom, Scotland, Isle of North Uist, Tigharry
Name Tigharry Schoolhouse
Scenery Surrounded by meadows, pastures and fields
Number of guests Max. 10 in 4 bedrooms
Completed 2017
Design Studio Hebrides Architecture, Locheport
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-4 (house/apartment), 1-6 (house/apartment), 1-8 (house/apartment), 8+ (house/apartment), Barrier-free, Beach, Family, Garden, Hiking, Island, Music, Pet-friendly, Sea
www.tigharryschoolhouse.com

Request/Booking

www.tigharryschoolhouse.com

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Tigharry House

Tigharry Schoolhouse

merken

Das Tigharry Schoolhouse liegt auf North Uist, eine der Inseln der Äußeren Hebriden im Westen von Schottland. Das von Feldern, Weiden und Wiesen umgebene Gebäude aus dem 19. Jahrhundert war die Schule des Dorfes Tigharry. Renoviert und zu einem Ferienhaus umgebaut, bietet das Haus nun Familien und Gruppen eine moderne und einzigartige Unterkunft inmitten einsamer, wilder Landschaft.

Im ehemaligen Klassenzimmer und im alten Speisesaal befinden sich nun die bis unter das Dach geöffneten Wohnräume des Ferienhauses: das Wohnzimmer mit Sitzecke, Kamin und Klavier sowie die Wohnküche mit Tisch für zehn Personen, einer großen Bücherwand und einem weiteren Kamin. In dem an das Schulgebäude angrenzenden Cottage, in dem früher der Lehrer wohnte, liegen die vier Schlafzimmer für acht bis zehn Personen sowie die Badezimmer.

Polierte Betonböden geben den Wohnräumen eine moderne Note und Glaswände erzeugen ein Loft-Flair, während weiße Holzpaneele und Dielenböden Landhaus-Atmosphäre hinzufügen und Accessoires wie Landkarten und Globus an die alten Schulzeiten erinnern. Die Einrichtung ist ein spannender Mix aus Vintage-Möbeln, skandinavischem Mid Century Design und modernen Stücken.

Das Gebäude ist von einem großen, mit einer Steinmauer umgebenen Garten umgeben. Über die Felder hinter dem Haus gelangt man zu Fuß in zehn Minuten zum Strand.

Aktivitäten

Strand, Wandern, Angeln im Loch Eubhal (gegenüber vom Haus), Kajakfahren, Surfen, Radfahren, Wildtier- und Vogelbeachtung, Bootstouren zu den Monach Iseln und St. Kilda, Golf, Sternenbeobachtung. Auf Wunsch können geführte Wanderungen, Bootstouren und andere Aktivitäten organisiert werden. Im Haus gibt es ein antikes Klavier und eine Akustikgitarre.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein Haus mit viel Atmosphäre in dramatischer Landschaft: Perfekt um sich mit Familien oder Freunden für einige Zeit von der Welt zurückzuziehen. 

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Ideal für große Familien und Gruppen.

Details

Ort UK - Großbritannien , Schottland, Isle of North Uist, Tigharry
Name Tigharry Schoolhouse
Lage Inmitten einer weiten Graslandschaft am Atlantik
Personenanzahl Max. 10 in 4 Schlafzimmern
Fertigstellung 2017
Design Studio Hebrides, Locheport
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-6 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-8 (Haus/Wohnung), 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), barrierefrei, Familie, Garten, Insel, Meer, mit Hund, Musik, Wandern
www.tigharryschoolhouse.com

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.