The Balancing Barn

The “Balancing Barn” offers a very special living experience. From the front, it looks like a small house that fits in rather well with the other local buildings: with its barn-like shape and metal sheeting. Viewed from the side, however, you will see an extremely long (30 meters!) and unusually constructed house. It cantilevers 15 meters over the terraced terrain. This creates quite remarkable views from within: In the front part of the house the rooms are at ground level, while in the rear you stand at tree height.

Through the entrance on the front side, you enter the eat-in kitchen, followed by four bedrooms (each with its own en-suite bathroom). In the middle of the house, a hidden staircase leads down into the garden. The living room at the end of the building offers beautiful views of the surrounding hills on three sides. Glass panels in the roof and the floor contribute to the impression of living in a floating house.


What to do

The area around the Balancing Barn offers plenty of activities for all ages, including walking, birdwatching, cycling, swimming and sailing. And you can explore local castles, restaurants, pubs and teashops.

Why we like this house

Spectacular architecture which makes for an extraordinary living experience.


Details of the property

Region/Town: UK – United Kingdom, Suffolk, Walberswick

Name: The Balancing Barn

Scenery: Suffolk

Accommodation: House

Number of guests: up to 8 people

Architecture: Modern

Completed: 2010

Design: - MVRDV, Rotterdam | project - Interior: Jurgen Bey, Rotterdam

Published: schoener-wohnen.de 6/2017 and other

Special Features: The house was built for the organisation Living Architecture. Living Architecture offers to rent houses for a holiday designed by some of the most talented architects at work today, and set in some of the most stunning locations in Britain.

Awards: RIBA Award 2011 (Royal Institute of British Architects)


0 Comments

There are no comments for this property yet. Get started and judge your visit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Balancing Barn

Die “Balancing Barn” ist ein Wohnerlebnis der besonderen Art. Von der Frontseite sieht man ein kleines Haus, das sich mit seiner Scheunenform und der Metallverkleidung den  lokalen Gebäuden anpasst. Von der Seite betrachtet zeigt sich jedoch, dass es sich um ein extrem langes Haus (30 Meter!) mit einer äußerst ungewöhnlichen Konstruktion handelt. Es ragt 15 Meter über einem abgestuften Gelände in der Luft. Hierdurch wird den Bewohnern im Innern ein besonderes Raumerlebnis geboten: Die Zimmer befinden sich im vorderen Hausteil in Bodenhöhe, in der hinteren Haushälfte jedoch in Baumhöhe.

Über den Eingang an der Stirnseite gelangt man zunächst in die Wohnküche. Dann folgen vier Schlafzimmer (jeweils mit Bad en Suite) sowie in der Mitte des Hauses eine versteckte Treppe, die nach unten in den Garten führt. Der Wohnraum am Hausende bietet auf drei Seiten wunderschöne Ausblicke auf die umliegenden Hügel. Glasflächen im Dach sowie im Fußboden verstärken den Eindruck, in einem schwebenden Haus zu sein.


Aktivitäten

Die Balancing Barn befindet sich in einer Gegend, die diverse Möglichkeiten für alle Altergruppen bietet: Wandern, Vogelbeobachtung, Radfahren, Schwimmen und Segeln, Besuch von Schlössern, Restaurants, Pubs und Teashops.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Spektakuläre Architektur, in der das Wohnen zum besonderen Erlebnis wird.


Details zum Objekt

Ort: UK - Großbritannien, Suffolk, Walberswick

Name: The Balancing Barn

Lage: Suffolk

Typ: Haus

Personenanzahl: bis 8 Personen

Architektur: modern

Fertigstellung: 2010

Design: - MVRDV, Rotterdam | project - Interior: Jurgen Bey, Rotterdam

Veröffentlicht: schoener-wohnen.de 6/2017 und andere

Besonderheiten: Das Haus wurde für die Organisation Living Architecture gebaut, die in Großbritannien moderne Ferienhäuser von bekannten Architekten anbietet.

Auszeichnungen: RIBA Award 2011 (Royal Institute of British Architects)


0 Kommentare

Zu diesem Objekt gibt es bisher keine Kommentare. Machen Sie den Anfang und beurteilen Sie Ihren Besuch.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.