Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Shop

URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR is Europe’s leading online portal for architecturally outstanding holiday homes. We’ve published a series of award-winning books – available in bookshops or directly in our online shop.

About us

What we do: A special network for special houses.

How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work?

How to find your vacation home with UA and where to book it.

Become a partner

Does your house fit in with UA? Time to get to know each other!

Newsletter

We regularly write exciting, interesting newsletters that are worth reading. You haven’t subscribed yet?


Houses

Designed by architects for travel enthusiasts: Our curated collection of outstanding holiday accomodations – also via map. Do you already know our new entry?

Spaces

Find unusual places and locations – for workshops, team events, meetings, yoga retreats or private festivities.

Magazine

Take a look behind the scenes in sections such as Homestories and Insights, visit hosts or read Positions on current topics.

Newsletter

Sign up for our newsletter now.

Dortmannhof

From the outside, the listed Dortmannhof seems as if it has fallen out of time; inside, an artistic backdrop of historical inventory and unusual perspectives opens up. A subtle and clever concept by architect and furniture designer Sigurd Larsen, which now also welcomes guests.

On the outskirts of Essen, just a walk from the grounds of the Zollverein UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Dortmannhof with its half-timbered construction, uneven walls and colourful shutters is reminiscent of a bygone era. Today’s residential and guest house was built in 1791 as a hall house – an architectural style typical of the region that united people and animals under one multi-storey roof. 

In order to meet the needs of today’s residents, a family of musicians, and at the same time comply with the requirements of historic preservation, the historic hybrid of family and work life was rethought with two oversized, habitable room furnishings up to eleven metres high, without altering the existing structure. Rather, the two wooden fixtures are reversible and multifunctional so that they can be dismantled or adapted to the changing times at any time.

Like the principle of a “house within a house”, the two filigree, rectilinear fixtures trace the largely preserved original floor plan right up to the roof. So slender and delicate, as if they were inspired by the plants of the surrounding nature. Inside, bright, airy rooms with large windows reveal themselves – distributed on nested levels and criss-crossed by original structures and details.

In addition to the spectacular eleven-metre-high music room of the hosts, which stretches up into the middle of the three parallel stables, a tiny guest house with a separate entrance was built in the eastern barn. On the ground floor there is a bathroom with toilet and shower. Here, the soft pink and terrazzo-look floor make a modern statement. The whitewashed basins in the entrance area of the guest unit are the former cattle troughs. A spiral staircase leads to the bedroom and living room with a double bed, a desk and storage space. Here, too, the original structure becomes an acrobatic design element, as a massive wooden beam of the roof truss crosses the room at a surprising height. In this way, the history of the house can be experienced directly.

Strong colours set occasional accents and form an evocative contrast to the clear, calm atmosphere. The guest unit does not have a kitchen, but there is a bakery and several restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The main room with open roof truss serves as a weather-protected courtyard. A house like a small world of its own.

What to do

Discover Essen, cycle tours through the countryside on disused railway lines (two bicycles are available), a visit to the UNESCO World Heritage Site Zollverein (approx. 15 min. walk) with its outdoor grounds, Ruhr Museum, Red Dot Design Museum, a sculpture park, the pact dance centre, numerous cultural events and gastronomic offerings, open-air cinema in summer, refreshment in the works swimming pool, ice skating rink in winter, walks, llama hikes, open-air swimming pool and wellness in Revierpark Nienhausen, other industrial monuments (e.g. Jahrhunderthalle Bochum or Nordsternpark), Phänomania experience museum, pony rides and mini-golf, Folkwang Museum, Aalto Theatre.

Why we like this house

Old and new intertwine here in a way that is as playful as it is sensual. A unique and extraordinary concept that preserves and remains open to everything that is to come.

This house is great for

Couples, single travellers. The accommodation is not barrier-free and not suitable for small children due to the open spiral staircase.

Sustainability

Preservation of the old wooden structure and materials in combination with modern timber construction, ecological insulation with wood fibre mats, the tiled roof is insulated with straw, public transport: the Essen and Gelsenkirchen main railway stations can be reached by public transport in about 15 min.


