Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Umberto 121

Umberto 121

Medieval walls, imposing frescoes from the 19th century and 1930s terrazzo – Umberto 121 near Montalcino is a spectacular interplay of eras that stretches right up to the modern day.

Hills covered in proud cypresses, olive groves and lush vineyards characterize the landscape of the Val d’Orcia, which was not only a popular motif for Renaissance painters, but is now also a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ruins of castles and medieval towns rise up here and there, still towering above the hustle and bustle of time. The charming town of Montisi is just the right place to slow down and get in contact with Tuscan autenticity.

In the heart of the historic center, flanked to the rear by a panoramic Mediterranean garden, sits Umberto 121, a historic residence whose origins date back to the 14th century. Over the course of time, the Tuscan palazzo has not only changed owners and purposes – from a place where pharmaceutical formulas were manufactured around 1800 to the home of a family of bankers – but has also undergone architectural and aesthetic changes with each era. In order to preserve its multifaceted soul, the house was completely renovated, traces of the past were uncovered and the historical features were brought back to life. In addition to old beams, original doors, bathroom fittings and terracotta floors, the rooms are impressively framed by magnificent 19th century frescoes. Another highlight are the 1930s Graniglia floors, which have been freed from layers of stoneware and re-polished. Wherever the terrazzo floors could not be restored, warm oak parquet came into use.

Umberto 121 has five bright, spacious double rooms spread over two floors. Each has its own bathroom and a view over the Tuscan rooftops and hills. In addition, the tasteful communal areas offer a variety of places to unwind: from the living room, the study with fireplace or the library to the convivial kitchen, dining room and the idyllic garden. Every room of the house has its own identity and history, which the owners wanted to emphasize and pass on. To this end, suitable furniture and lamps were collected from antique dealers and markets and combined with more contemporary design. Selected pieces by Le Corbusier and Eileen Gray meditate in front of Novecento frescoes and emphasize the creative dialogue between antique and modern elements, art, history and the intriguing landscape of the Crete Senesi.

What to do

Explore the Val d'Orcia and the Crete Senesi with their numerous picturesque villages, go hiking, biking, horse riding, visit wineries and enjoy regional cuisine (e.g. in the lovely little bars and restaurants in Montisi), yoga and massages, excursions to the nearby towns of Trequanda, Pienza, Montalcino and Montepulciano or to the Tuscan art and culture highlights of Siena, Perugia or Florence

Why we like this house

A place of timeless beauty where the stories of past generations resonate.

This house is great for

Families, friends or couples of friends who want to enjoy the nature, art, culture and cuisine of Tuscany

Sustainability

Preservation of the old building fabric and careful renovation, e-charging station in Sinalunga (approx. 15 minutes away by car), public transport: by train to Sinalunga and bus to Montisi

Owner picture

Owner

Spanish journalist Idoia Ruiz Orrio advises brands and architectural projects on communication, while her partner Marco De Pietro is an Italian lawyer and entrepreneur in the fashion industry. When the couple discovered the Tuscan jewel in the summer of 2020, the desire to bring its historical treasures back to life was born. Just a few months later, the couple moved from Barcelona to charming Montisi with their two daughters and have been enjoying the peaceful life in the countryside ever since.


Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121
Umberto 121

Details

Region IT – Italy, Tuscany, Montalcino, Montisi
Name Umberto 121
Scenery In the historic center of the small village, with a view of the rolling hills of the Val d'Orcia and the Crete Senesi
Number of guests Max. 10 in 5 bedrooms
Completed built in the 14th century, extended in the 19th century, renovated in 2023
Design Idoia Ruiz Orrio und Marco De Pietro (Renovierung)
Published Living Corriere 10/2023, Elle Decor Italia 7/2023
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation House
Criteria 8+ (house/apartment), Family, Garden, Hiking, Wine, Workation
www.umberto121.com

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with white background the accommodation is still available. On days with dark gray background the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

www.umberto121.com

One Comment

Verena Reiner sagt:
Ein wunderschönes Haus in einem kleinen, schönen Dorf mit tollem Restaurant, kleiner Bar, Apotheke, kleiner Supermarkt … Die Zimmer sind liebevoll eingerichtet und mit viel Platz. Wir waren als Familie mit 3 älteren Kindern eine Woche dort, haben Ausflüge in die malerischen Nachbardörfer gemacht oder haben einfach im Garten gelesen. Die sehr netten Besitzer haben uns zur Begrüßung mit einigen Leckereien verwöhnt und immer einen guten Tipp parat gehabt.
Translate comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR ist das führende Webportal für architektonisch beispielgebende Ferienhäuser. Wir geben auch preisgekrönten Coffeetable-Bücher heraus – diese sind im Buchhandel erhältlich und in unserem Shop.

Über uns

Was wir machen: ein besonderes Netzwerk für besondere Häuser.

Wie funktioniert Urlaubsarchitektur?

Wie Sie mit Urlaubsarchitektur Ihr Feriendomizil finden und wo Sie es buchen können.

Partner werden

Ihr Haus passt zu Urlaubsarchitektur? Zeit, dass wir uns kennenlernen!

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.


Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

Umberto 121

Mittelalterliche Mauern, imposante Fresken aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und 30er Jahre-Terrazzo – das Umberto 121 bei Montalcino ist ein spektakuläres Schauspiel der Epochen, das seinen Bogen bis in die Moderne spannt.

