Petersbergapartments

Waldkirchen in the Upper Palatinate region of Bavaria is not only a pilgrimage site, but also a destination for art and architecture lovers now that its former parish has been rebuilt in style. The ensemble of a church and parish buildings is situated on a steep hill, offering fantastic views over the wide landscape. Gallery owner Michael Zink has converted the former barn into an exhibition and gallery space. The building, designed by Swiss architectural firm Atelier Dimanche, blends in harmoniously with the rural surroundings: the quarry stone walls and larch wood slats which conceal the windows are reminiscent of the old barn. Inside, a high, wide space with a minimalist feel opens up before you, in which red Cotto tiles and exposed concrete meet glass and steel. 

On the first floor you will find the gallery and also have access to the roof terrace. On the top floor there is an artist’s studio and an the Atelierapartment for holiday guests. Its 45 m2 are open-plan and so cleverly divided that, in addition to the living, cooking, dining and sleeping area, there is also room for a spacious bathroom with a free standing bathtub. Visual axes and views visually enlarge the room. The dormers facing north and south feature floor-to-ceiling windows. When these are open, you feel like you’re looking out from an airy viewing platform. You won’t only find contemporary art on the walls of the apartment: through an interior window you can see into the seven-meter-high exhibition room of the gallery.

A second apartment is located on the ground floor of the thoughtfully restored old rectory. A 100 m2 holiday apartment has been created in the rooms of the old vicarage office, with a bedroom, a living room with sleeping accommodation and a kitchenette, which also offers wonderful views of the landscape. The furnishings are rustic and rural, in keeping with the style of the old house, combined with modern elements and contemporary art.


What to do

Waldkirchen is situated on one of the northern foothills of the Upper Palatinate Jura highlands. Cycling, hiking, walking in the immediate vicinity takes you through some of the most beautiful parts of the region with wonderful flora and fauna. In the nearby Altmühltal valley, all kinds of leisure activities, from river trips by canoe or kayak, historical excursions along the Limes frontier, to archaeological searches for traces of the Jura quarries, are exciting activities for young and old adventurers alike. The UNESCO World Heritage city of Regensburg, a medieval jewel, is about 45 minutes away; Nuremberg, rich in history and with numerous museums, is about 55 minutes away. If you are interested in contemporary art, then you are already there. 

Why we like this house

Historic and new architecture, contemporary art and a wide landscape combine to create a location that is as unusual as it is stimulating. 

This house is great for

Single travellers, couples and small families, with or without pets. Art lovers and all those who appreciate the proximity to nature and tranquillity. 


Details of the property

Region/Town: DE – Germany, Bavaria, Waldkirchen in the Upper Palatinate

Name: Petersberg - apartments

Scenery: On a hill of the Upper Palatinate Jura surrounded by beautiful landscape

Accommodation: Apartment

Number of guests: "Atelierapartment": max. 2 guests. Apartment in the old rectory: max. 3-4 guests;

Architecture: Old & new, Listed building - old

Completed: 2019

Design: Mathieu Robitaile and Tamara Henry, Flanthey

Special Features: With a little more time and with advance reservation you can distil your own schnapps in the in-house distillery. The terrace and the winter garden are also available for event bookings and small celebrations.


0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Petersbergapartments

Waldkirchen in der Oberpfalz ist nicht nur ein Wallfahrtsort, sondern seit dem Umbau des ehemaligen Pfarranwesens auch ein Reiseziel für Kunst- und Architekturliebhaber. Das Ensemble von Kirche und Pfarrgebäuden liegt auf einer steilen Anhöhe, von der sich fantastische Ausblicke über die weite Landschaft eröffnen. Der Galerist Michael Zink hat die ehemalige Scheune in einen Ausstellungs- und Galerieraum umgewandelt. Das vom Schweizer Architekturbüro Atelier Dimanche geplante Gebäude fügt sich von außen harmonisch in das ländliche Umfeld ein: Bruchsteinmauern und Lärchenholzlatten, die die Fenster verbergen, erinnern an die alte Scheune. Innen eröffnet sich ein hoher, weiter Raum mit reduziertem Ambiente, in dem rote Cotto-Ziegel und Sichtbeton auf Glas und Stahl treffen.

 
Im ersten Stock befinden sich der Galerieraum und der Zugang zur Dachterrasse. Im Dachgeschoss liegen eine Künstlerwohnung sowie das Atelierapartment für Urlaubsgäste. Dessen 45 Quadratmeter sind offen gestaltet und so geschickt aufgeteilt, dass zusätzlich zum Wohn-, Koch-, Ess- und Schlafbereich auch ein großzügiges Bad mit freistehender Wanne Platz hat. Sichtachsen und Ausblicke vergrößern den Raum optisch. Die nach Norden und Süden ausgerichteten Dachgauben haben bodentiefe Fenster. Sind diese geöffnet, fühlt man sich wie in einem luftigen Freisitz. Die Kunst ist nicht nur an mit aktuellen Werken an den Wänden präsent: Durch ein Innenfenster blickt man in den sieben Meter hohen Ausstellungsraum der Galerie.
 
Eine zweite Ferienwohnung befindet sich im Erdgeschoss des liebevoll restaurierten alten Pfarrhauses. In dem Räumen des früheren Pfarrbüros ist eine 100 qm große Ferienwohnung entstanden: mit Schlafzimmer, Wohnzimmer mit Schlafgelegenheit und Wohnküche, die wunderschöne Ausblicke in die Landschaft bietet. Zum Stil des alten Hauses passend ist die Einrichtung ländlich-rustikal, dazu gesellen sich moderne Elemente und zeitgenössische Kunst.

Aktivitäten

Waldkirchen liegt an einem der nördlichen Ausläufer des Oberpfälzer Jura. Radfahren, Wandern, Spazierengehen in der unmittelbaren Umgebung bietet viele für die Region typische Landschaftserlebnisse mit besonderer Flora und Fauna. Im nahen Altmühltal sind sämtliche Freizeitaktivitäten von Flusswanderungen mit Kanu oder Kajak, geschichtlichen Exkursionen entlang des Limes bis hin zu archäologischen Spurensuche in den Jurasteinbrüchen spannende Aktivitäten für kleine und große Abenteurer. Die UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe-Stadt Regensburg, ein mittelalterliches Juwel, ist ca. 45 Minuten entfernt; Nürnberg, reich an Geschichte und mit zahlreichen Museen, ist ca. 55 min entfernt. Interessiert man sich für zeitgenössische Kunst, dann ist man bereits vor Ort. 

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Historische und neue Architektur, zeitgenössische Kunst und weite Landschaft verbinden sich zu einer ebenso ungewöhnlichen wie anregenden Location. 

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Alleinreisende, Paare und kleine Familien, mit und ohne Haustier. Kunstliebhaber und alle, die die Nähe zur Natur und Ruhe schätzen. 


Details zum Objekt

Ort: DE - Deutschland, Bayern, Waldkirchen in der Oberpfalz

Name: Petersberg - apartments

Lage: Alleinlage, auf einer Anhöhe des Oberpfälzer Jura

Typ: Apartment

Personenanzahl: Atelierapartment: 2 Personen. Gästewohnung im alten Pfarrhaus: max. 3-4 Personen;

Architektur: Baudenkmal - alt, alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 2019

Design: Mathieu Robitaile und Tamara Henry, Flanthey

Besonderheiten: Mit etwas mehr Zeit und mit Voranmeldung kann man in der hauseigenen Destillerie eigenen Schnaps brennen. Die Terrasse und der Wintergarten stehen ebenso für Veranstaltungen und kleinere Feste zur Verfügung und können gebucht werden.


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.