Gulfhof Klein Schulenburgerpolder
Surrounded by fields, this old farmhouse lies in the vast marshes of East Friesland. The listed building, in typical local architectural style, consists of classical living quarters dating from 1841 and an even older barn (ca. 1780). Since the farm buildings were no longer suitable for agricultural use, the living quarters have been converted into holiday apartments: one small apartment for up to two people and three large apartments for five or six people. Two of each have a connecting door and can be combined as needed.
Many details are reminiscent of earlier times: The rooms are decorated according to the historic colours, old doors have been restored and ceiling and floorboards as well as windows correspond to their originals as closely as possible. The rooms on the ground floor (the former living quarters) have a generous ceiling height of 3.80 meters. The first floor – the former granary – has a lower ceiling height which enhances the cosy athmosphere of the bedchambers. The farm has a large garden with old trees, a canal and a small teahouse (the perfect place for a cup of East Frisian tea!).
What to do
Cycling, trips to Greetsiel, Norden (tea museum), Marienhafe, Pewsum, Emden (art museum, harbour) and other East Frisian cities, the park of castle Lütetsburg, explore historic building in East Frisia, Krummhörner Orgelfrühling (music festival).
Why we like this house
Stylish conversion and preservation of a typical East Frisian farmhouse.