Mit stolzen Zypressen, Olivenhainen und üppigen Weinbergen bewachsene Hügel prägen die Landschaft des Val d´Orcia, das nicht nur bei den Malern der Renaissance als beliebtes Motiv diente, sondern inzwischen auch zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört. Vereinzelt erheben sich Burgruinen und mittelalterliche Städtchen, die bis heute über dem Trubel der Zeit thronen. Auch im Dörfchen Montisi weht der angenehme Wind der Entschleunigung.

Inmitten des historischen Zentrums, an seiner Rückseite von einem aussichtsreichen, mediterranen Garten flankiert, liegt das Ferienhaus Umberto121, dessen Ursprünge bis ins 14. Jahrhundert zurückreichen. Im Lauf der Zeit hat der toskanische Palazzo nicht nur seine Besitzer und Bestimmungen geändert – vom Herstellungort pharmazeutischer Formeln um 1800 bis zum Wohnhaus einer Bankiersfamilie –, sondern mit jeder Epoche auch einen architektonischen und ästhetischen Wandel erfahren. Um seine facettenreiche Authentizität zu bewahren, wurde das Haus ganzheitlich saniert, die Spuren der Vergangenheit freigelegt und der historische Bestand zu neuem Leben erweckt. So finden sich neben altem Gebälk, originalen Türen, Badarmaturen und Terrakotta-Böden vor allem kunstvolle Fresken aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, die die Zimmer eindrucksvoll rahmen. Ein weiteres Highlight bilden auch die Graniglia-Böden aus den 30er Jahren, die von Steinzeug-Schichten befreit und neu poliert wurden. Überall dort, wo die Terrazzo-Böden nicht wiederhergestellt werden konnten, kam warmes Eichenparkett zum Einsatz.

Umberto 121 verfügt über fünf helle Doppelzimmer, die sich auf zwei Etagen verteilen. Mit jeweils eigenem Bad und Blick über die toskanischen Dächer und Hügel. Darüber hinaus bieten die stilvollen Gemeinschaftsräume abwechslungsreichen Platz zum Entspannen: vom Wohnzimmer, dem Arbeitszimmer mit Kamin oder der Bibliothek über die gemeinschaftliche Küche und das gesellige Esszimmer bis zum großen Garten. Jedes der Zimmer besitzt seine eigene Identität und Geschichte, die betont und weitererzählt werden soll. Dafür wurden bei Antiquitätenhändlern und auf Märkten nach zeitlich passenden Möbelstücken und Lampen gesucht und mit zeitgenössischem Design kombiniert. So meditieren Stücke von Le Corbusier und Eileen Gray vor Fresken des Novecento und unterstreichen den gestalterischen Dialog von antiken und modernen Elementen, von Kunst, Geschichte und der eigensinnigen Landschaft der Crete Senesi.

Was geht hier

Die Val d´Orcia und die Crete Senesi mit ihren zahlreichen malerischen Dörfern erkunden, wandern, biken, reiten, Weingüter besuchen und regionale Kulinarik genießen (z. B. in den kleinen netten Bars und Restaurants von Montisi), Yoga und Massagen, Ausflüge in die nahegelegenen Orte Trequanda, Pienza, Montalcino und Montepulciano oder zu den toskanischen Kunst- und Kulturhighlights Siena, Perugia oder Florenz

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein Ort von zeitloser Schönheit, an dem die Geschichten vergangener Generationen nachhallen.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Familien, Freund:innen oder befreundete Paare, die die Natur, Kunst, Kultur und Kulinarik der Toskana genießen wollen

Nachhaltigkeit

Erhalt der alten Bausubstanz und achtsame Renovierung, E-Ladestation in Sinalunga (ca. 15 Min. mit dem Auto entfernt), ÖPNV: mit dem Zug bis Sinalunga und Bus nach Montisi

Gastgeber

Eigentümer

Die spanische Journalistin Idoia Ruiz Orrio unterstützt Marken und Architekturprojekte bei der Kommunikation, ihr italienischer Partner Marco De Pietro ist Rechtsanwalt und Unternehmer in der Modebranche. Als das Paar im Sommer 2020 das toskanische Juwel entdeckte, war der Wunsch geboren, seine historischen Schätze zu neuem Leben zu erwecken. Nur wenige Monate später zogen die beiden mit ihren zwei Töchtern von Barcelona ins charmante Montisi und genießen seitdem das ruhige Leben auf dem Land.


Details

Region IT - Italien, Toskana, Montalcino, Montisi
Name Umberto 121
Lage Im historischen Zentrum des kleinen Ortes, mit Blick auf die Hügel der Val d'Orcia und der Crete Senesi
Anzahl Gäste Max. 10 in 5 Schlafzimmern
Fertigstellung erbaut im 14. Jh, erweitert im 19. Jh, renoviert 2023
Design Idoia Ruiz Orrio und Marco De Pietro (Renovierung)
Veröffentlicht Living Corriere 10/2023, Elle Decor Italia 7/2023
Architektur alt & neu
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 8+ (Haus/Wohnung), Familie, Garten, Wandern, Wein, Workation
www.umberto121.com

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch verfügbar. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

www.umberto121.com

0 Kommentare

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.