Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Fabrica no Jardim

Hidden in a lush garden in the centre of charming Porto is the Fábrica no Jardim – a minimalist factory-style house that quotes the city’s history and translates it into the present day.

Winding alleyways, picturesque facades, balconies adorned with flowers and architectural highlights – in Porto, nostalgic flair meets a breathe of fresh air. Accompanied by the majestic Douro, which meanders through the once important trading and harbour city before flowing into the Atlantic just one tram stop further on.

In the middle of the lively creative district of Cedofeita stands a traditionally tiled building, which at first glance gives no indication that a green oasis with an unusual holiday home is hidden behind its entrance: the Fábrica no Jardim – the factory in the garden, which has already been honoured with the Joao Almada Award for outstanding architecture. The house, which was rebuilt a few years ago, is architecturally linked to the former industrial use of the backyard. From the outside, the simple structure with its corrugated iron façade is reminiscent of the old factories and workshops that once characterised the district. Large window openings break up the sheet steel and give the building a modern look.

Up to four guests can be accommodated on three light-filled, loft-like floors, which are not only suitable for a city break, but also for longer stays. Each floor has a similar layout, consisting of a room and a bathroom or, on the ground floor, an additional studio for working. The large eat-in kitchen with a long wooden table invites you to get together in the midst of the greenery. In addition to a double bedroom on the first floor, the lounge on the top floor offers sleeping space for two more people. Here, the open roof truss provides even more spaciousness – with views over the rooftops of the city.

Inside, raw materials such as rough exposed brickwork, solid concrete and polished terrazzo meet warm wooden floors, bespoke retro design and selected craftsmanship by local artists. In keeping with the factory character, the electrical installation was also laid on plaster. The colour palette of natural tones and bright, cheerful colours is as rich in contrast as Porto itself. A well-composed interplay that extends across all floors – nestled between two quiet terraces and a marvellous garden with a huge, shady loquat.

What to do

Discover Porto - from the small alleyways, historic facades, historical monuments and numerous architectural highlights to the many parks and gardens and port wine cellars, promising culinary delights and wine tasting, diverse museums and exhibitions, a young art, design and fashion scene, excursions to the beach for swimming and surfing (by tram or bike) or to the culturally rich neighbouring towns of Guimarães and Braga, to the wine-growing regions in the Douro Valley (UNESCO World Heritage Site) and the Gerês National Park.

Why we like this house


Industrial style in Portuguese: a wonderfully cheerful and bright retreat full of green views and tranquillity in the middle of a vibrant city.

This house is great for


Couples, friends and families who want to discover Porto or live and work here for a while.

Sustainability


E-charging stations in the neighbourhood, public transport: Trindade metro station


Details

Region PT – Portugal, Porto
Name Fábrica no Jardim
Scenery In the creative Cedofeita neighbourhood in the heart of the city
Number of guests Max. 4
Completed 2018
Design figueiredo+pena arquitectos, Porto; Interior design: Daniela Eksen, Stefan Bullerkotte, Berlin
Awards Nominee for the EU Mies Award, European Union prize for Contemporary Architecture (2022), João de Almada Award for Outstanding Architecture (2019)
Architecture Modern
Accomodation House
Criteria 1-4 (house/apartment), Beach, Dog-friendly, Family, Garden, Hiking, Lake/river, Sea, Urban, Wine, Workation, No car needed
fabrica-no-jardim.eu

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with white background the accommodation is still available. On days with dark gray background the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

fabrica-no-jardim.eu

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

Fabrica no Jardim

In einem üppigen Garten mitten im charmanten Porto versteckt sich die Fábrica no Jardim – ein minimalistisches Haus im Fabrikstil, das die Stadtgeschichte zitiert und ins Heute übersetzt.

Verwinkelte Gassen, pittoreske Fassaden, blumengeschmückte Balkone und architektonische Highlights – in Porto trifft nostalgisches Flair auf frischen Wind. Begleitet vom majestätischen Douro, der sich durch die einst wichtige Handels- und Hafenstadt schlängelt, um nur eine Trambahnstation später im Atlantik zu münden.

