Loft Atelier Dietzold

The art scene and industrial heritage are closely intertwined in Leipzig – a fact that guests can experience in the loft named Atelier Dietzold. The holiday apartment is located in an old factory building, the former Dietzoldwerke in the west of the city, which was originally built in 1905 by Leipzig architect Emil Franz Hänsel as a metal goods factory. The entrepreneur couple Birgit and Mathias Manke saved the building from demolition and converted it into a studio house and creative venue. During the gradual renovation, the roof truss with the old lettering, which was destroyed in a fire in 2010, was reconstructed, as were the listed window fronts. Major emphasis was placed on preserving as much of the old building fabric as possible as well as on recycling and upcycling. Old materials such as wooden beams, metal parts or bricks were reused. For example, furniture was made from the beams formerly used for the false ceilings. Found objects such as lamps, Bakelite switches or industrial clothes racks were given new life.  
 
The loft apartment on the first floor is characterised by unrendered brick walls, large transom windows, an old screed floor and concrete ceilings, all of which exude an industrial charm. At the same time, however, it also has an urban-elegant ambience. The high-quality furnishings include design classics and pieces of furniture made by artists. The artworks on the walls are originals – some are oil on canvas, others are prints. 
 
The 109-square-metre loft comprises one room (only the bathroom is partitioned off). It features a fully equipped kitchen, a large dining table, a centrally placed sofa with a view of the window front, and a pool table. Furnished with a box-spring bed plus a sofa bed, the loft can accommodate up to four people. The urban outdoor areas and a garden with old trees are available to the artists and the guests staying in the loft apartment. 
 
Please note: On the same site there is a second studio house in the administration building of the former printing ink factory, which belongs to the same owners. Birgit and Mathias Mahnke have dedicated themselves to the revitalisation of old industrial buildings with creative uses. In addition to the two houses in Leipzig, they have also transformed an old pasta factory in Zeitz into a place for the arts.

What to do

Leipzig, and especially the west of Leipzig, is a cultural hotspot with numerous galleries, theatres and many other venues. Plenty of cafés and restaurants are located within walking distance. There are two gallery spaces at the Dietzoldwerke that host public vernissages and exhibitions.

Why we like this house

An exemplary project for the revitalisation of old industrial heritage. The mix of rough industrial charm, classic design and art lends the apartment its special ambience.

This house is great for

Art lovers and anyone who likes staying in a spacious residence and appreciates a creative, urban environment.

Sustainability

Can be reached without a car: railway and local public transport (next stop is 300 metres away)

Details

Region/Town DE – Germany, Saxony, Leipzig
Name Loft Atelier Dietzold
Scenery Inner city, cult district
Number of guests Max. 4 in an open space
Completed 1908/2017
Design Sebastian Stieß (Architekt), urbikon, Leipzig; Innendesign: Birgit Mahnke
Architecture Historical, Old & new
Accomodation Apartment
Criteria 1-2 (house/apartment), 1-4 (house/apartment), Art, loft, Meeting, Metropolis, Urban, Workation, no car needed
Same PartnersLoft Atelier 16, Loft Galerie ff15, Loft in der Nudelfabrik
Same ArchitectsLoft Atelier 16, Loft Galerie ff15

Availability calendar

The calendar displays the current availability of the accommodation. Days with a dark grey background are not available, while days in light grey or white are available for bookings.

Request/Booking

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    Comments

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
    For booking enquiries, please contact the respective accommodation. How does HOLIDAYARCHITECTURE work? Read our FAQ.

Loft Atelier Dietzold

merken

Kunstszene und Industriekultur sind in Leipzig eng miteinander verbunden sind – erleben lässt sich das im Loft Atelier Dietzold. Die Ferienwohnung befindet sich in einem zum Atelierhaus umgebauten alten Fabrikgebäude, den ehemaligen Dietzoldwerken im Westen der Stadt. Das Unternehmerpaar Birgit und Mathias Manke hat das 1905 vom Leipziger Architekten Emil Franz Hänsel als Metallwarenfabrik errichte Gebäude vor dem Abriss bewahrt und in einen Kreativort verwandelt. Bei der schrittweisen Sanierung wurden der 2010 bei einem Brand zerstörte Dachstuhl mit dem alten Schriftzug ebenso wiederhergestellt wie die denkmalgeschützten Fensterfronten. Wichtige Themen waren maximaler Substanzerhalt sowie Re- und Upcycling. Alte Materialien wie Holzbalken, Metallteile oder Backsteine wurden wiederverwendet (z.B. wurden Möbel aus den ehemaligen Balken der Gebäudezwischendecken gefertigt). Auch Fundstücke wie Lampen, Bakelitschalter oder Industrie-Kleiderständer wurden genutzt.  
 