Details

Region DE – Germany, North Rhine-Westphalia, Essen
Name Dortmannhof
Scenery On the outskirts of Essen, 15 min. walk from the compound of the Zollverein UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Number of guests Perfect for 2, max. 3 (a mattress for an older child is available).
Completed 1791, 2020 (interior extension)
Design Sigurd Larsen, Berlin
Published Bauen im Bestand. Zwischen Tradition und Innovation (Deutscher Architektur Verlag, 2022), Alte Bauernhäuser (Thomas Drexel, Prestel Verlag, 2022), Wallpaper Magazine (July 2020), AD Magazin (September 2020), Architektur Fachmagazin (August 2020), Dwell (May 2020)
Specials The small guest unit is located in the eastern part of the barn, in the left "house within a house".
Architecture Listed building - old, Old & new
Accomodation Apartment
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), Music, Urban, No car needed
Same ArchitectsMichelberger Farm, Das Glashaus in der Uckermark

Availability calendar

The calendar shows the current availability of the accommodation. On days with white background the accommodation is still available. On days with dark gray background the accommodation is not available.

Request/Booking

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Comments

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
    For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Häuser

Von Architekt:innen für Reisefans entworfen: Unsere kuratierte Sammlung hochwertiger Feriendomizile – auch via Karte. Kennen Sie schon unseren Neuzugang?

Magazin

In Rubriken wie Homestories und Insights hinter die Häuser blicken, Gastgeber:innen besuchen oder Positionen zu aktuellen Themen lesen.

Spaces

Außergewöhnliche Orte und Locations finden – für Workshops, Teamevents, Meetings, Yoga-Retreats oder private Feiern.

Newsletter

Jetzt für unseren Newsletter anmelden.

Dortmannhof

Von außen scheint der denkmalgeschützte Dortmannhof als wäre er aus der Zeit gefallen, innen eröffnet sich eine kunstvolle Kulisse aus historischem Bestand und ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven. Ein feinsinniges wie kluges Konzept des Architekten und Möbeldesigners Sigurd Larsen, das auch Gäste willkommen heißt.

Am Stadtrand von Essen, nur einen Spaziergang vom Gelände des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes Zollverein entfernt, erinnert der Dortmannhof mit seinem Fachwerk, den unebenen Wänden und bunten Fensterläden an eine vergangene Zeit. Das heutige Wohn- und Gästehaus wurde 1791 als Hallenhaus errichtet – ein für die Region typischer Baustil, der Mensch und Tier unter einem mehrstöckigen Dach vereinte. 

Um den Bedürfnissen der heutigen Bewohner, einer Musikerfamilie, und zugleich den Vorgaben des Denkmalschutzes gerecht zu werden, wurde das historische Hybrid aus Familien- und Arbeitsleben mit zwei überdimensionalen, bis zu elf Meter hohen bewohnbaren Raummöbeln neu gedacht, ohne dabei den Bestand zu verändern. Vielmehr sind die beiden Holzeinbauten reversibel und multifunktional, um jederzeit wieder zurückgebaut oder dem Wandel der Zeit angepasst werden zu können. 

Gleich dem Prinzip „Haus im Haus“ zeichnen die beiden filigranen, geradlinigen Einbauten den weitgehend erhaltenen Originalgrundriss bis unters Dach nach. So schmal und zart, als würden sie sich an den Pflanzen der umliegenden Natur orientieren. Im Inneren offenbaren sich helle, luftige Räume mit großen Fenstern – verteilt auf verschachtelten Ebenen und durchkreuzt von ursprünglichen Strukturen und Details. 