Inmitten des lebendigen Kreativviertels Cedofeita steht ein traditionell gefliestes Gebäude, das auf den ersten Blick noch nicht erahnen lässt, dass sich hinter seinem Eingang eine grüne Oase mit ungewöhnlichem Ferienhaus verbirgt: die Fábrica no Jardim – eine Fabrik im Garten, die bereits mit dem Joao Almada Award für herausragende Architektur ausgezeichnet wurde. Das vor ein paar Jahren neugebaute Haus knüpft architektonisch an die ehemals industrielle Nutzung des Hinterhofs an. Von außen erinnert der schlichte Baukörper mit seiner Wellblechfassade an die alten Fabriken und Werkstätten, die einst den Stadtteil prägten. Dabei brechen große Fensteröffnungen das Stahlblech auf und verleihen dem Haus eine moderne Anmutung.

Bis zu vier Gästen finden auf drei lichten, loftartigen Etagen Platz, die sich nicht nur für einen Städtetrip, sondern auch für längere Aufenthalte eignen. Jedes Stockwerk besitzt einen ähnlichen Grundriss, der jeweils aus einem Raum und einem Bad bzw. im Erdgeschoss aus einem zusätzlichen Studio zum Arbeiten besteht. Die große Wohnküche lädt mit einem langen Holztisch zum Zusammensein mitten im Grünen ein. Neben einem Doppelschlafzimmer im ersten Stock bietet die Lounge im obersten Stock zwei weitere Schlafgelegenheiten. Hier sorgt der offene Dachstuhl für noch mehr Großzügigkeit – mit Blick über die Dächer der Stadt.

Im Inneren treffen rohe Materialien wie rau belassenes Sichtmauerwerk, massiver Beton und polierter Terrazzo auf warme Holzböden, individuelles Retro-Design und ausgewählte Handwerkskunst lokaler Künstler:innen. In Anlehnung an den Fabrik-Charakter wurde auch die Elektroinstallation auf Putz verlegt. So kontrastreich wie Porto selbst, ist auch das Farbkonzept aus natürlichen Tönen und fröhlich leuchtenden Farben. Ein komponiertes Zusammenspiel, das sich über alle Etagen erstreckt – eingebettet zwischen zwei ruhigen Terrassen und einem herrlichen Garten mit riesiger schattenspendender Wollmispel.

Was geht hier

Porto entdecken – von den kleinen Gässchen, geschichtsträchtigen Fassaden, historischen Baudenkmälern und zahlreichen Architektur-Highlights über die vielen Parks und Gärten bis zu den Portweinkellern, vielversprechende Kulinarik und Wine Tasting, vielfältige Museen und Ausstellungen, eine junge Kunst-, Design- und Modeszene, Ausflüge zum Strand zum Schwimmen und Surfen (mit der Tram oder dem Rad) oder in die kulturreichen Nachbarstädte Guimarães und Braga, in die Weinanbaugebiete im Douro-Tal (UNESCO Weltkulturerbe) und den Nationalpark Gerês.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Industrial Style auf Portugiesisch: Ein wunderbar froher und heller Rückzugsort voller grüner Ausblicke und Ruhe inmitten einer pulsierenden Stadt.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Paare, Freund:innen und Familien, die Porto entdecken wollen oder für eine Weile hier leben und arbeiten möchten.

Nachhaltigkeit

E-Ladestationen in der nahen Umgebung, ÖPNV: Metro Station Trindade


Details

Region PT - Portugal, Porto
Name Fábrica no Jardim
Lage Im kreativen Viertel Cedofeita im Herzen der Stadt
Anzahl Gäste Max. 4
Fertigstellung 2018
Design figueiredo+pena arquitectos, Porto; Innengestaltung: Daniela Eksen, Stefan Bullerkotte, Berlin
Auszeichnungen Nominierung für den EU Mies Award, European Union prize for Contemporary Architecture (2022), João de Almada Award for Outstanding Architecture (2019)
Architektur modern
Unterkunft Haus
Kriterien 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Familie, Garten, Meer, mit Hund, See/Fluss, Strand, urban, Wandern, Wein, Workation, Ohne Auto erreichbar
fabrica-no-jardim.eu

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch verfügbar. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

fabrica-no-jardim.eu

0 Kommentare

Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.