Die in der 1. Etage gelegenen Loftwohnung strahlt mit ihren unverputzten Backsteinwänden, den großen Sprossenfenstern, dem alten Estrichboden und Betondecken industrielles Flair aus. Gleichzeitig hat sie aber auch ein urban-elegantes Ambiente.  Die Ausstattung ist hochwertig mit Designklassikern und von Künstlern gefertigten Einrichtungsgegenständen bei. Die Kunstwerke an den Wänden sind Originale – zum Teil Öl auf Leinwand, zum Teil Drucke. 
 
Die 109 qm große Wohnung besteht aus einem Raum (nur das Bad ist abgeteilt). Sie hat eine voll ausgestattete Küche, einen großen Esstisch, ein zentral im Raum platziertes Sofa mit Blick auf die Fensterfront sowie einen Billardtisch. Mit einem Boxspringbett sowie einem Schlafsofa ausgestattet kommen vier Personen unter. Die urbanen Außenbereiche und ein Garten mit altem Baumbestand stehen den Künstlern sowie den Gästen der Loftwohnung zur Verfügung. 
 
Hinweis: Auf dem Gelände befindet sich ein zweites Atelierhaus im Verwaltungsgebäude der ehemaligen Druckfarbenfabrik, das den gleichen Eigentümern gehört. Birgit und Mathias Mahnke haben sich der kreativen Wiederbelegung alter Industriegebäude verschrieben. Neben den beiden Häusern in Leipzig haben sie auch eine alte Nudelfabrik in Zeitz in einen Ort der Künste verwandelt.

Aktivitäten

Leipzig und insbesondere der Leipziger Westen ist ein kultureller Hotspot mit zahlreichen Galerien, Theatern und vielen weiteren Veranstaltungsorten. Auch viele Cafés und Restaurants befinden sich in Laufweite. In den Dietzoldwerken gibt es zwei Galerieräumen, in denen öffentliche Vernissagen und Ausstellungen veranstaltet werden.

Warum wir dieses Haus mögen

Ein beispielhaftes Projekt für die Wiederbelegung alter Industriekultur. Der Mix aus rauem Industriecharme, klassischem Design und Kunst macht das besondere Ambiente der Wohnung aus.

Für wen passt dieses Haus

Für Kunstliebhaber und alle, die gern großzügig wohnen und ein kreatives, urbanes Umfeld schätzen

Nachhaltigkeit

Anreise ohne Auto möglich: Bahn und ÖPNV (300 Meter zur nächsten Haltestelle)

Details

Ort DE - Deutschland, Sachsen, Leipzig
Name Loft Atelier Dietzold
Lage Innerstädtisch, Szeneviertel
Personenanzahl Max. 4 im open space
Fertigstellung 1908/2017
Design Sebastian Stieß (Architekt), urbikon, Leipzig; Innendesign: Birgit Mahnke
Architektur alt & neu, historisch
Unterkunft Apartment
Kriterien 1-2 (Haus/Wohnung), 1-4 (Haus/Wohnung), Kunst, Loft, Meeting, Metropole, urban, Workation, ohne Auto erreichbar
Gleiche GastgeberLoft Atelier 16, Loft Galerie ff15, Loft in der Nudelfabrik
Gleiche ArchitektenLoft Atelier 16, Loft Galerie ff15

Verfügbarkeitskalender

Der Kalender zeigt die aktuelle Verfügbarkeit der Unterkunft an. Tage mit dunkelgrauem Hintergrund sind nicht verfügbar, während Tage in hellgrau oder weiß für Buchungen verfügbar sind.

Anfrage/Buchung

    Buchungsanfrage / Booking Request

    Kommentare

    Ihre E-Mailadresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Pflichtfelder sind mit einem * markiert
    Bei Buchungsanfragen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an die jeweiligen Vermieter. Wie funktioniert URLAUBSARCHITEKTUR? Lesen Sie unsere FAQ.