Neben dem spektakulären elf Meter hohen Musikzimmer der Gastgeber, das sich in der Mitte der drei parallelen Stallungen in die Höhe streckt, wurde in der östlichen Scheune ein kleines Gästehaus mit separatem Eingang errichtet. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich ein Bad mit Toilette und Dusche. Hier setzen das sanfte Rosa und der Boden in Terrazzo-Optik ein modernes Statement. Die weiß gekalkten Becken im Eingangsbereich der Gästewohnung sind die einstigen Viehtränken. Über eine Wendeltreppe erreicht man den Schlaf- und Wohnraum mit Doppelbett, einem Schreibtisch und Stauraum. Auch hier wird die ursprüngliche Struktur zum akrobatischen Gestaltungselement, denn ein massiver Holzbalken des Dachstuhls durchquert den Raum auf überraschender Höhe. So wird die Geschichte des Hauses direkt erfahrbar. 

Kräftige Farben setzen vereinzelte Akzente und bilden einen stimmungsvollen Kontrast zur klaren, ruhigen Atmosphäre. Die Gästewohnung hat keine Küche, in der unmittelbaren Nähe befinden sich jedoch eine Bäckerei sowie mehrere Restaurants. Der Hauptraum mit offenem Dachstuhl dient als wettergeschützter Innenhof. Ein Haus wie eine eigene kleine Welt.

Was geht hier

Essen entdecken, Fahrradtouren durchs Grüne auf stillgelegten Bahntrassen (zwei Fahrräder stehen zur Verfügung), ein Besuch des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe Zollverein (ca. 15 Min. zu Fuß) mit Außengelände, Ruhr-Museum, Red Dot Design-Museum, einem Skulpturenpark, dem Tanzzentrum pact, zahlreichen Kulturveranstaltungen und gastronomischen Angeboten, Open Air Kino im Sommer, Erfrischung im Werksschwimmbad, Eislaufbahn im Winter, Spaziergänge, Lama-Wanderungen, Freibad und Wellness im Revierpark Nienhausen, weitere Industriedenkmäler (z. B. Jahrhunderthalle Bochum oder Nordsternpark), Erlebnismuseum Phänomania Erfahrungsfeld, Ponyreiten und Mini-Golf, Museum Folkwang, Aalto Theater

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Alt und Neu greifen hier so spielerisch wie sinnlich ineinander. Ein un- und außergewöhnliches Konzept, das bewahrt und dabei offen bleibt für alles, was kommt.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Paare, Alleinreisende. Die Unterkunft ist nicht barrierefrei und aufgrund der offenen Wendeltreppe nicht für Kleinkinder geeignet.

Nachhaltigkeit

Erhalt der alten Holzstruktur und Materialien in Kombination mit moderner Holzbauweise, ökologische Dämmung mit Holzfasermatten, das Ziegeldach ist mit Stroh gedämmt, ÖPNV: der Essener und der Gelsenkirchener Hauptbahnhof sind in etwa 15 Min. öffentlich zu erreichen


Details

Region DE - Deutschland, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Essen
Name Dortmannhof
Lage Am Stadtrand von Essen, 15 min. zu Fuß vom Gelände des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes Zollverein entfernt
Anzahl Gäste Perfekt für 2, max. 3 (eine Matratze für ein älteres Kind ist vorhanden)
Fertigstellung 1791, 2020 (Innenausbau)
Design Sigurd Larsen, Berlin
Veröffentlicht Bauen im Bestand. Zwischen Tradition und Innovation (Deutscher Architektur Verlag, 2022), Alte Bauernhäuser (Thomas Drexel, Prestel Verlag, 2022), Wallpaper Magazine (Juli 2020), AD Magazin (September 2020), Architektur Fachmagazin (August 2020), Dwell (Mai 2020)
Spezielles Die kleine Gästewohnung befindet sich im Ostteil der Scheune, im linken “Haus im Haus”.
Architektur alt & neu, Baudenkmal - alt
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), Musik, urban, Ohne Auto erreichbar
Gleiche ArchitektenMichelberger Farm, Das Glashaus in der Uckermark

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. An Tagen mit weißem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft noch verfügbar. An Tagen mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund ist die Unterkunft nicht verfügbar.

Anfrage/Buchung

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    0 Kommentare

    Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
    Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.