Villa Mayr

Villa Mayr in Vahrn near Brixen, South Tyrol, is a house steeped in history. The building, which is more than 400 years old, used to be the summer residence of the Hotel Elephant in Brixen and was converted into a boarding house in 1878. One of the most famous guests was the composer Gustav Mahler, who is today commemorated by a suite bearing his name.

The architecture and design firm bergmeisterwolf has transferred the building into the present and created a symbiosis of old and new. On the ground floor, the removal of a wall resulted in a flowing sequence of rooms: reception area, bar and foyers now merge into one another. Historical wall panelling is combined with concrete walls and ceilings, antique furniture with modern design, playful glass chandeliers with simple brass luminaires. The historical staircase leads up to the first floor, its modern counterpart provides access to the second floor. The building was extended by one storey; the old decorative pediment with wood carvings is resplendent underneath the new roof. The hotel rooms are characterised by a modern ambience with pure wooden furniture with metal elements. Here, too, guests will find references to the past, such as the bathtub mounted on lion’s feet in the premium suite. It’s the dialogue between tradition and modernity and a play of colours that define the character of the villa: the sage-green hue, which appears as a subtle detail in the red wooden façade, is a design element in many of the rooms. The ceilings of the hotel rooms echo the red colour of the façade.

What to do

Playing billiards in the hotel, walking, hiking, cycling, visits to the Salern castle ruins, Neustift monastery with baroque monastery church, museum & pinacotheca (30-minute walk), shopping & strolling in Brixen (only 8 minutes by bus or car), excursions to the towns of Klausen and Bruneck; in winter: ski tours, skiing (the nearest skiing area can be reached in 20 minutes by car, other skiing areas within an hour).

Why we like this house

An exciting symbiosis of old and new. Villa Mayr has arrived in the present while retaining its historical character. The location of the house is ideal for guests who want to combine nature and culture. Here you are surrounded by vineyards, woods and mountains, yet you can quickly reach Brixen.

This house is great for

Single travellers, couples. Bikers are welcome (the hosts are enthusiastic motorcyclists).

Sustainability

Getting there without your own car is possible. The nearest bus stop is directly in front of the hotel, providing, among other things, a direct bus service to Brixen.

Details

Region/Town IT – Italy, South Tyrol, Brixen, Vahrn
Name Villa Mayr
Scenery In the heart of the village
Number of guests Max. 28 Gäste in 10 Zimmern und Suiten
Completed 1878/2020
Design Bergmeister Wolf, Brixen
Awards best architects 2022
Architecture Old & new
Accomodation Hotel
Criteria Rooms for 1-2 (hotel), Rooms for 1-4 (hotel), Garden, Hiking, Mountains, Restaurant, Wine, no car needed
Same ArchitectsOdles Lodge, Parkhotel Holzner
www.villamayr.com

Request/Booking

www.villamayr.com

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Villa Mayr

Die Villa Mayr in Vahrn bei Brixen in Südtirol ist ein geschichtsträchtiges Haus. Das mehr als 400 Jahre alte Gebäude war die Sommerresidenz des Brixener Hotels Elephant und wurde 1878 zur Pension umgebaut. Einer der berühmtesten Gäste war der Komponist Gustav Mahler, an den heute der Name einer Suite erinnert.

Das Architektur- und Designbüro bergmeisterwolf hat das Gebäude in die Gegenwart transferiert und eine Symbiose aus Alt und Neu geschaffen. Im Erdgeschoss sind durch das Entfernen einer Mauer fließende Raumfolgen entstanden: Rezeption, Bar und Gasträume gehen ineinander über. Historische Wandtäfelungen treffen auf Betonmauern und -decken, antikes Mobiliar auf modernes Design, verspielte Glaslüster auf schlichte Messingleuchten. Die historische Treppe führt hinauf in den ersten Stock, ihr modernes Pendant bildet den Aufgang in die zweite Etage. Das Gebäude wurde um ein Stockwerk aufgestockt; unter dem neuen Dach prangt der alte Ziergiebel mit Holzschnitzereien. Die Gästezimmer haben ein modernes Ambiente mit einer Einrichtung aus geradlinigen Holzmöbeln mit Metallelementen. Doch auch hier trifft man auf Bezüge zur Vergangenheit wie die Badewanne auf Löwenfüßen in der Premium-Suite. Nicht nur der Dialog von Tradition und Moderne, sondern auch ein Spiel mit Farben prägt den Charakter des Hauses: Der salbeigrüne Farbton, der als feines Detail in der roten Holzfassade erscheint, ist in vielen Räumen als Gestaltungselement zu finden. Die Decken der Gasträume nehmen die rote Farbe der Fassade wieder auf.


Aktivitäten

Billardspielen im Hotel, Spaziergänge, Wandern, Radfahren, Burgruine Salern, Kloster Neustift mit barocker Stiftskirche, Museum & Pinakothek (innerhalb 30 Fußminuten erreichbar), Shopping & Bummeln in Brixen (nur 8 Minuten mit dem Bus oder Auto), Ausflüge in die Städte Klausen und Bruneck, Winter: Skitouren, Skifahren (das nächste Skigebiet erreicht man in 20 Minuten mit dem Auto, weitere Skigebiete innerhalb einer Stunde)

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Eine spannende Symbiose von Alt und Neu. Die Villa Mayr ist in der Gegenwart angekommen und hat dabei ihren historischen Charakter bewahrt. Die Lage des Hauses ist ideal für alle, die Natur- und Kulturerlebnisse verbinden möchten. Man wohnt umgeben von Weinbergen, Wald und Bergen und ist doch schnell in der Stadt Brixen.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Alleinreisende, Paare. Biker sind willkommen (die Gastgeber sind begeisterte Motorradfahrer).

Nachhaltigkeit

Es ist eine Anreise ohne Auto möglich. Die nächste Bushaltestelle befindet sich direkt vor dem Hotel und bietet u.a. eine direkte Anbindung in Richtung Brixen.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: IT - Italien, Südtirol, Brixen, Vahrn

Name: Villa Mayr

Lage: Im historischen Ortszentrum

Typ: Hotel

Personenanzahl: Max. 28 Gäste in 10 Zimmern und Suiten

Architektur: alt & neu

Fertigstellung: 1878/2020

Design: Bergmeister Wolf, Brixen


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.